The Bay of Pigs Digital Archive is a curated set of content from different UF archival collections related to the Bay of Pigs. When you click on the link, you will have access to the digitized document. The collection is Open Access, so you do not have to be affiliated to UF to use it.
The types of collections used are:
If you want to use the actual document, send us an email (special@uflib.ufl.edu) to coordinate your visit.
If you want to see the finding aids for the entire collection, click on the name of the collection or visit our finding aids page.
The following documents come from the Alfredo Sanchez Echeverria Papers, MSS 0523, UF Special Collections.
The collection documents the political activism of Alfredo Sanchez Echeverria and his father Aureliano Sanchez Arango. It is useful to researchers interested in Cuba during the government of Carlos Prío Socarrás, Fulgencio Batista and Fidel Castro, anti-Castroism and counterrevolutionary groups in the United States.
The following documents come from the Al Burt Papers, MS 269, UF Special Collections.
Alvin Victor BurtJr. (1927-2008) studied journalism at the University of Florida. For 37 years, he reported for the Miami Herald covering the Caribbean.
The following documents come from the Spessard L. Holland Papers, MS 055, UF Special Collections.
Spessard Lindsey Holland (1892-1971) served Florida as County Judge, State Senator, Governor, and member of the U.S. Senate.
The following documents come from the George A. Smathers Papers, MS 091, UF Special Collections.
George Armistead Smathers (1913-2007) was a UF alumn who served 18 years in the U.S. Senate. His collections documents John F. Kennedy, Lyndon B. Johnson, the civil rights movement, Latin America, Cuba, the space race, communism, the Cold War, the citrus industry, Interama, the Cross Florida Barge Canal, and the Everglades.
The UF library system is named after him.
The following documents from the Eduardo Hernández “Guayo” Papers, MSS 0625, UF Special Collections.
Eduardo Hernández “Guayo” (1916-1978) was a was a cameraman and photojournalist who began his extensive career working for Noticiario Nacional de Cuba. As a cameraman, photographer, and photojournalist, Eduardo Hernández “Guayo” covered the news in Cuba and countries such as Mexico, the United States, Central and South America, England, and even the Vatican City in Italy.
|
