EVR3323

Journal articles can be found in a variety of places:

• Search for articles in the library catalog
• Google Scholar integrates with library subscriptions, just follow the Find it @UF link.
• Explore recommended databases from the Library Research Guide for your subject or see the complete list of Databases A-Z.

Google Scholar is a subset of Google, focusing on scholarly literature. It is a fast & broad internet search engine with little mediation. Results include grey literature such as preprints, theses & dissertations, and white papers that have not been peer reviewed.

Tips: Use the Advanced Search to develop a more explicit search. Use capital letters for Boolean search operators (AND, OR) and the minus symbol for NOT. Use quotes for exact matches to phrases. You can export individual results or create a free profile to save and export folders of results to citation managers. Click "Related articles" or "Cited by" to see closely related work, or search for author's name and see what else they have written. If UF has a subscription to the journal, click on Find it@UF or click on the title to open up the full text.

Cautions: Google Scholar includes content that is not peer reviewed. It does not offer extensive options to refine the vast results. Results are not reproducible, in that they vary from date and location searched. Try comparing results with one of the databases the libraries subscribe to!

• Web of Science
  General multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world back to 1900. Also provides cited reference searching to see who has cited whom.
• CAB Abstracts (on Web of Science platform)
  Great for multi-disciplinary research with international scope.  One of the largest bibliographic databases covering international research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, animal health, forestry, human health and nutrition, and management and conservation of natural resources. Access all CABI products at CABI Digital Library.
• Biosis
  Great for biological sciences/organism information. Indexes over 6000 journals covering biological research, medical research, and discoveries of new organisms. Includes indexing of meetings, review articles, books reviews, book chapters, software, and U.S. patents.
• EDIS - Extension Digital Information Source
  UF IFAS extension documents. Applied information related to crops, finance, family, etc.
• Biological & Agricultural Index
  Agricultural research, biology, environmental science, genetics, horticulture, physiology, veterinary medicine, wildlife management and much more
• Agricola (on ProQuest platform)
  Primarily for U. S. agriculture.  A bibliographic database consisting of literature citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture.  Links to full text documents are provided whenever possible. Search all USDA National Agricultural Library collections, including PubAg at SEARCH.
• EPA Environmental Impact Statements - Full text federal government documents on the effects of development on the environment. Entries include a project desription, sections on positive impact and negative consequences, legal mandates, 1985-present.
• CABI Compendium - Repository of datasheets, mags, images, abstracts and full text on species, pests, and diseases of the world
• USGS Geographic Names Information System (GNIS) - official repository of geographic names, includes physical and cultural geographic features
• Water Resources Abstracts (ProQuest) Water-related topics covering characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management. Abstracts from journals, books, conference proceedings and technical reports. 1967-present
• Agris (International System for Agricultural Science and Technology)
  International agriculture information maintained by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
• Ecology Abstracts (1982-current)
  Current ecology research across a wide range of disciplines, reflecting recent advances in light of growing evidence regarding global environmental change and destruction
• Zoological Record (on Web of Science platform)- Fauna and ecosystems; serves as unofficial record of scientific names and taxonomy
• Aquatic Science Collection (ProQuest)- Marine, freshwater and brackish water organisms and environments, including biology and ecology, legal, policy, and socioeconomic issues
• IAMSLC Aquatic Commons - International repository of aquatic science, technology, management and conservation of natural marine, estuarine/brackish, and freshwater environments, their organisms and resources, including economic, sociological and legal aspects.
• UF/IFAS Center for Aquatic & Invasive Plants - techniques for management of aquatic and natural area weed species
• UN FAO Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts - international repository of research abstracts

Multi-disciplinary databases focusing on a variety of topics including agriculture:

• Dimensions Analytics This link opens in a new window
  CLICK on ACCESS DIMENSIONS and LOGIN WITH YOUR GATORLINK. Dimensions Analytics is a comprehensive scholarly database where you can search publications, grants, patents, clinical trials, datasets, and policy documents. Courtesy of UF Research.

• SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window

  Focused on natural science and technology this database provides full-text access to scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, proceedings, government publications and more.
• Scopus This link opens in a new window

  Comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines

Specialized Plant Databases:

• Plant Science (Proquest)
  1994 to present. Plant growth, reproduction, botany, etc.
• USDA Plants Database
  The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
• Weed Identification
  Characteristics of broadleaf plants that will aid in identification. University of Illinois.
• Citrus Greening
  Bibliography created by UF/IFAS Southwest Florida Research & Education Center
• Grow: Plant Health Exchange (formerly Plant Management Network (PMN)
  Images of plant diseases
• CABI Digital Library
  Access all CABI products including CABI Compendium, Distribution Maps of Plant Diseases, Invasive Species Compendium and more
• Atlas of Florida Vascular Plants
  Distribution of plants within the state from University of South Florida
• Turfgrass Information Center
  Michigan State University collection of journals and reports on turfgrass science

A-Z Database List  Access the alphabetical list of all databases in all subjects available from the libraries.

When you are off-campus in order to get full text access to library-licensed e-Journals, research databases and e-resources, use either:

UF VPN - or - the library proxy server.

When you see in your search results, click for access to digital full-text material.

If the library does not have a book or a subscription to a journal you need, you can submit a request to borrow the item from another library using Interlibrary Loan (ILL).  This service is provided at no cost to you.