Guides @ UF: Veterinary Medicine: Online Resources

Career Resources

Student externship locator
A resource from AVMA that allows you to search for externships by state, special interest, school or organization.
International Council for Veterinary Assessment
The ICVA develops veterinary licensing exams including the NAVLE and species-specific exams.
Veterinary Internship & Residency Matching Program
From the American Association of Veterinary Clinicians.
AVMA Veterinary Career Center
Includes job postings, resume postings, and other career resources.
AAVMC Job Seeker Resources
Includes career tips, career coaching, resume writing, and a career store.
APHIS Careers Program
Jobs available from the USDA's Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS).

Pet Owner resources
From the American Animal Hospital Association.
MedlinePlus: Pet Health
From the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health.
Veterinary Partner
Part of the Veterinary Information Network (VIN).
Partners in Animal Health
From Cornell University. Includes resources for veterinarians and pet owners and a number of videos.
Animal Health Literacy (FDA)
Includes information on pets, feed safety, animal drugs, and aquaculture.
Animal Poison Control Center
From the ASPCA.

Veterinary Clinical Trials Registry
The AVMA Veterinary Clinical Trials Registry—formerly the AVMA Animal Health Studies Database—helps animal owners and veterinarians find veterinary clinical studies for their pets and patients.
Merck Veterinary Manual
A foundational resource in veterinary reference.
CONSULTANT
A diagnostic tool from the Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine. Allows searching by diagnosis or signs and contains a list of "new and noteworthy" articles.
Animal Drugs @ FDA (Green Book)
A reference work containing information about drugs used in veterinary medicine. Includes trade names, active ingredients, and patent information.
FDA Center for Veterinary Medicine
Includes information for both consumers and veterinarians focusing on safety, health, science, and research.
Veterinary Information Network (VIN)
A frequently-used portal to veterinary information and research online. Free registration available to veterinary medical students.
International Veterinary Information Service (IVIS)
An online publisher of veterinary books and proceedings. Free to veterinarians, veterinary students, and animal health professionals.

Veterinary Anatomy - from the University of Minnesota
Veterinary Educational Tools - from Colorado State University
Veterinary Dissection Images - illustrations from University College Dublin
Gross Anatomy of a Dog - from Washington State University
Imaging Anatomy - from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Radiographic Anatomy - from the UF Small Animal Hospital
Visual Guides of Animal Reproduction (VisGAR) - originally known as the DROST project, hosted by UF

Case Studies in Small Animal Cardiovascular Medicine - includes radiographs, ECGS, and diagnosis; from the University of California, Davis
VetGo Cardiology - includes concepts, case studies, radiographs, and heart sounds
Visible Heart - videos of different parts of the heart and procedures, from the University of Minnesota and Medtronic, Inc.
Auscultation Library - heart sounds from normal and diseased animals, from Colorado State University

Clinical Practice & Evidence-Based Veterinary Medicine

Emergency Case Simulator - an interactive guide, from the Royal Veterinary College
Clinical Problem Solving in Internal Medicine - developed by small animal medicine faculty at Ohio State University
Evidence-Based Veterinary Medical Association - focused on combining research evidence and clinical expertise
EBVM Learning - this tutorial introduces concepts of evidence-based veterinary medicine
BestBETS for Vets - simple reviews of current best evidence to answer specific clinical question - from the University of Nottingham
PICO.vet - a tool to help build well-structured clinical questions; currently in beta
VetSRev - database of veterinary systematic reviews - from the University of Nottingham

Animal Disease Information Links - from the United States Animal Health Association
Healthy Pets, Healthy People - search by animal to find diseases that can spread to humans, from the CDC, National Center for Infectious Diseases

Veterinary Abbreviations and Acronyms Guide - from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Reference Values for Laboratory Animals - includes hematology and clinical values, from the University of Minnesota
Reference Ranges - for small mammals, birds, and reptiles; from the University of Pennsylvania

Breeds of Livestock - from Oklahoma State University
Large Animal Health Topics - from the American College of Veterinary Surgeons
Beef Cattle - from the American College of Veterinary Surgeons Kansas State University Libraries, part of the Agricultural Network Information Center (AgNIC)
Animal Genomics and Improvement Laboratory - includes genome mapping results in cattle, swine, and sheep; from the USDA
Horse Genome Project - from the University of Kentucky

One Health - It's All Connected - the AVMA's One Health Page
One Health Commission - a non-profit working on One Health communication and research; includes links to books, white papers, presentations, videos
CDC One Health -includes information on zoonotic diseases, history of One Health, case studies, domestic and foreign One Health activities, bibliography of recent articles and government publications

One Health (AAVMC)
AAVMC's description of their services and initiatives related to One Health.

Feline Health Center - includes a variety of feline health videos, from Cornell University
Cat Fanciers' Association: Breeds
American Kennel Club: Breeds
Deafness in Dogs and Cats - from Louisiana State University
Dog Genome Project - from the National Human Genome Research Institute

Pets and Toxic Plants - from the University of California - Davis
Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals - database of genes, inherited disorders, and traits; from the University of Sydney
OncoLink Vet - cancer information from the University of Pennsylvania
Martindale's the "Virtual" Veterinary Center - includes a wide variety of links to veterinary medicine resources by subject
Virtual Library of Veterinary Medicine and General Pathology (ViFaVet) - from the Bibliothek der TiHo Hannover, resources are in English
VetCancerTrials.org - from the Veterinary Cancer Society, a searchable clinical trials database for cancer in pet animals.

HABRI Central
Developed at Purdue University, HABRI Central is an online platform for open research and collaboration into the humans animal bond.