Help Guides and Tutorials - WPPD & MTM Programs - Pharmacy Distance Education

Help Sheets

FAQs
Combining Search Terms
Databases: Full text or Bibliographic
What information does each kind contain? What are some that are available for UF students?
MeSH: Medical Subject Headings

New MeSH Database Tutorials

PubMed's MeSH Database

Searching with the MeSH Database (3 min., February 2011)
Combining MeSH Terms Using the MeSH Database (3 min., February 2011)
Applying Subheadings and Other Features of the MeSH Database (3 min., February 2011)

Library Tutorials: Using the Library

These tutorials are Flash or YouTube videos. For help also look at the FAQ linked in the Help Sheets box.

Health Science Center Library's Hompage and Website
Where to find resources on the HSC Library's website 9:10 minutes
Getting Help With Library Resources
This 9.5 minute video describes the various ways you can get help with the HSC Library's resources. It includes the LibGuides for pharmacy and other specific topics, how to contact a librarian, or submit a reference question electronically.
Off Campus Access: The Basics
This 3.5 minute video explains why and how you can gain access to our resources from off campus. There are two more videos with more detailed information on the Library's Proxy and the University's VPN
Off Campus Access: Library Proxy
This 5.5 minute video explains how to connect to and log into the Library's Proxy.
Off Campus Access: The VPN : Virtual Private Network
This 4.5 minute video provides basic instruction on how to set up and log into the University's VPN
Connecting to Databases
This 8 minute video shows you how to connect to the databases available through the HSC Library's website.
Introduction to Access Pharmacy
How to locate materials and resources in Access Pharmacy including instructions on creating a login in order to access Study Guide Questions ( Quizzes ), Flash Cards and Case Studies. 12:06 minutes
Finding Full-Text Journal Articles ( Print & Online)
This 14 minute video explains how to locate the full text article in the UF Libraries', not just the HSC Library. Do we own it in print, and if so where is it found? Is it one we have electronically and if so, then how can you gain access?
Full Text or Bibliographic Databases: The Differences (approx 4 min)narrated
What kind of information is in each kind of database.
Combining Search Terms (approx 2 min)
IPA: International Pharmaceutical Abstracts Introduction
The transcript is available as a Word document by clicking on the Attachment tab.
Cochrane Library ( Reviews) Introduction
You will need to register to use these videos produced by the publisher.
Cochrane Library:searching and using MeSH
You may have to register or log in as with part 1. It is a large file so will take a while to download.

Database tutorials

Flash tutorials and online help from other sources outside the Library

PubMed Tutorials from NLM
Online tutorial and Quick Tours of PubMed. Quick Tours are short, animated Flash movies on specific PubMed tools such as MeSH.
Refworks tutorial
Tutorial from Refworks. Sections can be printed off.
Refworks Quickstart Guide
PDF guide from Refworks with basic information
Lexicomp Quick Reference Guide
This resource is available through the COP for their students only.
LexiComp Online Video Tutorials
Created by Lexicomp this link takes to a page that links to tutorials created by LexiComp on various aspects of their product.
LexiComp Detailed Users Guide
Searching Drugs or Chemicals in PubMed
A tutorial from the National Library of Medicine

Subject Guide

Lauren Adkins

Email Me

Contact:

Health Science Center Libraries
PO Box 100206
Gainesville, FL
32610

352-273-8444

Subjects: Medicine, Pharmacy

Databases & Free Websites

There are two documents. One contains databases to which UF subscribes and the 2nd one is a list of free websites that you might find useful after you graduate, including ones that contain free full text journal articles.

You need to double check the commercial drug information sites for their authoritativeness and currency. Check with your instructor for the acceptability of the .com sites before using for an assignment.

Databases
List of databases available through the UF HSC Library that may be useful in pharmacy research. It does include PubMed, which is a free website.
Free Websites
Free websites that you may find useful. It includes free databases as well as websites that have free full text. Double check the drug information sites for the authoritativeness & reliability. Check with your professor for acceptability for coursework

WPPD & MTM Programs - Pharmacy Distance Education: Help Guides and Tutorials