Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Connecting you with ways to locate articles, books, and other information in the area of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering.

Scholarly Journal Articles

These databases contain peer-reviewed journals, technical reports, conference proceedings, and several other forms of credible, scholarly literature.

If you need: the largest engineering research database available!
Covers significant engineering and technical literature from journals, technical reports, and conference proceedings and papers. Includes Compendex and the Inspec Archive (1898-1969).
If you need: engineering resources but for electrical and computer engineering related!
Provides indexing and full-text access to IEEE and IET transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards. Access to the full text is restricted to current UF students/staff/faculty.
If you need: engineering intersecting with other subjects.
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database with a powerful search interface. In addition to records of over 84 million scholarly publications, it also includes author and institutional profiles.
If you need: engineering and also general sciences.
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences from 1900-present.
If you need: anything medicine and health related (biomedical, included!)
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
If you need: cutting-edge machine learning research with the code available.
The mission of Papers With Code is to create a free and open resource with Machine Learning papers, code and evaluation tables.

Trade Journal Articles

Locating these types of articles can be tricky, but here are a couple of engineering-related databases that can be helpful.

You have the ability to filter your search to magazine articles (which are often from trade publications).
Search your topic and then select Trade Journal from the Source Type filter options.

Archives

These databases are mostly for older technical reports and archives.

Use this to search all American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics documents. We have electronic subscriptions to many of the journals. If you find something you want that we don't own, simply request it through interlibrary loan.
Incorporates more than ten thousand, historically significant, digitised reports from: 1) the Aeronautical Research Council (ARC) - the principal agency in Great Britain with a major output of reports on matters aeronautical, which existed from 1909-1979, and published reports until 1980, and 2) The National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA) - chartered in 1915 and operational from 1917-1958. The National Aeronautics and Space Act of 1958 created NASA from NACA.
A NASA-funded project which maintains four bibliographic databases containing more than 4.2 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Instrumentation, Physics and Geophysics, and preprints in Astronomy.
The National Technical Reports Library (NTRL) was created by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS), an agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce, as a means of disseminating scientific and technical information produced by federal and international sources.

Preprint Articles

What's a preprint? A preprint is a version of a paper that precedes formal peer review and publication in a peer-reviewed scholarly or scientific journal.

engrXiv (engineering archive) is dedicated to the dissemination of engineering knowledge quickly and efficiently. engrXiv was launched in beta in July 2016 under the direction of Devin R. Berg, associate professor of mechanical engineering at the University of Wisconsin-Stout, and in partnership with the Center for Open Science.
TechRxiv (tech archive) is an open, moderated preprint server for unpublished research in the areas of engineering, computer science, and related technology. Affiliated with IEEE. For more information see their About page.
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for preprint articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.
University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.