Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
IMPORTANT: Connecting from Off-Campus
To access databases and online journals from off-campus, you must first log into the proxy server or the Virtual Private Network (VPN). The VPN is recommended as it provides the smoothest access.
Data Sources: Project Starters
The Dataverse Project
An open source web application to share, preserve, cite, explore and analyze research data from multiple sources. A collaboration with Harvard Library, Harvard University IT, and IQSS.
Population Reference Bureau (PRB)
Provides information about populations worldwide with data sheets, a graphics bank, and more. The "core themes" are: Reproductive Health and Fertility; Children and Families; Population and the Environment; and Population Futures—Aging, Inequality and Poverty, Migration and Urbanization, and Gender.
The online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Available through UF Libraries. Books, journals, working papers, and more are available on topics such as the general economy, statistics, and agriculture.
Data Sources: Florida
EDR Population & Demographics
From the Office of Economic and Demographic Research of the Florida Legislature. Includes population overviews, census data, and poverty guidelines.
Florida Statistical Abstract
NOW ONLINE! Created by the Bureau of Economic and Business Research (BEBR) at UF. Find data on Florida and its cities and counties in the areas of population, housing, employment, income, education, health, tourism, elections, and more. Data is available from 1967-present.
Research Reports: Bureau of Economic and Business Research (BEBR)
Find free online reports from 1979-present on Florida-related topics (ex. price level index, migration flows, disability perceptions, etc.)
Databases: Statistics & Data
Facts, figures, and raw data.
ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research
UF is a member institution and provides access to a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences.
International Data Base (IDB)
Created by the US Census Bureau, the IDB includes country rankings, global population information, and tabular data for countries and regions as well as demographic indicators, population pyramids and source information for countries.
Searches literature for statistical information
Policy Agendas Project
Links to datasets on the federal budget, Congressional hearings, executive orders, U.S. Public Laws, and the Congressional Quarterly Almanac.
Polling the Nations
A survey database with a compilation of over 14,000 surveys from more than 100 polling organizations dating back as far as 1986.
Roper Center Public Opinion Archives
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. The data held by the Roper Center range from the 1930s, when survey research was in its infancy, to the present. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented.
Here are some helpful sources for statistical agricultural economics information.
Ask IFAS This link opens in a new window
Ask IFAS, formerly known as EDIS, is the Electronic Data Information Source of UF/IFAS Extension. It is a comprehensive, single-source repository of research-based, timely information about agriculture, natural resources, family & consumer sciences and youth development.
FAOSTAT Statistics Database This link opens in a new window
FAOSTAT provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all Food & Agriculture Organization regional groupings.
Click the image to begin!
Need that perfect stat for your lecture or research paper?
Use Statista to access quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
You can download graphs as JPGs, PowerPoints, embed them in web pages and download data into Excel.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.