Skip to Main Content

Law and Legal Resources: Making of Modern Law

Law, Legal, and Regulatory research guide

Comprehensive historical collections of digitization legal materials from major U.S. law libraries.

Legal Treatises 1800-1926

Legal Treatises
The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800–1926. The collection’s focus on the legal treatise, a published work of legal analysis that complements the many collections available of statutes, trial transcripts, state documents, legal codes, and judicial reports

Primary Sources

Making of Modern Law Primary Sources, 1620-1970
The Making of Modern Law's "primary sources" collection refers to the legal sense of a case, statute or regulation. Contains documents published by state constitutional conventions, state and territorial codes, municipal codes, city charters, law dictionaries, digests, and more

Trials 1600-1926

Trials, 1600-1926
The Making of Modern Law Trials 1600-1926 collection over 10,000 trails. Find published trial transcripts; popular printed accounts of sensational trials for murder, adultery, and other scandalous crimes; unofficially published accounts of trials, briefs, arguments, and other trial documents that were printed as separate publication

Supreme Court Briefs 1832-1978

U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978
The Making of Modern Law contains the world's most comprehensive online collection of records and briefs brought before the nation's highest court by leading legal practitioners. It includes transcripts, applications for review, motions, petitions, supplements, and other official papers.

LLMC Digital
A non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to preserving legal titles and government documents, while making copies inexpensively available digitally through its on-line service. LLMC provides libraries with a reliable and budget-friendly source of digital replacement when their older, physically deteriorating books became too burdensome to store given diminished use.

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.