Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Veterinary Medicine: Databases & Journals

Useful resources for veterinary medicine faculty and students.

Getting Full-Text Articles

For off-campus access to library-licensed e-Journals, research databases and e-resources, use either:  UF VPN or the library proxy server (on the remote logon page). 

When you see  in your search results, click for access to digital full-text material.

To see links to full-text in PubMed, access it through the HSCL website and use the Abstract view.  

 

Even if you don't see one of these buttons we may still have access to article.  Double check the journal title in the  the UF Online Catalog.

Selected Databases

Use databases to search across journals for articles on a topic of interest.  This brief list includes those databases that are most useful for veterinary medicine research.  For a complete list of databases go to the HSC Library's Database Page

Remember to use the UF VPN or your GatorLink to connect to library resources from off-campus.

PubMed and Veterinary Medicine

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Hannah Norton
she/her
Contact:
HSC Library, Communicore Building
352-273-8412
Website

Using Citation Alerts

Many databases offer alerting services that will send you notices when new articles fit your saved search criteria. This can help you keep track of the most up-to-date information from your area of interest without going to the database yourself.

In PubMed:

  1. Register for a free MyNCBI account.
  2. Save your searches and create alerts.

(See video for an overview of MyNCBI

In the Web of Science platform (BIOSIS Previews, CAB Abstracts, Web of Science Core Collection, and Zoological Record):

  1. From within Web of Science, select "sign in" in the upper right corner and then register for a free account.
  2. Learn about citation alerts (see bottom of linked page).
University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.