Skip to main content

Latin American & Caribbean Special Collections: Other Caribbean Collections

This libguide includes archival collections related to Latin America and the Caribbean. It also includes information on rare books and digital collections. It is organized by region. The material listed here can be consulted in Special Collections.

Continental Caribbean

The Continental Caribbean includes Central America and Yucatan, Mexico.

García Pimentel, Luis: Collection. 1531-1927. Documents from the sixteenth to the twentieth centuries that chronicle the development, management, and activities of several sugar plantations in Mexico located in the states of Morelos and Puebla. The bulk of the collection centers in the Haciendas of Santa Ana Tenango and Santa Clara Montefalco, both in the state of Morelos

Squier, E. G.: Papers. 1848-1874. Archaeologist/ethnologist. Correspondence and manuscripts regarding Central America.

Carpenter, Leonard: Panama Canal Collection. 1887-1973. Photographs, publications, artifacts, and documents related to construction of the Panamal Canal.

Barcena, Mariano. 1895. Manuscript written by Mariano Barcena entitled El Hombre Prehistorico en Mexico (Prehistoric Man in Mexico).

Elmendorf, Mary Lindsay: Papers. 1931-2009. Papers of applied anthropologist who studied the role of women in a Mayan village and has been a leader in the involvement of women in water supply and sanitation and other forms of appropriate technology.

Brooking, Laura Mabel: Collection. 1906-1969. Photos, publications, and artifacts related to the Panama Canal Zone primarily during the time of its construction.

Goggin, John M. (John Mann): Papers. 1912-1975. John M. Goggin was a renowned archaeologist and anthropologist who worked in the American Southwest and Southeast, the Caribbean, and Mexico. The collection includes his field notebooks, his publications and research files, photographs, and newspaper clippings.

Casasola, Agustín Víctor: Photos of the Mexican Revolution. circa 1914. Two photos embossed with the seal of the renowned photographic studio of Agustín Víctor Casasola. Through his photos, Casasola documented the Mexican Revolution. 

Brown, Everett, C.: Collection. 1919-1921. Brown was an engineer and surveyor for the United Fruit Company and worked in Cuba and Costa Rica.

Freytag, Ferdy W.: Letters. 1924-1926. This collection consists mainly of letters sent from Ferdy W. Freytag, a military airplane mechanic stationed in the Panama Canal Zone between 1924 and 1926, to his love, Beryl Burton, a college student and teacher residing in Redfield, New York. While the content of the letters mostly regards love and other personal matters, interesting details regarding the lives of military men stationed in the Canal Zone during the 1920s is also included.

Skeels, Charles R: Photographs. 1927. Photographs taken by Charles R. Skeels in Chinandega, Nicaragua.

Lang, Katharine Birdseye: Papers. 1937-1949. Manuscripts, tracings, drawings, photographs, and publications relating to Katharine Birdseye Lang's career reproducing Aztec and Mayan manuscripts

Barradas, Efraín: Mexican and Cuban Film Poster Collection. 1939-2007. Collected and donated by Dr. Ramon A. Figueroa, the collection consists of 378 film posters, lobby cards, and window cards.

Craven, Roy C.: Photograph collection. 1970s. Photographs pertaining to Mayan and Incan antiquities; part of University Archives Manuscript Collections.

Costa Rica Marijuana Research Materials. 1971-1977. Part of University Archives Manuscript Collections.

El Ciervo Herido Collection. 1975-1976. This collection includes 25 flyers with poems written by the members of the Creative Writing Workshop El Ciervo Herido. The workshop was founded in Mexico City by the poet Ricardo Yáñez

The Náñez-Woodward Collection of Panamanian Popular Art. The collection includes some 1,200 photographs (35mm negatives) of Panamanian popular art taken by Peter Szok between 2001 and 2011 and featured in his book Wolf Tracks: Popular Art and Re-Africanization in Twentieth-Century Panama.

Panama and the Canal focuses on Panama and Canal Zone materials from the Panama Canal Museum Collection and builds upon the University's extensive holdings on Panama and the whole of Latin America.

Jamaica

Duckworth, John Thomas Papers. 1801-1807. British Admiral; correspondence regarding naval engagements with French forces in the West Indies.

Arnold, A. S.: Photo Album and Diary of a Trip to Jamaica. 1904. Documenting a trip to Jamaica taken by three New York doctors.

A Visit to Jamaica in 1907 Immediately After the Great Earthquake Photo Album.

English Caribbean (Other than Jamaica)

Cary, Samuel: Letterbook for the Simon Plantation, St. Kitts. 1765-1772. Documenting accounts, slaves, and activities of the plantation in the West Indies.

West Indies Papers. 1771-1929. Correspondence, receipts, and warrants regarding Antigua, Barbados, and the Bahamas.

Crosbie, William: Estate Papers. 1792-1816. Correspondence concerning Crosbie's plantations in Antigua.

Duckworth, John Thomas Papers. 1801-1807. British Admiral; correspondence regarding naval engagements with French forces in the West Indies

Guerra, Ramiro. "El latifundio azucarero y la poblacion de las Antillas / West Indian Sugar Plantation and Peoples." Paper presented before the Atheneum Club, October 19, 1934.

Sammons, Valerie: Collection. 1983. Newspapers, T-shirts, pamphlets, and photographs gathered or created by Valerie Sammons on a goodwill visit to Grenada.

