Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ninteenth-Century Brazilian Slavery and Abolition: Open Access Resources

Definition of Open Access

Open Access are scholarly resources that are digital, online, and free. The digital repositories listed here are not peer reviewed but contain holdings of renowned academic institutions.

Open Access

The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

Manioc est une bibliothèque numérique spécialisée sur la Caraïbe, l'Amazonie, le Plateau des Guyanes et les régions ou centres d'intérêt liés à ces territoires.
Vous y trouverez des documents textuels, sonores, iconographiques et des références concernant l'histoire culturelle, sociale, économique ou politique de ces pays.
Manioc apporte sa contribution à la valorisation du patrimoine et à la constitution de la mémoire de demain en mettant à disposition tant des ouvrages anciens restituant la pensée sociale d'une époque que des textes et travaux contemporains issus de la recherche universitaire.
Les documents sont mis à disposition à des fins d'étude et de recherche et non dans le but de promouvoir les idées développées par leurs auteurs.
Manioc s'inscrit dans une démarche de libre accès au patrimoine et à l'information scientifique. Dans ce cadre, Manioc est interrogeable par OAI-PMH

Subject Guide

Margarita Vargas-Betancourt's picture
Margarita Vargas-Betancourt
Contact:
Department of Special & Area Studies Collections

University of Florida

Phone: (352) 273-2692

mvargasb@ufl.edu

Open Access on Jamaica

Other Libguides

This libguide has useful advice on how to use the catalog to find information on slavery.

More open access collections.

A suggested bibliography.

Great reference tools and other resources.

Abolition in the U.S.

Provides background reading and advice on finding material about slavery and abolitionism in the U.S.

This libguide includes a section on resistance and rebellion that deals with revolution in Haiti, Nat Turner, The Amistad Case, maroons.

Helpful starting points.

List of free web collections with materian on African Americans.

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.