Guides @ UF: Computer & Information Science & Engineering: Articles and Databases

Using Databases to Find Articles

Journals and Databases

The best way to search for peer-reviewed journal articles is to use a literature database. Databases index the research articles in journals and have powerful search filtering tools. Most databases also have quality standards that journals need to meet to be included, which limits your chances of encountering predatory publications.

Scientists publish research articles in journals. Databases index journal articles and add keywords. Readers use databases to search for articles on a topic.

Computer Science & Engineering Databases

Here are some of the most useful computer science and engineering databases to get started:

Applied Science & Technology Source Requires UF Authentication

Covers a large number of computer science journals
Applied Science & Technology Source is a STEM database that covers both Open Access and non-Open Access journals.

SciTech Premium Collection Requires UF Authentication

If you need: physics journals
The SciTech Premium Collection combines the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more into a vast and reliable source of interdisciplinary information across multiple areas of study including computer science, engineering, energy, chemistry, materials science, optics, mathematics, and physics.

ACM Digital Library Requires UF Authentication

If you need: engineering resources
ACM Digital Library is the Association of Computing Machinery's database to support computing research and practice. It covers computing information from journals, magazines, books, conference proceedings and papers, and special interest groups.

American Institute of Mathematical Sciences Requires UF Authentication

If you need: computer science or mathematical journals, some are open-access
American Institute of Mathematical Sciences is a mathematical and applied sciences database covering 22 journals.

WorldWideScience.org Requires UF Authentication

If you need: computer science or mathematical journals, most are open-access
WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals. Maintained by the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) in partnership with the International Council of Scientific and Technical Information (ICSTI), WorldWideScience.org allows the user to search multiple scientific sources from around the world with a single query. Multilingual translations capabilities exist for ten languages, enabling access to the most current findings in fields such as energy, medicine, agriculture, environmental sciences, and engineering. Much of the information accessed via WorldWideScience.org is freely available, in support of open science.

Electronic Proceedings in Theoretical Computer Science (EPTCS) Requires UF Authentication

If you need: refereed open access computer science or mathematical journals
Electronic Proceedings in Theoretical Computer Science (EPTCS) is "an international refereed open access venue for the rapid electronic publication of the proceedings of workshops and conferences, and of festschriften, etc, in the general area of theoretical computer science, broadly construed."

CiteSeerX Requires UF Authentication

If you need: algorithms, techniques, or software
CiteSeerX is a scientific literature digital library that also provides algorithms, data, metadata, techniques, and software. Links cited documents and maintains list of most-cited authors in computer science.

Need something else? Take me to the list of science databases, or the UF-wide list of databases A-Z

Science Databases

Here are some of the most useful general science databases:

Web of Science Requires UF Authentication

New to using databases? I recommend starting here for undergraduate students
Web of Science is a general science database with good coverage of a variety of subjects. It is an excellent choice for finding how your research intersects with other scientific disciplines. This database can also help you study how an idea has evolved over time using the citation network feature. Because of its user-friendly and visual interface, Web of Science is one of the easiest database to start using if you're new to searching.

Engineering Village / Compendex / Inspec Requires UF Authentication

If you need: engineering resources including the ability to filter by physical, electrical and chemical properties
Engineering Village is the largest engineering database available. It covers the topics of astronomy, physics, electrical/electronic engineering, computing, control engineering, and information technology. Content includes journals, technical reports, conference papers and proceedings, books, patents, dissertations, standards, videos, trade journals, and consumer magazines. Includes Compendex and the Inspec Archive (1898-1969).

SciTech Premium Collection Requires UF Authentication

Scopus Requires UF Authentication

If you need: broad scope, ability to look at author networks
Scopus is a wide-coverage database, making it a great choice for researching interdisciplinary topics. This database also includes author and citation networks, allowing you to look at data about particular authors' publications, awarded grants, and collaborations.

Science Direct

If you need: multidisciplinary science database
Science Direct is Elsevier's multidisciplinary database covering both ebooks and peer-reviewed journals.

IEEE Xplore Requires UF Authentication

If you need: engineering resources
IEEE Xplore provides full text access to technical literature in engineering and technology. It covers computing information from journals, magazines, books, conference proceedings and papers, and standards.

Dimensions Analytics Requires UF Authentication

Covers a wide variety of publications on many subjects
Dimensions Analytics is a comprehensive scholarly database where you can search publications, grants, patents, clinical trials, datasets, and policy documents.

Need something else? Take me to the list of science databases, or the UF-wide list of databases A-Z

Trade Publications

Here are some of the most useful general science databases:

SciTech Premium Collection Requires UF Authentication

Find trade publications by searching your topic and then selecting Trade Journal from the Source Type filter options
The SciTech Premium Collection combines the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more into a vast and reliable source of interdisciplinary information across multiple areas of study including computer science, engineering, energy, chemistry, materials science, optics, mathematics, and physics.

Scopus Requires UF Authentication

To find trade publications, conduct your search for your topic and filter your results to Trade Journal using the Source Type filter
Scopus is a wide-coverage database, making it a great choice for researching interdisciplinary topics. This database also includes author and citation networks, allowing you to look at data about particular authors' publications, awarded grants, and collaborations.

IEEE Xplore Requires UF Authentication

To find trade publications - Filter your search to Magazine Articles (which are often trade publications)
IEEE Xplore provides full text access to technical literature in engineering and technology. It covers computing information from journals, magazines, books, conference proceedings and papers, and standards.

Need something else? Take me to the list of science databases, or the UF-wide list of databases A-Z

Preprint Servers

Preprints are early versions of research articles which have not yet been peer-reviewed. Scientists may choose to disseminate their research as preprints before submitting to an academic journal, which can make the research reported very cutting edge, but these reports should be read critically as they have not yet been reviewed by other experts.

TechRxiv

If you need: preprints related to computer science
TechRxiv (tech archive) is an open, moderated preprint server for unpublished research in the areas of engineering, computer science, and related technology. Affiliated with IEEE. For more information see their About page.

Computing Research Repository

If you need: preprints related to computer science
Computing Research Repository is a subgroup of arXiv ("archive") that contains open-access archive for scholarly preprints, articles, and technical reports related to computer science.

arXiv

If you need: latest research in related fields that hasn't yet been peer reviewed
arXiv ("archive") is an open-access archive for scholarly preprints in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, economics, and more.

Connecting from Off Campus

Connecting from off campus? You will need UF authentication to access many of the electronic resources in this guide, including databases, journal articles, and e-books. Learn how to connect from off campus.

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.