Skip to main content

Linguistics: Home

Key resources and assistance for research in Linguistics.

Managing your Research Materials

Your class assignment requires a list of references, or your published article includes a substantial bibliography. Or perhaps you simply do a lot of reading and you want to save references to the good sources you have found for future use or study. Their are some great tools to help you manage your research and we can help you find the right one and learn how to use it.

Some of the classes we offer are listed below and the schedule and registration for the classes is here: http://apps.uflib.ufl.edu/Registration/public_workshops_scheduled.aspx

New RefWorks

In this workshop, you will receive an introduction to the newest version of RefWorks, which is quite different than the older version you may have already used or encountered. You will learn how to export citations from the library catalog and journal article databases, and then how to create a bibliography using those citations. You will also see a demo of the Write-N-Cite plug-in for Microsoft Word. Another version of the workshop is aimed at users of the older RefWorks edition; attendees will learn how to transfer their existing files to the new platform.

Introduction to EndNote Basic
This workshop will cover importing citations, organizing and sharing references, and formatting a bibliography using Endnote Basic.

Let's Get Started!

Hello and Welcome to the Linguistics Subject Guide

So let me guess ... you probably want to get started on your assignments and need to find a book, or maybe an article in a journal or magazine or newspaper, right? Here's how to start:

  • Are you on-campus, or off-campus? Off campus, you will need to first use one of two methods to log in. I recommend the VPN (Option #2) for most users.

  • Search the library catalog for books or journal titles: Links to online books and journals and streaming video are also contained within the catalog.

  • Search subject databases to find articles in journals: If you are trying to decide which database is appropriate for Linguistics, look at the list of databases listed above on my Databases for Ling Tab.

  • Use OneSearch if you want to do a quick survey of your subject in a very large database of databases. Try it - type in a few words that describe your topic and go!

 LeiLani Freund      leilanif@ufl.edu

Linguistics in the News

So, Is That a Thing?

Linguists today have a staggering number of trends, events, memes, and phenomenon to study. Alexander Stern, a writer for the New York Times, looks at one of these curiosities and wonders when and why calling something a "thing" actually became a ... well, you know ... "thing."

Read it here: http://search.proquest.com/nytimes/docview/1781382925/F222CB5AEAF2423CPQ/6?accountid=10920

_______________________________________________________________________________

Word of the Year 2015

In its 26th annual words of the year vote, the American Dialect Society voted for they used as a gender-neutral singular pronoun as the Word of the Year for 2015. They was recognized by the society for its emerging use as a pronoun to refer to a known person, often as a conscious choice by a person rejecting the traditional gender binary of he and she.

Members in the 127-year-old organization include linguists, lexicographers, etymologists, grammarians, historians, researchers, writers, editors, students, and independent scholars. In conducting the vote, they act in fun and do not pretend to be officially inducting words into the English language. Instead, they are highlighting that language change is normal, ongoing, and entertaining.

In a companion vote, sibling organization the American Name Society voted “Caitlyn Jenner” as Name of the Year for 2015 in its eleventh annual name-of-the-year contest, to recognize issues relating to naming conventions in the transgender community.

Text from: http://www.americandialect.org/2015-word-of-the-year-is-singular-they

_______________________________________________________________________________

Talk of D.C.'s Unique Voice Gets Some Pretty Cised

Georgetown University researchers have been studying the way people in Washington D.C. speak and have found out that when you start talking about a D.C. dialect, you provoke a lot of emotions and passion. The study is an attempt to piece together the linguistic mosaic of a city that has an unusual mix of transient populations and generations-old populations.

Read about the study in this Washington Post article.

_______________________________________________________________________________

Listening To (and Saving) the World's Languages

New York City is probably the most linguistically diverse city in the world.

An interesting project to save endangered languages is being organized at City University of New York.

Read about the study in this New York Times article

Subject Guide

Leilani Freund
Contact:
University Librarian

Library West

Room 508

352-273-2622

Library News: new resource

Discover DARE

The Dictionary of American Regional English is the place to go to find the full panoply of American regional words, phrases, and pronunciations. Some of you may have used the printed version of this great resource. The online version is even richer, with access to the original survey that is the basis for this linguistic tool. The University of Florida has recently obtained the license to use the online version - please take a a look and enjoy!

 

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.