Latin American and Caribbean Stereograph Collection

Angrick II, William P.: Collection of Latin American and Caribbean Stereographs. 1860, circa 1890-1910. Collection of 18 stereograph images showing scenes and views from South American countries, Cuba, Jamaica, and Florida.

Hughes, Paul A.: Collection of Caribbean Stereographs. 1898-1903. This collection includes 88 stereograph images showcasing scenes and views of the Greater and Lesser Antilles in the Caribbean Sea.

Latin American & Caribbean Miscellanea

The Latin American and Caribbean Miscellanea is comprised of a variety of materials highlighting the history, culture, and study of Latin America and the Caribbean. These materials have been acquired from various sources over a period of many years, and are grouped together because each acquisition consists of a small number of items (e.g., a single letter, manuscript, or photograph album).

The home going service for Sir Randol Fawkes : March 20th, 1924-June 14th, 2003, circa 2000.

Toward the development of Panama: the Afro-Panamanians contributions, 1978 (Barton, Charles L author)

The new Bahamas: a portrait of a Government, circa 1966. (Fawkes, Randol F. Sir 1924-2000 author)

What I have felt and seen, circa 1950. (Soulages French, Charles 1907- author)

A negro nurse, circa 1905. (Forrest, A. S. (Archibald Stevenson) 1869-1963 illustrator)

Fábrica de Cigarrillos Fé, circa 1890.

Titles of gold mines in Yuruary, Venezuela, 1887 January-July. (Gobierno del Territorio Yuruary author)

Particulars of the Seamans Valley Estate, situate in the Parish of Portland, in the Island of Jamaica, together with the works, machinery, live and dead stock; which will be sold by auction by Messrs : Hoggart & Norton at the auction mart, 1846 January 30. (Hoggart & Norton Law Firm author)

Woodhall Slave Ledger, 1822 January 1. (Lawrie, William Kennedy 1769-1811 author)

Reglamento que se ha de observar para la administracion, manejo, cuenta y razon del nuevo ramo de aguardiente de caña, mandado establecer de los dominios de la Nueva España por real órden de 19 de marzo de 1796. y verificado por el exmô. señor marqués de Branciforte, virrey, gobernador y capitan general de ellos, 19 de marzo de 1796. (New Spain author)

Reales Cedulas de S.M. concediendo libertad para el Comercio de Negros, 1791 November 24. (Charles IV King of Spain 1748-1819 author)

Pastoral letter written by Francisco Antonio Lorenzana, Archbishop of Mexico, 1770 November 28. (Lorenzana, Francisco Antonio 1722-1804 author)

Puerto Rico

Barradas, Efraín. Collection, 1881-2015. Efraín Barradas was born in Aguadilla, Puerto Rico in 1947. He is a professor of romance languages and Latin American and Hispanic studies, as well as a literary and art critic. This collection includes Barradas's correspondence, books with inscriptions from notable Latin American authors, artwork from Pedro Pietri, newsletters, and historic documents related to the town of Aguadilla

Photographs of Sugar Mills in Puerto Rico. circa 1898. Four photos of the Santa Isabel sugar mill of Henry Rosich and the largest Puerto Rican sugar mill, Guanica.

Lares, Porto Rico: Municipal Bond. 1914. Bond (unsigned) of five hundred dollars, dated July 1, 1914, for the municipality of Lares, Puerto Rico.

The Dominican Republic

Dominican War of Independence Collection. 1844 February 28-August 3. An archive of seven Spanish manuscripts and one printed pamphlet by a Dominican rebel concerning the independence of the Dominican Republic from the nation of Haiti

Roldan, Francisco Anibal and Roman Anibal: Records. 1910-1970. Business records of Imprenta Romana of La Romana, Dominican Republic.

Gil Family Collection. 1977, 2014-2016, undated. Guido Gil Díaz (b. 1935) was a Dominican lawyer, journalist, historian, and revolutionary intellectual who fought for workers' rights in the Dominican Republic. This collection consists mainly of newspaper articles covering Gil Díaz's work and research, and the lack of justice in the case of his disappearance. The collection also contains works written by Cristina Flores-Gil regarding her family history.

French Caribbean (Other than Haiti)

Scovell, Noah Papers. 1797-1806. This collection contains manuscript documents of Noah Scovell relating to the coffee and cotton trade in Guadeloupe, Haiti, and Liverpool. Records include invoices, sales and wage receipts, account statements, inventories, and similar documents.

Observations de la Chambre de Commerce, Marseille, France. 1816. Manuscript entitled, "Observations de la Chambre de Commerce ... Marseille," which deals with the commerce of Marseille, particularly with the French colonies in the Americas.

St. Pierre. Photographs Showing the Destruction in St. Pierre from the 1902 Mt. Pelée Volcanic Eruption, 1902. A collection of 28 images showing the aftermath and damages in St. Pierre, Martinique caused by the 1902 volcanic eruption of Mt. Pelée. .01 linear feet. MSS 0421

Dutch Caribbean

De Mey van Streefkerk Family Papers. 1725-1830. Reproductions of letters and other documents pertaining to the sugar plantations operated by the De Mey van Streefkerk family in the Dutch colony of Surinam in the West Indies.

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.