Unless otherwise indicated, the following materials are located in the Reference area of Library West.
The Blackwell companion to philosophy edited by Nicholas Bunnin and E.P. Tsui-James.Cambridge, Mass.: Blackwell Publishers, 1996.
B21 .B56 1995
Library of Congress subject headings in philosophy : a thesaurus edited by Barbara L. Berman. Charlottesville,Va. : Philosophy Documentation Center,, c2001.
B49 .B47 2001
The philosopher's guide to sources, research tools, professional life, and related fields. De George, Richard T. Lawrence: Regents Press of Kansas; c1980.
Philosophy: a guide to the research literature. Bynagle, Hans E. Littleton, Colo: Libraries Unlimited; 2nd ed. 1997 (References sources in the humanities series)
B72 .B961 1997
Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Philadelphia, PA: Institute for Scientific Information.
Z5937 .A795. Index Table IV
Also available online.
Dissertation Abstracts International. A. Humanities and Social Sciences.
Look in First Search under Quick Links
Essay and General Literature Index. New York: H.W. Wilson Co.
The utility of this is to find articles or essays that appear in collections, anthologies, or Festschriften. Available through First Search.
The Philosopher's index. Bowling Green, Ohio: Philosophy Documentation Center, Bowling Green University v. 1- spring 1967- Quarterly, with annual cumulations.
Prior to 1980 this provided indexing and abstracts for the journal literature in philosophy; since that time, it has covered books as well. While international in focus, it is particularly strong in the Anglo-American tradition; all the abstracts are in English. "Subjects" include individual philosophers as well as topics. Abstracts of articles/books are provided in the Authors section. Now available on the web through Silver Platter Web Spirs (look on the home page under Quick Links), where it extends back to 1940.
The Philosopher's index : a retrospective index to non-U.S. English language publications from 1940. Bowling Green, Ohio : Philosophy Documentation Center,Bowling Green State University, c1980. 3 v.
This covers, retrospectively, non-U.S. books from 1940 to 1978 and journals between 1940 and 1966.
The Philosopher's index : a retrospective index to U.S. publications from 1940. Bowling Green, Ohio : Philosophy Documentation Center, Bowling Green State University, c1978. 3 v.
This covers, retrospectively, U.S. books from 1940 to 1976 and journals between 1940 and 1966.
Répertoire bibliographique de la philosophie. Louvain: Institut superieur de philosophie. v. Quarterly
An important supplement to Philosopher's Index, this is especially useful for European materials. The November issue covers book reviews and contains a cumulated general name index (table onomastique) for authors, translators, and reviewers.
Bibliographic index. v. 1- 1937 H. W. Wilson Co.
Z 1002 .B595 Shelved in Reference Index Area
A "subject list of bibliographies published separately or appearing as parts of books, pamphlets, and periodicals....Selection is made from bibliographies that have fifty or more citations."
Bibliography of bioethics. Kennedy Institute Center for Bioethics. Detroit: Gale Research Co. v. Note: "An ongoing research project of the Kennedy Institute, Center for Bioethics at Georgetown University."
Z6675.E8 B53 R724
This annual bibliography surveys the literature of bioethics, which it defines as "the systematic study of value questions that arise in the biomedical and behavioral fields." (Preface) Its coverage is comprehensive for English-language materials, including audiovisuals, court decisions, bills, and unpublished documents, as well as books and articles. Starting with vol. 9 many of the entries include abstracts.
Bibliography of modern American philosophers. John G. Slater. Bristol: Thoemmes, 2005.
B935 .B53 2005
A bibliography of philosophical bibliographies. Guerry, Herbert. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press; 1977. Note: Includes index.
"attempts to list philosophical bibliographies published in all countries since 1450 ... through the year 1974."
The collaborative bibliography of women in philosophy. Noel Hutchings and William D. Rumsey, editors. Bowling Green, Ohio : Philosophy Documentation Center, Bowling Green State University, c1997.
B105.W6 H871 1997
Ethics, an annotated bibliography Pasadena, Calif. : Salem Press, c1991.
BJ21 .R62 1991
Contains summaries of philosophical books on Ethics.
50 years of events : an annotated bibliography, 1947 to 1997. Roberto Casati, Achille C. Varzi.Bowling Green, Ohio : Philosophy Documentation Center, Bowling Green State University, c1997.
B105.E7 C371 1997
An annotated bibliography of the philosophical concept of events.
Philosophy journals and serials : an analytical guide. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1985.
B72 R821 1985
Contains descriptions of the major journals in Philosophy.
Resources in ancient philosophy : an annotated bibliography of scholarship in English, 1965-1989. Bell, Albert A. Jr.
and James B. Allis. Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1991.
B171 .B341 1991
A comprehensive annotated bibliography of books and articles on the major Western philosophers from the PreSocratics to Saint Augustine.
Women philosophers : a bibliography of books through 1990. Barth, E. M. Bowling Green, Ohio : Philosophy Documentation Center, c1992.
B72 .B371 1992
Focuses both on the origional and scholarly contributions of women to the whole range of philosophical studies. Arrangement is by classed subject headings.
