Guides @ UF: Dentistry: Orthodontics

Orthodontics Definition

Orthodontics and dentofacial orthopedics is the dental specialty that includes the diagnosis, prevention, interception, and correction of malocclusion, as well as neuromuscular and skeletal abnormalities of the developing or mature orofacial structures.From the American Dental Association

Orthodontics Academies, Associations, and Organizations

American Association of Orthodontists

American Orthodontic Society

Charles H. Tweed International Foundation

International Association for Orthodontics

World Federation of Orthodontists

Orthodontics Journals

American Journal of Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics
Published for more than 100 years, the American Journal of Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics remains the leading orthodontic resource. It is the official publication of the American Association of Orthodontists, its constituent societies, the American Board of Orthodontics and the College of Diplomates of the American Board of Orthodontics. Each month its readers have access to original peer-reviewed articles that examine all phases of orthodontic treatment. Illustrated throughout, the publication includes tables, photos (many in full color), and statistical data. Coverage includes successful diagnostic procedures, imaging techniques, bracket and archwire materials, extraction and impaction concerns, orthognathic surgery, TMJ disorders, removable appliances, and adult therapy.
APOS Trends in Orthodontics
APOS Trends in Orthodontics, official publication of the Asian Pacific Orthodontic Society, is a peer-reviewed online journal with bimonthly print on demand compilation of issues published. The journal’s full text is available online at http://www.apospublications.com/. The journal aims to provide its readers ,state of the art information on orthodontic advances , both in the research and clinical arena.The Experts Corner in every current issue is an invitational article to a professional with expertise in a given area of orthodontics, as determined by the Editorial Board
European Journal of Orthodontics
One of the leading periodicals in its field, The European Journal of Orthodontics publishes scientific papers aimed at all orthodontists. The journal provides a forum for orthodontists in Europe where many developments are taking place, but also accepts papers from all parts of the world. Clinical papers cover all techniques as well as different approaches to treatment planning. Research papers are of direct relevance to the clinician and extend the scientific basis of orthodontics.
Journal of Orthodontics
The Journal of Orthodontics has an international circulation, publishing papers from throughout the world. The official journal of the British Orthodontic Society, it aims to publish high quality, evidence-based, clinically orientated or clinically relevant original research papers that will underpin evidence based orthodontic care. It particularly welcomes reports on prospective research into different treatment methods and techniques but also systematic reviews, meta-analyses and studies which will stimulate interest in new developments. Regular features include original papers on clinically relevant topics, clinical case reports, reviews of the orthodontic literature, editorials, book reviews, correspondence and other features of interest to the orthodontic community.
Korean Journal of Orthodontics
The Korean Journal of Orthodontics (KJO) is an international, open access, peer reviewed journal first published in 1970 and, as the official scientific publication of Korean Association of Orthodontists, KJO aims to publish high quality clinical and scientific original research papers in all areas related to orthodontics and dentofacial orthopedics. Specifically, its interest focuses on evidence-based investigations of contemporary diagnostic procedures and treatment techniques, expanding to significant clinical reports of diverse treatment approaches.
more...less...
The scope of KJO covers all areas of orthodontics and dentofacial orthopedics including successful diagnostic procedures and treatment planning, growth and development of the face and its clinical implications, appliance designs, biomechanics, TMJ disorders and adult treatment. Specifically, its latest interest focuses on skeletal anchorage devices, orthodontic appliance and biomaterials, 3 dimensional imaging techniques utilized for dentofacial diagnosis and treatment planning, and orthognathic surgery to correct skeletal disharmony in association of orthodontic treatment.
Progress in Orthodontics
Progress in Orthodontics is a fully open access journal owned by the Italian Society of Orthodontics and published under the brand SpringerOpen.

It is a premier journal of international scope that fosters orthodontic research, including both basic research and development of innovative clinical techniques.
Seminars in Orthodontics
Each issue provides up-to-date, state-of-the-art information on a single topic in orthodontics. Readers are kept abreast of the latest innovations, research findings, clinical applications and clinical methods. Collection of the issues will provide invaluable reference material for present and future review.

Orthodontics & Craniofacial Research

Orthodontics & Craniofacial Research - Genes, Growth and Development is published to serve its readers as a forum for the presentation and discussion of issues pertinent to the advancement of the specialty of orthodontics and the evidence-based knowledge of craniofacial growth and development. Papers of originality and high scientific quality that report the findings of clinical trials, clinical epidemiology, and novel therapeutic or diagnostic approaches are appropriate submissions. Similarly, we welcome papers in genetics, developmental biology, syndromology, surgery, speech and hearing, and other biomedical disciplines related to clinical orthodontics and normal and abnormal craniofacial growth and development.