This page provides a list of the collections related to World War II currently maintained at the George A. Smathers library at the University of Florida Campus. Provided below are the names of the collections, along with a brief description of how they relate to World War II subject material. A link to the online finding guide of each collection is below the description.
Design and content by Allison Ernest; supervised by James Cusick.
Bergen-Belsen Photographs: This collection of photographs of the Bergen-Belsen concentration camp, which were taken soon after its liberation, mainly provides images of the landscape of the camp, but includes some images of liberated prisoners and the mass graves.
Arthur L. Funk Papers: This collection of a former naval officer during World War II includes his ink and pastel drawings of scenes while aboard a U.S. destroyer, the U.S.S. Farquhar.
James Hardin Peterson Papers: This collection of papers of a U.S. congressman in office from 1932 to 1951 includes correspondence and subject files pertaining to national defense and neutrality before the war, constituent letters voicing opinions about the war, "priority" wartime documents requiring Peterson's attention and correspondence and government hearing files concerning the Higgins investigation.
Spessard L. Holland Papers : This collection of papers from the former Governor of Florida includes a folder of correspondence between Governor Holland and servicemen during World War II, with topics ranging from the war itself to the war as it related to the State of Florida.
Lisk Family Papers: This collection includes the wartime correspondence (1943-1945) of Alonson C. Lisk, who served as a member of the 501st Parachute Infantry Regiment 101st Airborne Division (Company F) and also as a light machine gunner throughout the European theater.
John D. MacDonald Collection: This collection of the papers of mystery author John D. MacDonald includes his wartime correspondence (1942-1945) while he served in South Asia as Ordinance Officer for the Office of Strategic Services (OSS). His short story written during his service, entitled “Interlude in India,” and published by his wife in Story magazine, began his writing career.
B.L. Pemstein Papers: This collection of correspondence (September 1943- August 1944) from Navy recruit B.L. Pemstein to his parents provides insight into his life as a hospital corpsman at the U.S. Naval Hospital in Key West, Florida, as he describes his training, daily work and off duty activities.
Luther E. Smith, Jr. Papers: This collection of wartime correspondence, ranging from 1939 to 1949, concerns Sgt. Luther E. Smith, Jr. He served in the U.S. Army as a pilot, training in bases across the United States until 1944, then joined combat in Africa and Europe. Several of his letters pertain to the crash of his plane in Italy. The collection also includes correspondence of mothers of the crash victims seeking information about their sons.
Paul M. Stults Papers: This collection of correspondence, training manuals and memorabilia related to Paul M. Stults ranges from 1940 to 1945 and describes his flight training as a B-25 pilot in the 487th Bombardment group in South Carolina, as well as his death in a training accident over England on July 20, 1944.
Weintraub Letters Pertaining to World War II: This collection of correspondence between an Army surgeon and his wife ranges from 1941 to 1945. It provides detailed insight into daily life on the home front and covers Weintraub's service in Europe from the D-Day invasion to the occupation of Germany.
|
