Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archival Processing: Accessioning

A guide to processing archival collections

Overview

Accessioning is the process of formally accepting material into the archives. This process enables staff to gain preliminary and immediate intellectual control over the materials. Accessioning provides the information necessary for maintaining accurate, up-to-date inventory control over archival and manuscript holdings, and for providing immediate reference service on newly acquired collections. To document new accessions, curators complete an Accession and Ratings Form which provides the basic information necessary for the Processing Archivist to create the accession record. Well documented accessions are vital to facilitate future processing.

Workflow

1. Curators notify the Processing Archivist (Matt Kruse) about newly acquired collections (or additions).

2. Curators submit an Accession and Ratings Form to the Processing Archivist along with additional supplemental documents (inventories, donor e-mail, and other background information).

3. The Processing Archivist creates an accession record in ArchivesSpace and assigns a collection number. A new resource record (finding aid) is also created as a PLACEHOLDER. A physical file, containing a printout of the accession form as well as other supplemental documentation, is created and stored with the collection case files in room 200C.

4. The Processing Archivist assists with physically accessioning the materials including re-housing, creating temporary labels, and transporting materials to temporary storage.

5. If time permits, the Processing Archivist works with the Curator to survey the collection and create a processing plan to aid with future processing.

 

 

Supplemental Documents

The accessioning form documents only the most basic information about a collection. It is also important to include any additional supplemental documentation that is available. Inventories, donor e-mails, processing plans, disposition decisions, appraisal reports, vendor’s descriptions, obituaries, family and organizational histories, and other relevant background information are all excellent resources to help shed light on the collection and assist with future processing.

When selecting supplemental documents, consider including materials that help answer these questions:

  • Where did the collection originate? Who created the documents?
  • What is the chain of custody?
  • When was the collection acquired?
  • Why was the collection acquired?
  • What is included in the collection?
  • What types of material are included?
  • Is there biographical information on the creator available?
  • Are there any restrictions on access, usage, or copyright?
  • Are there any preservation concerns?
University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.