Guides @ UF: Tourism and Recreation: 2. General Databases

Newspapers

Don't forget that we have access to a great selection of newspapers on-line:

This database has good coverage of international newspapers. Over 2,200 full-text newspapers and other news sources including many Florida newspapers (including the Miami Herald), the Boston Globe (12/12/79-Current), Chicago Tribune (1/1/85-Current),New York Times (1995-Current), and the Washington Post (1/1/77-Current).

Coverage of 5 major U.S. newspapers, including The New York Times (1980 to date), Wall Street Journal (1984 to date), Washington Post (1987 to date), Los Angeles Times (1985 to date) and the Christian Science Monitor (1988 to date)

Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications.

Academic Search Premier
General database covers all areas of study. Good place to start for interdisciplinary topics or when you don't know which area of study your topic fits into. "Where do I start?" Here.
Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest)
Indexes over 2.4 million PhD dissertations and some master's degree theses completed. We have access to the full-text of those completed after 1995. You may purchase thousands of others.
Web of Science
Covers all areas of study, though covers sciences and social sciences much better than the humanities. Excellent for citation searching (looking for articles that cite an article that you already know about, or finding sources that cite a particular author's works). Also assesses the impact of specific journals.
JSTOR
Archived, online backfiles of the most important and respected journals in the social sciences. It is sometimes best to search in other databases and to come here to find articles you already know about.

Any/ All

Email Me

Contact:

Library West

(352) 273-2649