Guides @ UF: Linguistics: Databases

General Databases

This is a selection of general databases, organized alphabetically. All links open in this tab.

Academic Search Premier
General database covers all areas of study. Good place to start for interdisciplinary topics or when you don't know which area of study your topic fits into. "Where do I start?" Here.
Dissertations and Theses
Indexes over 2.4 million PhD dissertations and some master's degree theses completed. We have access to the full-text of those completed after 1995. You may purchase thousands of others.
JSTOR
Archived, online backfiles of the most important and respected journals in the social sciences. It is sometimes best to search in other databases and to come here to find articles you already know about.
UF's A-Z Databases
All of the databases UF grants access to, alphebetized. Use full keywords when searching.
Web of Science
Covers all areas of study, though covers sciences and social sciences much better than the humanities. Excellent for citation searching (looking for articles that cite an article that you already know about, or finding sources that cite a particular author's works). Also assesses the impact of specific journals.

Reference Databases

Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics This link opens in a new window
Oxford Research Encyclopedias - Linguistics This link opens in a new window

Databases for Linguistics

This is a selection of databases related to Linguistics. They are organized alphabetically and all links open in this tab.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Generally, the first place to look for linguistics journal articles. Indexes journals, books, dissertations, and proceedings in all areas of linguistics.
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography
Indexes journal articles about language and linguistics, and the teaching of modern (mostly written) languages.
PsycINFO
The American Psychological Association's index to journals on psycholinguistics: child language acquisition, 2nd language learning, sentence processing, language disorders, and neurolinguistics & cognitive science. Also includes PsycBOOKS.
The World Atlas of Language Structures (Online)
A short article describes variations in each language structure. World maps chart approximately 400 languages showing the distribution of types of the structure geographically.
World Loanword Database
WOLD provides vocabularies (mini-dictionaries of about 1000-2000 entries) of 41 languages from around the world, with comprehensive information about the loanword status of each word. It allows users to find loanwords, source words and donor languages in each of the 41 languages, and also makes it easy to compare loanwords across languages.

Databases in Adjacent Fields

This is a selection of databases with subject matter surrounding linguistics but not directly related. They are organized alphabetically and all links open in this tab.

Anthropology Plus
Anthropology Plus is the world's most comprehensive, focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to today in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture; and interdisciplinary studies.
AnthroSource
Archive of the top American Anthropology Association journals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
This database has recently added a number of linguistics journals and is also helpful for research into communication disorders. CMMC incorporates CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index.
Education Database
The Education Database supports the study and application of education across all levels of education and supports global study and research. Includes cognitive, social, and linguistic development; language disorders; teaching 1st and 2nd languages; reading and literacy.
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)
This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. Sources for research on education, including cognitive, social, and linguistic development; language disorders; teaching 1st and 2nd language; reading and literacy; tests, measurements, and evaluations.
eHRAF Collection of Ethnography
Cultural descriptions of groups of people from all over the world organized by location. Can search by feature of culture, e.g., word order.
Medline
For health science-related journals. Use for research on language disorders, neurolinguistics, fMRI studies, and aphasias.
Sociological Abstracts
The best place for research on sociological topics. Good for research on sociolinguistics -- languages in contact, interpretation, communities in contact, pidgins and creoles.