Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Advertising: Advertising Websites/Organizations

Research Resources for Advertising

Websites

 

Ad*Access
An extensive on-line database of over 7,000 advertisments from the J. Walter Thompson Company Competitive Advertisement Collection. It is available from the John W. Hartman Center at Duke University. The images are from U.S. newspapers and magazines from 1911 through 1955.

Adflip.com

Some restricted access, but includes searchable database of classic print ads from the 1940s through 2000.

Advertising @ About.com
AdPitch archive, career resources, research links, etc.

AdViews A digital archive of thousands of vintage television commercials from the 1950's to the 1980's. Part of the D'Arcy, Masius, Benton and Bowles Collection at the John W. Hartmann Center at Duke University.

AC Nielsen Home Page
"ACNielsen Retail Measurement Services capture point-of-sale and causal information from all retail channels, highlighting incremental changes in market dynamics." Also see Nielsen NetRatings - statistics and news about Web advertising.
 
 
Ad Critic - All Ads, All the Time
An ambitious collection of television commercials in QuickTime format that aspires to have "practically any ad you have seen on TV." Most content now requires a paid subscription.
 
 
 
Adland - By the adgrunts for the adgrunts
The site includes: The Commerical Archive, streaming video of over 950 commercials - Ad Rants, a collection of critical articles - Ad Books, a collection of reviews - Badland, a section that displays ads side-by-side, one of them original, the other a rip-off - Advertising Industry News - Links and more.
 
 
The Advertising Century (Advertising Age)
* Top 100 Campaigns * Top 100 People * Top 10 Jingles * Top 10 Slogans * Top 10 Ad Icons * Ad Century Essay * Timeline
 
 
Advertising Page: Media and Communication Studies, U. of Wales
Daniel Chandler of the University of Wales, Aberystwyth puts together great web pages. This one is devoted to advertising.
 
 
 
Cigarette Advertising on TV
Videos of TV ads from the 1950s & 1960s
 
 
ClickZ Today
Internet Advertising and marketing news from internet.com.
 
Clio Awards
Information on advertising, design, marketing innovation, creativity and the annual Clio Awards International Advertising Festival. Includes industry associations, advertising resources online and selected articles from Adweek and Brandweek.
 
 
The Commercial Closet
"The Commercial Closet is a unique, non-profit education and journalism project that charts evolving worldwide portrayals of the gay community in the most powerful cultural media of our time – mainstream advertising."
 
 
Communication Arts: Exhibit Online
The Latest and Best Examples of Design and Advertising
 
 
Emergence of Advertising in America
Another site from Duke University that antedates the Ad*Access site listed above. Presents over 9000 images from 1850-1920 relating to the early history of advertising in the United States.
 
 
The Gender Ads Project
"Currently Featuring 1,253 Ads. … The Gender Ads Project is organized in a number of topical areas or tropes of advertising. These are themes that I or others have identified in popular culture and gender." --Scott A. Lukas
 
 
 
Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising, and Marketing History
Duke University's Special Collections Library. The most extensive collection at the Center is the J. Walter Thompson Company Archives, the most comprehensive surviving historical record of any advertising agency. Other holdings include vast files of 19th-20th century advertising, the extensive Wayne P. Ellis Collection of Eastman Kodak Advertising, Sales, and Marketing, and records of the Charles W. Hoyt agency. The web site offers sample images, newsletters sprinkled with more images from the collections and finding aids to the collection.
 
 
 
History of Advertising Trust (HAT)
British organization dedicated to preserving the best of U.K. advertising. The Web site holds only small samples of their library holdings and traveling exhibits, but it is worth the visit anyway.
 
 
 
IEG Network
The source for sponsorship information online. Sponsorship is the world's fastest-growing form of marketing. In 1996, corporations around the globe will spend $13.5 billion sponsoring sports, arts, entertainment, causes and events.
 
Internet Advertising Revenue Report (IAB)
"Conducted by the New Media Group of PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP on an ongoing basis… this report aggregates data and information reported … by companies representing thousands of Web sites, in addition to other on-line ad selling companies. All-inclusive, the report includes data reflecting on-line advertising revenues from Web sites, commercial on-line services, e-mail providers, as well as other companies selling on-line advertising."
 
 
Journal of Interactive Advertising
An official online publication of the Departments of Advertising at Michigan State University and The University of Texas at Austin. Abstracts and Full Text.
 
 
Journalists Toolbox: Advertising/Marketing Links
An extensive list of advertising and marketing resources.
 
 
The Market Research Portal
MRP "offers a host of online resources and research related articles being highly relevant to market research buyers, researchers, newcomers to the industry, students and individuals with an interest in the market research industry."
 
 
Medicine and Madison Avenue
Presents images and database information for approx. 600 health-related advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines. Covers the evolution of images from the 1910's through the 1950's.
 
 
 
Museum of Advertising Icons
Although the interface is annoying, making the visitor wade through a mountain of preliminary images to get to the goodies, there is a significant collection of advertising toys to be found here.
 
 
 
Old-Time Radio Commercials
The first commercial broadcast in 1922, the first musical commercial from 1926, and other historical sound recordings with background history provided by Danny Goodwin, an avid collector.
 
 
Powers of Persuasion: Poster Art from World War II
This online exhibit features 33 posters and 1 sound file from a more extensive exhibit that was presented in the National Archives Building in Washington, DC, from May 1994 to February 1995. Like the original, this exhibit is divided into two parts, which represent two psychological approaches used in rallying public support for the war.
 
 
Radio Marketing Guide & Fact Book (2006)
A 43-page collection of statistics and information on Radio by the Radio Advertising Bureau.
 
 
 
Saturday Morning Commercials - 1960-1970
 
 
SRDS Support Services
Media planning/buying calculators, advertising and marketing links.
 
 
 
VALS (Values and Lifestyles)
The Values and Lifestyles (VALS) program at SRI studies consumers by asking questions about their attitudes and values. You can type yourself according to the VALS 2 consumer-segmentation system and see the consumer patterns for people of your "type".
 
 
Video Vault
Commercial Icons of the Sixties by Billy Ingram. Tiny Real Player versions of the ads.
 
 
Vintage Ad Browser
Collects vintage ads from a variety of sources, including comic books, CD-Roms, websites, APIs, submissions, book, magazine & comic book scans, and more.
 
 
The :30 Second Candidate
A PBS documentary supplement that features an historical timeline of U.S. political advertising on TV, a unit on the creation process "From Idea to Ad," and "Tricks of the Trade" on how particular meanings and moods are manipulated. You can also find transcripts of the program.
 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
April Hines
Contact:
Library West Rm. 541
352-273-2728
Social: Twitter Page
University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.