Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History guide

Historical Resources on Microfilm

  • Black Abolitionist Papers, 1830-1865

LIBRARY WEST, Microfilm (3rd floor)   Call no: E  449 .B531
Available online:  v. 1. The British Isles, 1830-1865, v. 2. Canada, 1830-1865, v. 3. The United States, 1830-1846, v. 4. The United States, 1847-1858, v. 5. The United States, 1859-1865

Correspondence, sermons, speeches, missionary reports and writings of over 300 19th century black abolitionists. 17 reels with Guide.

Bureau of Social Hygiene Project and Research Files, 1913-1940: a collection of the Rockefeller Archives Center of Rockefeller University
LIBRARY WEST, Microfilm (3rd floor)   Call no:   HV  99.N6 B853 1980

A collection of studies undertaken by, as well as files relating to the administration of, one of the earliest privately funded social science research institutions in the U.S.; project information, general subject information, and the files of criminologist Leonard Harrison. 31 reels with Guide  

  • Civil Rights During the Johnson Administration, 1963-1969

LIBRARY WEST, Microfilm (3rd floor)   Call no:  JC  599.U5 C51 1984

Part I--  The White House Central Files
Part II-- Equal Opportunity Employment Commission: Administrative History
Part III--Oral Histories
Part IV--Records of the White House Conference on Civil Rights, 1965-1966
Part V-- Records of the National Advisory Commission on Civil Disorders (Kerner Commission)

Documents focusing on the civil rights movement of the 1960s, and detailing the activities of the federal government, the executive branch, and prominent individuals.  The papers include subject, name, chronological, and confidential files from the central files of the White House, material from the administrative histories files of the Lyndon Baines Johnson Presidential Library, and transcripts of oral histories, also from the Library. Files of the White House Conference on Civil Rights and records of the Kerner Commission document the riots that occurred in the United States in the 1960s.  41 reels with Guides  

  • Civil Rights for Indians : the first program of bills in Congress to establish civil rights for American Indians ...

American Civil Liberties Union Committee on Indian Civil Rights
UF LIBRARY WEST Microfiche (3rd Floor)      E178 .P34 CL 62

  • Communist Infiltration of the SCLC, FBI Investigation File, 1957-1983

LIBRARY WEST, Microfilm (3rd floor)   Call no:  E  185.5.S68 C651 1983

Correspondence, memoranda, reports, printed material and other items maintained by the Federal Bureau of Investigation in relation to its investigation of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC). This material was released under the provision of the Freedom of Information Act. J. Edgar Hoover's confidential file on Martin Luther King is also included.
9 reels.

  • FBI file on the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), [1964-1973]

UF LIBRARY WEST Microforms (3rd Floor)      E185.61 .U551 1991

FBI file on the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC)
UF LIBRARY WEST: Reference Microform Guide (3rd Floor)     E185.61 .U551 1991 Guide

  • Herstory

LIBRARY WEST, Microfilm (3rd floor)   Call no:  HQ  1154 .H431 1972

A collection of 821 newsletters, journals, and newspapers published by and about women's liberation, civic, professional, religious and peace groups, from the Women's History Research Center in Berkeley, California.  Most material was published between 1968 and 1974 in the United States. 23 reels with Guide.

  • History of women

LIBRARY WEST, Microfilm (3rd floor)   Call no:  HQ  1121 .H581  
Collection of literature on and by women to 1920.  The 1248 reels are organized by document genre:

Reels 1-934:   Printed books
Reels 935-962: Pamphlets
Reel 963:  Photographs
Reels 964-995:  Manuscripts
Reels P1-P253:  Periodicals

The History of women : an alphabetic index to the microfilm collection.  3 vols.
LIBRARY WEST: Reference Microform Guide (3rd Floor) Call no:  HQ 1121 .H581 Index

  • Indian Census Rolls, 1885-1940

LIBRARY WEST, Microfilm (3rd floor)   Call no:  E  98.C3 I5 1965
United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs. Washington : National Archives and Records Service, 1965.
692 reels.
Contains census rolls that were usually submitted each year by agents or superintendents in charge of Native American reservations, to the Commissioner of Indian Affairs. More about the Indian Census Rolls.


Indian census rolls, 1885-1940 (Guide)
LIBRARY WEST: Reference Microform Guide (3rd Floor) Call no:  E98.C3 I5 1973

  • Pamphlets in American History

LIBRARY WEST Microfiche (3rd Floor) Call no:  E  178 .P34
A microfiche collection of almost 16,000 pamphlets. While all periods of U.S. history up to the 1970s are represented, most documents were issued between 1820 and 1970.  The pamphlet is known as a “democratic medium:”  almost anyone could publish one.  These documents frequently reflect social protest, lobbying efforts, new political ideologies, and the cause celebre.  Types of pamphlets include campaign literature, memoirs, personal narratives, published letters, travel accounts, eulogies, commemorative addresses, sermons, obituaries, biographies, autobiographies, published diaries, journals, speeches, legal decisions, trade-union leaflets. Well-known documents are represented, as well as previously neglected sources, providing a balanced view of the diverse opinions and concerns of the American people.  More about PAH.

Pamphlets in American history : a bibliographic guide to the microform collection
LIBRARY WEST: Reference Microform Guide (3rd Floor) Call no:   Z  1236 .P27 1979

Indexes to the collection are by Author, Title, Chronology, and Subject. Individual titles can be searched in the Library Catalog by series title, followed by the Section Category, as in these examples:
      Pamphlets in american history Cooperative societies
      Pamphlets in american history Indians
      Pamphlets in american history Labor

  • Papers of the NAACP

LIBRARY WEST, Microfilm (3rd floor)   Call no:    E  185.61 G 861

Contains nearly two million pages of internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country, charting the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People’s work. Presents primary documents concerning crucial issues: lynching, school desegregation, and discrimination in the military, the criminal justice system, employment, and housing, among others.  67 reels.  More on the NAACP papers.
 
A Guide to the Microfilm Edition of Papers of the NAACP
LIBRARY WEST: Reference Microform Guide (3rd Floor) Call no: E  185.61 .G861 1982 Guide

  • Province in Rebellion, a documentary history of the founding of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 1774-1775

LIBRARY WEST Microfiche (3rd Floor) Call no:  974.402 P969

Public records chronicling the growing friction between the British government and colonial Massachusetts have been reprinted in this collection with annotations and footnotes. Both sides of the conflict are represented. Over 3,000 pages of Royal correspondence, acts, proclamations, etc., plus documents of the Provincial Congresses, town and court records, and the like.
31 microfiche.    
             
Province in Rebellion
LIBRARY WEST: Reference Microform Guide (3rd Floor) Call no:  974.402 P969 guide
The Guide provides a 145-page "interpretive essay" on events of the period, chronological listing of individual items and subject/name index.

  • Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee papers, 1959-1972

UF LIBRARY WEST Microfilm (3rd Floor)       E185.61S916 1981

Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee papers
UF LIBRARY WEST: Reference Microform Guide (3rd Floor)        E185.61 .S916 1981

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.