Skip to main content

JRNL - Journal Retention and Needs Listing: Users

Describes the use and operation of JRNL

Description

This tab will provide you with an overview of basic and tech users, with additional information provided on PSAP admins and bib admins.

 

What tasks can each user perform in the tool

ReadOnly User

Basic User

Technical User

Bib Admin

PSAP Admin

Import

No access

No access

- Bibliographic Data

- Holdings

- Gaps

- Bibliographic Data

- Archive Status

Title List

- Search/Export

- Search/Export

- Search/Export

- Add new title

- Add new title

n/a

Title Detail (Add)

No access

No access

- Enter bib data

- Enter holdings

- Enter bib data

- Enter archive status

Title Detail (Edit)

- Read-only view

- Read-only view

- Enter holdings

- Enter bib data

- Delete title

- Enter archive status

My Gaps

- Read-only view

- Search/Export

- Read-only view

- Search/Export

- Search/Export

- Add new gap

- Edit/delete gaps

- Check In gaps

- Relist gaps

- Undo Check-Ins

n/a

n/a

Fill Gaps

- Search/Export

- Search/Export

- Fill gaps

- Retract gaps

- Search/Export

- Fill gaps

- Retract gaps

n/a

n/a

 

Technical Users

Technical Users are the primary users at an institution.  In addition to searching the database, they may add and edit Holding and Gap information for the Locations managed by the Institution.  They may also add first-time Bibliographic information.  (See the Editing tab for information about editing Bibliographic Data)

Technical Users may manage Users and Locations at their Institution through the Administration page.  Each User must have a unique Google login.  The single Contact-Email for the institution may also be managed here.  See the Editing tab for more information.

Basic Users

Basic Users may only perform searches and work with listing / checking-in gaps.

ReadOnly Users

ReadOnly Users can view, search, and export but cannot change any data; they cannot fill or retract gaps.


 

Administration

Functions by user/tab:

ReadOnly User

  • No access

Basic User

  • No access

Technical User

  • PSAP tab
    •    No access
  • Location tab
    • Manage locations for their institution (including PSAP associations)
      • Cannot edit the name if the location has holdings/gaps
      •   Delete/deactivate based on holdings/gaps
  • Institution/Users tab
    • Edit their institution’s email address
    • Manage basic and technical users for their institution
      • Cannot edit users that are Bib/PSAP Admins

Bib Admin

  • No access

PSAP Admin

  • PSAP tab
    • Manage institution membership for their PSAP(s)
  • Location tab
    • No access
  • Institution/Users tab
    • No access     

·  


 Functions exclusive to System Admin*:
(The System Admin role will not be implemented in Phase 1. Those tasks will be handled manually by UF Library IT staff.)

  • Create PSAP's
  • Edit PSAP name
  • Delete PSAP (delete/deactivate based on FKs)
  • Create Institutions
  • Edit Institution name
  • Delete Institution (delete/deactivate based on FKs, delete/deactivate managed Locations too)
  • Reactivate an inactive location
  • Manage Bib Admins
  • Manage PSAP Admins

· 

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.