Jacksonville Resident Orientation: Instruction

PubMed for Residents:

   None currently scheduled

Electronic Resources for Residents:

   None currently scheduled

To register, please visit HSC IT Center Training. Registration is available under the Borland heading of the drop down menu.

As part of its ongoing effort to support UFHSC Jacksonville and meet ACGEM competency requirements, the Borland Library is committed to providing a wide range of instruction sessions on the many electronic resources that are currently present in our library.

Electronic Resources is an introductory class into the electronic resources available to University of Florida faculty, staff, and students. After attending, participants will be able to:

• Demonstrate the ability to access electronic resources on and off campus (i.e. proxy)
• Retrieve full-text online journals using the online catalog, electronic journal web page, and the Linkout feature of PubMed
• Identify specific health related databases
• To find systematic reviews using the Cochrane Library, which includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the ACP Journal Club, and the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness

PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's primary interface with NLM databases, and links to many full-text journals. It is available on the Internet, without a password and therefore an excellent tool for use in clinical settings and at home. Students will be introduced to the basics of PubMed with emphasis on:

• Effective search strategies
• Proper use of Medical Subject Heading (MeSH) terms along with corresponding subheadings
• Research methodology filters that will assist in locating high quality articles on diagnosis, therapy, etiology, and prognosis
• Finding systematic review articles
• Journal Database, which provides the full title of a journal or a MEDLINE journal title abbreviation

Other training available:
Databases
Embase
Scopus
Cochrane
Web of Science
CINAHL

Citation Managers
EndNote
Zotero
Mendeley
 

Additional specific instruction is available throughout the year and upon request for any of the available resources. Please email Carrie D. Adams for more information.

PubMed Tutorials - a brief list of animated tutorials with audio for using PubMed. Most tutorials run approximately 3 minutes or less.