Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For additional resources including a linked list of electronic books and links, go to the Health Services Research LibGuide. For additional databases and other business-oriented links, go to the University of Florida Business Library LibGuide.
Health Services Orientation
Health Services Management
National Library of Medicine's Health Services Research Info
Portal to literature, data/statistics, grants/funding, meetings/conferences.
Health Services Research Filter for PubMed Searches
Enables you to restrict search results in the massive PubMed database to articles focusing on economic or quality assessment.
AHRQ's National Healthcare Quality and DIsparities Reports
AHRQ (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality) reports from 2007 forward on health care in the US. Organized around four dimensions of quality of care —effectiveness, patient safety, timeliness, and patient centeredness.
Health Services and Science Research Resources
Searchable collection of datasets, instruments/indices and software, including links to preformulated search results from the PubMed bibliographic database.
ASTHO State Public Health Profile
Charges, planning, workforce, reporting structure for state public health agencies.
Harvard Business Review
Some content is available for free without coming thru UF computers or UF's VPN or Proxy server and the library's Ejournals page. The free content includes info on leadership, strategy, change management and blogs.
Every weekday Harvard Business School faculty report, update and comment on business practice. Browsable by topic, industry or geography.
Quality Improvement Tools to Advance Public Health Performance developed and refined by the Public Health Foundation that build on the Public Health Quality Improvement Encyclopedia, a practical guide for QI practitioners in public health organizations that was published in 2012.
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project
The US's "most comprehensive source of hospital data, including information on in-patient care, ambulatory care, and emergency department visits...[for] health care delivery and patient outcomes over time and at the national, regional state and community levels."
Medical Expenditures Panel Survey
From AHRQ: "...the only national data source measuring how Americans use and pay for medical care, health insurance, and out-of-pocket spending. Annual surveys of individuals and families, as well as their health care providers, provide data on health status, the use of medical services, charges, insurance coverage, and satisfaction with care."
New York Academy of Medicine Grey Literature Report
Quarterly compilation of whie and working papers, reports, statistical data from public and private agencies on health care topics, such as uninsured, underinsured, adolescent, maternal and child health, health disparities, reproductive health, health reform, aging.
The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation
Covers disparities/women's health/global health policy, Medicare/Medicaid, health costs and insurance. Has separate sections on ACA Marketplaces and Prescription Drugs.
State Health Facts
State data from the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation.
- Academic Search Premier (multidisciplinary--not specifically health)
- Applied Science and Technology Full-Text & Source (not specifically healthcare industry)
- Business Abstracts (not specifically healthcare industry)
- Business Source Premier (not specifically healthcare industry)
- EconLit (not specifically health economics)
- Health Business Full-Text
- Psychology and Behavioral Science Abstracts
- ABI/INFORM (business management)
- Dissertations & Theses Global
- Within the ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection:
- Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)
- ERIC (education, training)
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
- PAIS International (public affairs, public and social policies, international relations)
- Social Services Abstracts
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
- Economic Evaluations (EED)
- (Health) Technology Assessments (HTA)
- Methods Studies (CMR)
- Trials (aka CENTRAL)
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.