Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Geography, Map, and Geospatial Information Subject Guide
The purpose of this guide is to provide basic resources in geography and the geographic sciences. You will be able to find useful resources at the University of Florida Libraries, valuable links, and information on services provided by the George A. Smathers Libraries.
For any questions, please email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Looking for Articles - Key Databases for Geography
"Worldwide literature on geography, geology, and ecology."
"The GeoRef database...provides access to the geoscience literature of the world....The database contains over 3.1 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses."
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Explore the world’s leading citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences. Powerful tools include cited reference searching, Citation Maps, and the Analyze Tool.
"The following are databases that will help you get started in your research. Each database searches thousands of journals and provides links to peer-reviewed and scholarly articles." Note: This is a multidisciplinary resource but still very useful for getting started.
Map & Imagery Library at the Univiersity of Florida
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.