Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Speech-Language Pathology: Databases

Resources & assistance for speech/language research (Communication Sciences & Disorders.)

Access

To access the majority of these databases and links to any full-text from off-campus or a computer on campus with an IP address that is not in UF's address range, you will need to use one of these two methods: the Proxy or the Virtual Private Network.

Databases by Topic

Anatomy, physiology, medico-surgical-pharmaceutical treatments:

PubMed well over 26 million records including articles, editorials, comments, news, practice guidelines, consensus statements. Very international. Covers above topics plus health policy, health economics & financing; health services administration

Embase - European-based pharmacy, biomedical, surgical treatment, prognosis, practice management, vet med, dental literature

Cochrane Library - evidence-based (mostly clinical) medicine. Includes databases covering systematic reviews exclusively done by Cochrane's review groups (current gold standard of evidence), systematic reviews by others, technology assessments, economic evaluations, methods studies.

 

Rehabilitation, treatments others than clinical medicine, pharmacy, surgery; health services administration:

CINAHL (Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature) - in the Ebsco suite of databases

REHABDATA US and international research articles, books, reports, and multimedia specifically on rehabiliation/disabilities/universal design, with crosswalk to the ICF (International Classification of Functioning,Disability and Health) thesaurus 

SpeechBite - small database of evidence of speech therapy "best interventions and treatment efficacy" Not necessary to be connected thru UF's VPN or Proxy to access.

 

Education, training for patients, caregivers, families, SLPS 

Education Collection in the ProQuest suite of databases. Consists of two databases:

1) ERIC (Educational Information Resource Center--the oldest, largest US database on education, which covers journal articles, conference and meeting papers, government documents, theses and dissertations, reports, audiovisual media and books..

2) Education Database

Education Source - in the Ebsco suite of databases

Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983 (H.W. Wilson) - also in the Ebsco suite of databases. Covers older literature, including classics published within this 54-year timespan.

Professional Development Collection - in the Ebsco suite of databases. Tends toward more teacher/classroom management/school administrator perspective.

 

Psychology/behavioral sciences and psychosocial aspects of communication disorders:

PsycINFO - the oldest, largest and best-known database on the topic. Covers articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, theses.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection - also in the Ebsco suite of databases. Quite a bit of overlap with PsycINFO but some unique items on many/most topics

 

Communication,linguistics, language behavior:

Communication & Mass Media Complete - in the Ebsco Suite of databases. Probably the best database at UF for non-verbal communication and communication theory/principles.

Linguistics Collection - in the ProQuest suite of databases. Consists of two databases:]

1) Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts -journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers on theoretical and applied linguistics, and psycholinguistics. 

2) Linguistics Database - full text journal articles

 

Assistive technology, speech amplification:

Engineering Village - Look for in the All Databases A-Z list. Conferences, papers intended for engineers and computer scientists so may be difficult to read but provides the latest ideas and technologies for speech and hearing amplification/enhancement.

‚ÄčMaterials Science & Engineering Database  -in the ProQuest suite of databases. Bioengineering, biotechnology, biomaterials and biomedical engineering

INSPEC 1970+ - in the ProQuest suite of databases. Electrical engineering, physics, control engineering, computers, and manufacturing and production engineering

 

Multidisciplinary:

Web of Science very multidisciplinary so good for music, art and animal therapies, assistive technology, the business of SLP practice. Basic search may include results from some international databases.

Academic Search Premier - in the Ebsco suite of databases.

Access:

You can access our databases or e-books in 2 different ways from home: the Library Proxy or the Virtual Private Network,.

Conference poster comparing databases on 3 education questions for health professionals

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.