World philosophy : a contemporary bibliography. edited by John R. Burr ; Charlotte A. Burr, research editor. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1993.
B801 .W67 1993
This updates Burr's Handbook of World Philosophy (see under "Handbooks"), extending it to 1992.
Biographical dictionary of twentieth-century philosophers. edited by Stuart Brown, Diane Collinson, Robert Wilkinson.London ; New York : Routledge, c1996.
B804 .B521 1996
Includes short biographical information and bibliographies of primary and secondary sources.
The Blackwell dictionary of Western philosophy. Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2004
B41 .B79 2004
The Cambridge dictionary of philosophy. 2nd ed. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1999.
B41 .C35 1999
A companion to the philosophers. edited by Robert L. Arrington ; advisory editors, John Beversluis ...
B72 .C595 1998
"The goal of this book is to present the thoughts and theories of the major figures in the dominant philosophical traditions throughout history" (Preface) Western and Eastern traditions are represented. See also the Blackwell Companion to Philosophy above.
The dictionary of eighteenth-century British philosophers. general editors, John W. Yolton, John Valdimir Price and John Stephens. Bristol : Thoemmes Press, 1999. 2 v.
B1301 .D527x 1999
Includes extensive information and bibliographies.
Dictionary of twentieth-century British philosophers. Stuart C. Brown. Bristol: Thoemmes Continuum, 2005.
B1615 .D52 2005
Dictionary of existentialism. Westport, Ct. : Greenwood Press, c1999.
B819 .D455 1999
The dictionary of nineteenth-century British philosophers; general editors, W.J. Mander, Alan P.F. Sell> supervising and consultant editors, Gavin Budge
LIBRARY WEST B1561 .D53x 2002
A Dictionary of philosophy. Flew, Antony Rev. 2nd ed New York: St. Martin's Press; 1984, c1979.
B41 .D52 1984
A dictionary of philosophy. A.R. Lacey. 3rd ed. London : Routledge, 1996.
B41 .L32x 1996
The dictionary of seventeenth-century British philosophers general editor, Andrew Pyle. Bristol : Thoemmes, 2000. 2 v.
Dictionary of the history of ideas; studies of selected pivotal ideas. Wiener, Philip Paul, ed. New York: Scribner; <1973- 74>. 5 v;
Despite the word "Dictionary," the articles this contains are encyclopedic in length and quality. The "Ideas" include those of literature, religion, political and social thought, science as well as philosophy. The articles include "cross-cultural studies limited to a given century or period, studies that trace an idea from antiquity to later periods, and studies that explicate the meaning of a pervasive idea and its development in the minds of its leading proponents" (Preface.) No biographical entries. Includes bibliographies.
The Edinburgh encyclopedia of Continental philosophy general editor, Simon Glendinning. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, c1999.
Has lengthy scholarly articles and bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of aesthetics. New York : Oxford University Press, 1998. 4 v.
BH56 .E53 1998
Encyclopedia of applied ethics. editor-in-chief Ruth Chadwick. San Diego : Academic Press, c1998. 4 v.
BJ63 .A66x 1998
Very thorough scholarly articles with good bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of bioethics Rev. ed: New York : Macmillan Pub. Co. : Simon & Schuster Macmillan ; London : Prentice Hall International, c1995. 5 v.
An interdisciplinary source of information about bioethics.. The articles are thorough and scholarly with excellent bibliographies. For background discussion of the major issues in bioethics, this is a fitting complement to the Bibliography of Bioethics.
Encyclopedia of classical philosophy. edited by Donald J. Zeyl ; associate editors, Daniel T. Devereux and Phillip K.Mitsis. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1997.:
B163 .E53 1997
Good scholarly articles on Greek and Roman philosophers and philosophy.
Encyclopedia of empiricism. edited by Don Garrett and Edward Barbanell. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1997.
B816 .E53 1997
Includes entries for philosophers and topics with short bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of Ethics. Becker, Lawrence C. and Charlotte B., eds. 2nd ed. New York: Routledge, 2001. 3 vols.
BJ63 .E45 2001.
Contains signed scholarly articles on normative ethics, history of ethics, ethical theory, and important philosophers of ethics. The articles tend to be broad in scope, but additional access is provided through a subject index. Bibliographies are appended to each article.
Encyclopedia of phenomenology. edited by Lester Embree .. Dordrecht ; Boston : Kluwer Academic Publishers, c1997.
B829.5 .E53 1997
Includes scholarly articles and bibliographies.
The Encyclopedia of philosophy. Edwards, Paul, ed. Reprint ed New York: Macmillan Pub. Co; <1972>. 8 v. in 4.
B41 .E5 1972
The long, scholarly articles are written and signed by distinguished philosophers. This is probably the first source to consult for an overview of a subject or philosopher. Each article has excellent bibliographies, though these are now rather dated.
The encyclopedia of philosophy. Supplement Donald M. Borchert, editor in chief. New York : Simon & Schuster Macmillan, c1996.
B41 .E5 1996
A supplement to the foregoing with updated bibliographies.
