Guides @ UF: Biology: Digital Collections

Animal Collections and Journals

Audubon's Birds of America
Digitized by the Public Library of Cincinnati, Birds of America consists of 435 plates with each plate being hand colored in London under the direction of Audubon and engraver Robert Havell, Jr.
Florida Museum of Natural History
Housing collections that have grown to 40 million specimens and artifacts, the Florida Museum is one of the top three university-based natural history museums the nation with active collecting, research and teaching programs.
Folia Primatologica
Folia Primatologica is an international peer-reviewed journal focusing on primatology, the study of monkeys, apes, lemurs, and other primates.
Mammalian Biology
Mammalian Biology publishes research on all aspects of mammalian biology.
Nature Collections from the New York Public Library
Freely accessible digital collections relating to nature from the New York Public Library
USDA Wildlife Services Digital Collections
The digital collections include images, publications, artifacts, archives findings aids, and other digital resources.
USFWS National Digital Library
Includes documents, biological teaching collections, images, maps, audio, and more from the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Services department

Herbarium Collections

UF Herbarium Type Specimens
The goals of this project include: a searchable database of vascular plant, bryophyte and lichen type specimens label data; high resolution digital images of all vascular plant holotypes, isotypes, lectotypes, neotypes and syntypes; and literature citations relevant to the included specimens.
UF Herbarium Digital Imaging Projects
The collections and estimated holdings include: vascular plants (320,000), bryophytes (70,000), lichens (16,000), fungi (55,000), and wood (16,000). It is the largest scientific plant specimen collection in Florida and the fourth largest in the southeastern United States. The vascular plant, bryophyte, and lichen collections are rich in historical material dating back into the mid-19th century.

Linking Florida's Natural Heritage

Linking Florida's Natural Heritage: Science and Citizenry is a project funded by the Institute of Museum and Library Services to create a virtual library of Florida ecological information from heterogeneous museum, library, and citation databases throughout the state of Florida. This is a model program of cooperation between the Florida Museum of Natural History; the libraries of the University of Florida, Florida International University, and Florida Atlantic University; and the Florida Center for Library Automation. Museum specimen databases, library catalogs, and other citation databases can be queried for taxonomic and topical information from the LFNH website. Highlights include:

Digital Library of the Caribbean

The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

Digital Library of the Caribbean

Smithsonian

Smithsonian Open Access Lbrary