Horticultural Sciences

Google Scholar is a subset of Google, focusing on scholarly literature. It is a fast & broad internet search engine with little mediation. Results include grey literature such as preprints, theses & dissertations, and white papers that have not been peer reviewed.

Tips: Use the Advanced Search to develop a more explicit search. Use capital letters for Boolean search operators (AND, OR) and the minus symbol for NOT. Use quotes for exact matches to phrases. You can export individual results or create a free profile to save and export folders of results to citation managers. Click "Related articles" or "Cited by" to see closely related work, or search for author's name and see what else they have written. If UF has a subscription to the journal, click on Find it@UF or click on the title to open up the full text.

Cautions: Google Scholar does not offer extensive options to refine the vast results. Results are not reproducible, in that they vary from date and location searched. Try comparing results with one of the databases the libraries subscribe to!

• CAB Abstracts
  Great for multi-disciplinary research with international scope.  One of the largest bibliographic databases covering international research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, animal health, forestry, human health and   nutrition, and management and conservation of natural resources.
• Agricola (National Agricultural Library Catalog)
  Primarily for U. S. agriculture.  A bibliographic database consisting of literature citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture.  Links to full text documents are provided whenever possible.
• Biosis
  Great for biological sciences/organism information. Indexes over 6000 journals covering biological research, medical research, and discoveries of new organisms. Includes indexing of meetings, review articles, books reviews, book chapters, software, and U.S. patents.
• Web of Science
  General multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world back to 1900. Also provides cited reference searching to see who has cited whom.
• Scopus Comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines
• Dimensions Analytics Comprehensive, scholarly database where you can search publications, grants, patents, clinical trials, datasets, and policy documents. Courtesy of UF Research. CLICK on ACCESS DIMENSIONS and LOGIN WITH YOUR GATORLINK.
• EDIS - Extension Digital Information Source
  UF IFAS extension documents. Applied information related to crops, finance, family, etc.
• Biological & Agricultural Index
  Agricultural research, biology, environmental science, genetics, horticulture, physiology, veterinary medicine, wildlife management and much more
• Agris (International System for Agricultural Science and Technology)
  International agriculture information maintained by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
• Ecology Abstracts (1982-current)
  Current ecology research across a wide range of disciplines, reflecting recent advances in light of growing evidence regarding global environmental change and destruction
• ASAE
  Technical documents published by American Society of Agricultural Engineers
• SciFinder Scholar (or UF Access Instructions)
  Chemicals and substances, including biological materials

Also:

• Plant Science (Proquest)
  1994 to present. Plant growth, reproduction, botany, etc.
• USDA Plants Database
  The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
• Weed Identification
  Characteristics of broadleaf plants that will aid in identification.
• Citrus Greening
  Bibliography created by Southwest Florida Research & Education Center
• Plant Management Network (PMN)
  Images of plant diseases

A-Z Database List  Access alphabetical list of all databases in all subjects available from the libraries

Journal articles can be found in a variety of places:

• Search for articles in the library catalog
• Google Scholar integrates with library subscriptions, just follow the Find it @UF link.
• Explore recommended databases from the Library Research Guide for your subject or see the complete list of databases we subscribe to at Databases A-Z.