Encyclopedie philosophique universelle. Paris : Presses Universitaires de France, 1989-
B41 .E521 1989
This aspires to be a "universal" philosophical encyclopedia, covering concepts, schools, traditions, individuals, etc. It is divided into Part One, "Philosophie Occidentale," Part Two, "Pensées Asiatique," and Part Three "Conceptualisations des sociétés traditionnelles". At the end of the first volume are copious bibliographies on every aspect of western
philosophy plus a long list of philosophical periodicals.
Encyclopedia of postmodernism. edited by Victor E. Taylor and Charles E. Winquist. London ; New York : Routledge, 2001
New Catholic encyclopedia. NewYork: McGraw-Hill; <1967-. v; Note: Vol. 16: Supplement, 1967-1974; v. 17: Supplement, Change in the Church; v. 18: Supplement, 1978-1988. Washington, Publisher's Guild.
BX841 .N44 1967
This has many scholarly articles on philosophy and the history of philosophy, both within the Catholic tradition and from the point of view of philosophical influences on Catholic thought. The article under "Philosophy, Articles on" offers a systematic overview and headings to search under for philosophical topics.
The Oxford companion to philosophy Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c1995.
The entries are by philosophical topics and individual philosophers. In the back of the book is an explication of logical symbols, an interesting map of philosophy, helpful analytical index of entries, and a chronological table.
Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy. General editor, Edward Craig. London ; New York : Routledge, 1998.10v.
B51 .R68 1998
This is now the most current and definitive encyclopedia of philosophy available. Its articles are generally shorter than those in the Macmillan set, but they better reflect the current state of philosophical scholarship.
The history of philosophy. Brehier, Emile. Chicago: University of Chicago Press; <1963-69>. 7 v.
B77 .B723 Main library
One of the best recent works on the history of European philosophy. Coverage extends from the Hellenic Age to contemporary philosophy since 1850.
A history of philosophy. Copleston, Frederick Charles. New York, N.Y: Image Books; 1985-. v;
B72 .C62 1985 Main Library
The most readable and often referred to history of philosophy written in English. Detailed and broad in scope, it is
concerned with the development and interconnection of ideas.
Routledge History of Philosophy. 10 vols, different call nos.
This is now the most comprehensive chronological survey of the history of philosophy available.
Guidebook for publishing philosophy edited by Eric Hoffman. 1997 edition. Bowling Green, Ohio : Philosophy Documentation Center, 1997.
PN160 .G831 1997
Handbook of metaphysics and ontology editors, Burkhardt, Hans and Barry Smith. Munich ; Philadelphia : Philosophia Verlag, 1991. 2 vols.
BD111 .H225 1991
Covers persons and concepts. Written from a rigorously analytic perspective with signed articles by professional philosophers. Includes bibliographies.
The Handbook of Western Philosophy. Parkinson, G.H.R. New York:Macmillon Publishing Co.
B804 .H17 1988
An anthology of essays in problems of philosophy from a Western, analytic perspective. Includes a Glossary of Philosophical Terms and a Chronological Survey.
Handbook of World Philosophy: Contemporary Developments since 1945.
edited by John R. Burr.Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 1980.
B804 .H17 198
Gives an overview of professional philosophy worldwide. The divisions are geographic; each division includes a list of books and articles plus journals for that region. The bibliography extends to 1976. Appendixes include a Directory of Philosophical Associations and list of philosophical Congresses and Meetings.
Handbuch der Geschichte der Philosophie VI Bibliographie 20. Jahrhundert. Totok, Wilhelm; Schroer, Helmut.Frankfurt am Main: V. Klostermann; 1990.
Divided into philosophical schools and individual philosophers, this provides an in-depth bibliography of 20th century philosophy.
The Oxford handbook of aesthetics edited by Jerrold Levinson.New York : Oxford University Press, 2003.
BH56 .O94 2003
The Oxford handbook of philosophy of religion. William J. Wainwright. Oxford ; New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.
BL51 .O94 2005
The Oxford handbook of practical ethics edited by Hugh, LaFollette. Oxford;New York:Oxford University Press, 2003.
BJ1031 .O94 2003
Research guide to philosophy. Tice, Terrence N.; Slavens, Thomas P.Chicago: American Library Association; 1983. (Sources of information in the humanities; v. no. 3)
B52 .T5 1983
A bibliographical guide to the literature of philosophy.
World philosophers and their works; editor, John K. Roth; managing editor, Christina J. Moose; project editor, Rowena Wildin. Published: ,Pasadena, Calif. :Salem Press, c2000.
LIBRARY WEST, B104 .W67 2000
Consists of biographical essays and reviews of representative works of some 230 recognized philosophers around the world.
Directory of American philosophers. Bowling Green, Ohio : Philosophy Documentation Center, Bowling Green State University . v. Biennial.
Gives basic address information about individual academic philosophers as well as information on academic departments, centers and societies, councils and institutes, journals, etc.
International directory of philosophy and philosophers. Bowling Green, Ohio : Philosophy Documentation Center,Bowling Green University. v.
Covers philosophical activitities and philosophers throughout the world, except the U.S. and Canada.