Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ninteenth-Century Brazilian Slavery and Abolition: Newspapers and Microfilm

About Newspapers

These newspapers are located in the Latin American and Caribbean Collection (Smathers Library or Library East, 3rd floor).

 

NEWSPAPERS

Access world news from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. This database provides comprehensive coverage of current events and historical events. Each newspaper or wire service provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including specific information about local companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and the people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.

The Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library (CNDL) is a cooperative digital library for newspapers resources from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. CNDL provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. CNDL will have on-going newspaper digitization, expanding the geographic, temporal, political and linguistic variety of the newspapers.

Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Supported by NEH, this rich digital resource will be developed and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress. An NEH award program will fund the contribution of content from, eventually, all U.S. states and territories.

The Florida Digital Newspaper Library exists to provide access to the news and history of Florida. All of the over 1,376,000 pages of historic through current Florida newspapers in the Florida Digital Newspaper Library are openly and freely available with zoomable page images and full text. The Florida Digital Newspaper Library builds on the work done in microfilm within the Florida Newspaper Project.
•Current Florida newspapers, digitized from 2005 - present
•Digital Military Newspaper Library - a pilot project for military newspapers published in Florida and the Caribbean
•Historic Florida newspapers
•Historic News Accounts of Florida
With the exception of the East-Florida Gazette in the 1780s and a small press at Fernandina in 1817, Florida had no colonial newspapers. Even in the immediate aftermath of cession in 1821, only a few newspapers served Florida. 

NACLA Archive of Latin Americana

The NACLA Archive of Latin Americana is composed of ephemera and serials relating to socioeconomic and political conditions in Latin America from the 1960s through the 1980s.

The collection consists of 339 rolls of microfilm and is arranged by country and by subject, then chronologically internally. Not all countries will have materials for each topic. Researchers will find a complete list of the country's content at the beginning of the first roll pertaining to each country. Thereafter, each box will carry a listing of contents and in all cases each file has an introductory frame indicating the contents.

To view NACLA Archives, ask for assistance at the LACC service desk on the 3rd floor of Smathers East. 

1) By country:

Argentina, 10 rolls
Bolivia, 5 rolls
Brazil, 6 rolls
Caribbean, 5 rolls
Central America, 16 rolls
Chile, 50 rolls
Colombia, 11 rolls
Costa Rica, 5 rolls
Cuba, 24 rolls
Dominican Republic, 18 rolls
Ecuador, 5 rolls
El Salvador, 30 rolls
Grenada, 2 rolls
Guatemala, 21 rolls
Guyana, 2 rolls
Haiti, 2 rolls
Honduras, 4 rolls
Jamaica, 2 rolls
Latin America, 47 rolls
Mexico, 16 rolls
Nicaragua, 20 rolls
Panama, 4 rolls
Paraguay, 2 rolls
Peru, 7 rolls
Puerto Rico, 8 rolls
Trinidad & Tobago, 2 rolls
Uruguay, 6 rolls
Venezuela, 3 rolls

2) Within each country, by subject:

Politics

Government

Socioeconomic conditions

Agriculture

Solidarity groups

Human & civil rights

Church & religion

 

3) Within each subject, chronologically:

From the 1960's to the 1980's.

Handbook of Rio de Janeiro

Handbook of Rio de Janeiro by the editors of the Rio news.

image of sequence 9

https://hdl.handle.net/2027/yale.39002014781687

Jornais Diversos

Jornais Operários

These rare titles are of great value to students of Brazilian labor history. 

Brazil Newspapers in Microfilm

Brazil Newspapers Digital Access

US Department of State Records

The U.S. State Department Records document U.S.-Latin American relations, mainly during the 19th and early 20th centuries.  

Most records fall into one of four categories: Consular Despatches, Decimal Files, Diplomatic Despatches, and Notes from Foreign Legations. Within each of these categories, organization is by country (or by city in the case of Consular Despatches). 

Some finding aids are available in the LACC Reading Room on the 3rd floor of Smathers East. 

To get more detailed information about each reel (summary of holdings, indexed items, subject headings, etc.): 

1. Go to https://eservices.archives.gov/orderonline/ 

2. Input the microfilm number (accessible from our document here). 

3. You will then be taken to a summary page where you will find a PDF option with the title "View Important Publication Details" in the top-right portion of the page under the heading "Publication Details." 

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.