Guides @ UF: EndNote Online: 3. Format

Formatting References

The format option in EndNote Basic allows you to output your references in a specified bibliography output style to e-mail, save or print. You can insert citations easily into a paper using the Cite While You Write and Format Paper options. In addition to this you can Export your references in one of several standard export styles to e-mail, save or print for alternative use. The Cite While You Write plug-in will only work for Word Online and Google Docs if you are using EndNote Desktop.

Bibliography

The Bibliography feature allows you to output your references in various bibliographic output styles and in a specified file format to e-mail, save or print.

To create a bibliography:

From the Format tab, click the Bibliography link.
Select the references you want to format from the References drop-down list box.
Select the output style from the Bibliographic style drop-down list box.
Click the Save To, E-mail, or Preview & Print buttons.

A file using the Save option – a standard ‘File Download’ window will appear allowing you to open the file or save to disk. If saving to disk, a standard "Save to" window will open so that you can browse to the folder location and name the file.
An e-mail using the Email option – an ‘e-mail’ window will appear allowing you to enter the e-mail addresses of those to receive the e-mail, a subject, and a message.
A printed list using the Preview & Print option – a ‘Preview & Print’ window will appear allowing you to print to a local or network printer.

Using Format Paper

Using Format Paper to format a Rich Text Format (RTF) Document

To format your paper’s citations and bibliography without the EndNote Basic plug-in, use Format Paper. Format Paper works by scanning an RTF document for temporary citations. A new version of your paper is saved with formatted citations and a bibliography.

Before you begin, check that your Format Paper preferences are configured correctly. These preferences, which are available on the Format Paper page, must correlate with your RTF document to properly scan and format your paper.

Writing and Preparing Your Paper

When citing a source in your paper, simply type the reference information as described below. By default, curly brackets ("{ }") are used but you can customize this delimiter setting as well as others in your Format Paper preferences.

Library Reference Containing:	Temporary Citation Layout
Single reference from author	{Author's Last Name, Year}
Multiple references from author with same year	{Author's Last Name, Title}*
Multiple references within the same citation	{First Author's Last Name, Year; Second Author's Last Name, Year}
Anonymous reference with unique year	{, Year}
Anonymous reference with non unique year	{,Year, Title}*

* Title field can be replaced with any other field unique to the reference cited.

When you are ready to format your citations and bibliography, save a copy of the file in RTF format. Then return to the EndNote Basic site to use the Format Paper tool.

Using Format Paper

From the Format tab, click the Format Paper link.
In the File field, click the Browsebutton to select the RTF document.
Select a bibliographic style from the Bibliographic Style... drop-down list. See Bibliographic Styles Favorites to customize this list.
If desired, check ‘Ignore unmatched citations’ to override notification of unmatched and ambiguous citations. When this is checked, unmatched and ambiguous citations are ignored in the formatted file. When this is not checked, unmatched and ambiguous citations must be corrected in order to format the document.
Click the Format button.
After the formatting is complete, confirm the location and file name to save the newly formatted document.

Note: If your newly formatted file does not contain spacing between the last line of the original document and the bibliography, the desired spacing must be added manually either before or after using Bibliography. This occurs for certain types of word processors.

Unmatched Citations

To correct unmatched citations:

Open the original RTF document.
Locate the unmatched citation(s).
Correct the author’s last name or year of each unmatched citation to match the correct reference in your End Note Web library.

Ambiguous Citations

To correct ambiguous citations:

Open the original RTF document.
Locate the ambiguous citation(s).
Add information from any other field after the year, such as title (e.g., {Smith, 2003, Learning to Use End Note Web}), for each ambiguous citation.

Format Paper Preferences

If you use the Format Paper tool to format RTF documents, you can customize how End Note Web identifies and formats citations and the bibliography.

To view and modify the Format Paper preferences:

From the Format Paper page, click the Show format paper preferences link.

Temporary Citation Delimiters - These characters indicate that the enclosed information is a citation that should be formatted. The default temporary citation delimiters are {}.
Citation Prefix Marker - This character in a temporary citation indicates that the text preceding the character is prefix text. Using the default "\" character for example, {See \Smith, 1999} will format as (See Smith 1999) when using an author date output style.
Indicate Notes with: - The default, "Note:" text within a temporary citation indicates that the citation should be formatted as a note. For example, {Note: The evidence described...} will be formatted as a numbered citation within the text of the document and the note text will appear in the formatted bibliography. This only applies to numbered styles.
Merge Duplicates in bibliography - If selected, duplicate citations in a paper will appear as a single entry in the bibliography.
Omit Author and/or Year in formatted citation if removed from temporary citation.

Click the Apply button.

Cite While you Write Plug-In

Cite While You Write Plug-In

Use the Cite While You Write Plug-in (CWYW) to insert references, and format citations and bibliographies automatically while you write your papers in Word. The Cite While You Write Plug-in also allows you to save on-line references to your library in Internet Explorer for Windows. New in 2024: CWYW installation instructions for the free EndNote Basic (Online Classic version) are available here. All other versions require a license to EndNote Desktop. If you use EndNote Desktop, instructions to install CWYW for Word and Google docs are here.

How to Export References

EndNote Basic provides an export feature allowing you to export your references in one of several standard export styles to e-mail, save or print for alternative use.

Exporting References:

From the Format tab, click the Export link.
Select the references to export, such as the quick list or a personal group, from the References drop-down list box.
Select the Export style from the Export Style drop-down list box.
Click the Save, E-mail, or Preview & Print buttons.

A file using the Save option – a standard ‘File Download’ window will appear allowing you to open the file or save to disk. If saving to disk, a standard 'Save to' window will open so that you can browse to the folder location and name the file.
An e-mail using the Email option – an ‘e-mail’ window will appear allowing you to enter the e-mail addresses of those to receive the e-mail, a subject, and a message.
A printed list using the Preview & Print option – a ‘Preview & Print’ window will appear allowing you to print to a local or network printer.

To create a quick list:

Click the check box to the left of a record. Check the Check Page checkbox to check all references on a page or Check All to check all references in a group or list view.
Click the Copy To Quick List button.
Repeat steps 1-2 if you are selecting references from different pages and groups until your Quick List is complete. A warning message will display in your browser if you have exceeded your export data limit.