E-Books at UF: Open Access E-books

Books of literature, reference and verse, featuring the World Factbook and Gray's Anatomy.

Downloadable PDF's of textbooks, business books and travel guides. You will be asked to register to download.

From the University of Adelaide, the purpose of this site is: to provide access to the “classic” works of civilisation; to promote reading of the same; and for the editor to have fun.

"Gitenberg is a collaborative, open source community curating and publishing highly usable and attractive ebooks in the public domain. Our books are free to use by anyone for any purpose. They contain detailed metadata and are accessible in a wide variety of formats. "

The project will create open content electronic textbooks that will be freely available from a website. Subject areas include business, computing, education, health, science and social science.

Search for a topic in Google Books and then click on "Free Google eBooks" to the left of your results.

Free scholarly content

All downloads are in the mobi format.

Books and reports

The Ohio State University Press makes the complete texts of certain books available from their website in PDF format.

Project Gutenberg offers over 39,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.

Thousands of free e-books are available through Unglueit, including new fiction.

Many books in the United Nations' iLibrary are open access. Browse by country or theme.

A fair number of the UC Press ebooks are open to the public and cover many disciplines. You can also search the entire collection and then limit results to "public access books".

Wikibooks is a Wikimedia project for collaboratively writing open-content textbooks that anyone, including you, can edit.

The Complete Work of Charles Darwin Online (or Darwin Online) is the largest and most widely consulted edition of the writings of Darwin ever published.

This site is dedicated to the electronic publishing of scientific and other scholarly materials. Of particular interest are the history of science, genetics, computational biology, and genome research.

The University of Michigan Historical Mathematics Collection is a growing library of books selected from the University of Michigan mathematics collection that have been digitized to improve access and to preserve the content of these books. All of the books in this collection were published in the 19th or early 20th century.

Some open access monographs available in PDF format in the field of theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics.

Open Access e-books from the publisher, Springer Nature

Wallace Online is the first complete edition of the writings of naturalist and co-founder of the theory of evolution Alfred Russel Wallace.

Search or browse through multiple versions of the bible

Books available as gif, pdf, BIGS code and GB code

digitalculturebooks is an imprint of the University of Michigan Press dedicated to publishing innovative work in new media studies and digital humanities.

The Global, Area, and International Archive (GAIA), a peer-reviewed publications program. is an initiative of the division of International and Area Studies, University of California, Berkeley, in partnership with the University of California Press, the California Digital Library, and international research programs across the University of California system. Its aim is to represent the best traditions of regional studies, reconfigured through fresh global, transnational, and thematic perspectives. GAIA volumes are published in both open-access digital and print editions.

A collaborative effort between Columbia University Press and the American Historical Association, the books on this platform focus on History as a subject.

Children's books in over 60 languages

Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

All free eBooks are in PDF.

A hypermedia archive sponsored by the Library of Congress and supported by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, the University of Rochester, and the Scholarly Editions and Translations Division of the National Endowment for the Humanities.

From MIT, this site claims to be the Web's first edition of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare. The works are in simple HTML format.

From Yudu, this site has Shakespeare's works in a more interactive format.

Pitt Press has selected several hundred monographs for open access, including titles from the Pitt Latin American Series, Pitt Series in Russian and East European Studies, and Composition, Literacy and Culture.