This film provides extensive footage of civil rights protests in St. Augustine. It shows demonstrations by blacks on Butler Beach in St. Augustine, counter demonstrations by whites, speeches made by Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and Governor Farris Bryant, and speeches by segregationists such as Reverend Connie Lynch, Richard "Hoss" Manucy, and Klansman J.B. Stoner. It also includes scenes of the highway patrol sent in to assist local law enforcement officials.
To see full-length versions of this and other videos from the State Archives of Florida, visit Florida Memory at: www.floridamemory.com/discover/video/
The summer of 1964 was a tense and violent time in St. Augustine. Tensions in the segregated city had been building for months in response to sit-ins and other protests. The local Ku Klux Klan was in the vanguard of white resistance to integration and acts of violence and intimidation were frequent. Martin Luther King Jr. came to the city in June of 1964. On June 11 King was arrested at the entrance to the Monson Motor Lodge restaurant after a failed attempt to sit-in there. A week later the Monson was again the site of protests when integrationists jumped into the motel's pool. Images of the motel's manager pouring pool chemicals into the pool and police officers diving into the pool to arrest protesters made news worldwide.
The first clip Archive includes news film "outtakes" of the June 11 protest and footage of King speaking at a meeting several days later. The second excerpt is from a WCKT-TV news special, "Outlook: St. Augustine: Fountain of Dissent - Report 3," is a report on the incident.
To see other videos from the Miami-Dade College's Wolfson Archive, visit www.mdc.edu/archives/wolfson-archives/.
Dare Not Walk Alone is an independent feature-length documentary that explores the Civil Rights Movement and its aftermath in St. Augustine, Florida. Written and directed by Jeremy Dean, this film has been featured in numerous festivals and was nominated for an NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Documentary in 2009.
As the Executive Director of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.'s Southern Christian Leadership Conference, Andrew Young was integral to the 1960s Civil Rights Movement. In 1963 and 1964, he protested alongside local activists in St. Augustine, including Dr. Robert B. Hayling. Film producer C. B. Hackworth created this documentary, released in 2010, detailing Young's experience in St. Augustine.
Presented by the Florida Historical Society, episode two of Florida Frontiers TV is about how everyday people make history happen and includes interviews with author Stetson Kennedy and Civil Rights activist Barbara Vickers of St. Augustine.
This 56-minute award-winning film titled, “Passage at St. Augustine: The 1964 Black Lives Matter Movement That Transformed America,” documents Black student activists who challenged on-going racial injustices committed in the tourist town of St. Augustine, Florida. The documentary shares first-hand oral histories from individuals who fought the 15-month campaign such as civil rights field lieutenants, foot soldiers, law enforcement, segregationists, journalists, clergy, Klansmen, White House insiders, business leaders, civilians and politicians.
To view "Passage at St. Augustine" full-length film for free, visit: https://vimeo.com/228487628
From Colored to Black is a multi-modal play that serves as a platform to explore the connections between systemic racism and health in the U.S. The play incorporates the oral histories of civil rights era Black activists and community leaders from Florida into an analytical framework designed to promote critical discussion. From Colored to Black is designed to shed light on the complicated and complex history of the United States and the lasting impacts of that history on today’s society. The stories and perspectives in this play can be placed into the larger context of American history. Although fixed in time and geographic location, the play can be useful to all Americans who wish to explore history, policy, and health in their communities.
The platform is for educators, students, and communicators and was created in 2018/2019 by Brittney M. Caldwell, an emerging African American playwright, and Jeffrey Pufahl, a Research Assistant Professor in the Center for Arts in Medicine at the University of Florida.
To view the play and access lesson plans, visit www.fromcoloredtoblack.org.
When we think of the iconic moments of the Civil Rights Movement in the US, we might imagine bus boycotts, lunch counter sit-ins or the March on Washington. Most of us won’t think of protests at beaches and pools. Yet these battles in the country’s waters played a crucial role in transforming America. The campaign in the waters of St. Augustine, Florida, became one of the most critical in the movement to desegregate the US. The photos were published around the world, but the full story has often been left out of our history textbooks. And now, the legacy of segregated public waters continues to this day.
Join National Park Service Ranger Ted to learn about St. Augustine's vital role in the Civil Rights Movement of the mid-1960s.
|
