Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EVR3323: Databases for In-Depth Research

Introduction to Ecosystem Restoration

Key Databases

             Comprehensive scientific citation indexing with broad discipline coverage

             Authoritative research in agriculture, environment and related applied life sciences, 1910-present.  Full text may be

        available

            Indexes over 6000 journals covering biological research, medical findings, and discovery of new organisms

  • UF IFAS EDIS (Electronic Data Information Source)

             Cooperative extension service publications targeting practitioners in Florida

             Physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, medical, health and social science topics

             Full text federal government documents on the effects of development on the environment. Entries include a

             project description, sections on positive impact and negative consequences, legal mandates, 1985-present.

             USGS official repository of geographic names, includes physical and cultural geographic features

              Repository of datasheets, maps, images, abstracts and full text on invasive species of the world

              Water-related topics covering characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of

              water resources.  Abstracts are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports in

              physical and life sciences, engineering and legal and government publications, 1967 - present

               Zoological literature including fauna and ecosystems; serves as unofficial record of scientific names; taxonomy

               Marine, freshwater and brackish water organisms and environments are examined, including biology and ecology

               of aquatic organisms, and legal, policy and socioeconomic issues

              International repository of aquatic science, technology, management and conservation of natural marine,

             estuarine/brackish, and freshwater environments, their organisms and resources, and the economic, sociological

             and legal aspects.

              Techniques for the management of aquatic and natural area weed species in Florida

              International repository of research abstracts

 

Google Tips

      

In Google Scholar, click "Related articles" or "Cited by" to see closely related work, or search for author's name and see what else they have written. If UF has a subscription to the journal, click on Find it@UF or click on the title to open up the full text.  If unsuccessful, try searching for the item in the library catalog.  Google Scholar contains both peer-reviewed and "grey" literature (non-refereed).

 

Theses & Dissertations

A great source for specific research are theses and dissertations.  The libraries host UF theses and dissertations in the institutional repository where they are easily searched by topic or department.  Find electronic theses & dissertations from UF & other schools here.

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.