Guides @ UF: Zoology: Journal Articles

Key Databases

Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Aquaculture Abstracts
Database of aquaculture and planned management of aquatic organisms. Includes improving aquatic yields of marine, freshwater and brackish water species.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus (H.W. Wilson)
Database covers essential biology and agricultural research journals. Includes environmental science, genetics, horticulture, physiology, wildlife management and veterinary science.
Biological Science Collection
Includes the ProQuest Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases. Includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government documents.
BioOne Digital Library
Covers scholarly journal articles in biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.

Biosis Citation Index
Indexes over 6000 journals covering biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. There is also indexing of meetings, review articles, books reviews, book chapters, software, and U.S. patents.

CAB Abstracts
One of the largest bibliographic databases covering international research and development literature in the fields of Agriculture, Animal health, Forestry, Human health, Human nutrition, and Management and conservation of natural resources.
Scopus
Comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines.

Web of Science
Search multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world back to 1900. Also provides cited reference searching to see who has cited whom.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide (1935 & earlier to present), is the world’s largest index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Coverage includes more than 1.6 million bibliographic records many of which include abstracts. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, taxonomy and much more.
Zoological Record
Comprehensive coverage of worldwide zoological literature, including scientific journals, popular journals, monographs, books, newsletters, conferences, selected dissertations, review annuals, and reports.