It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
1929-1970. Raymond E. Crist was born October 11, 1904 in Seven Mile, Ohio. He received his B.A degree at the University of Cincinnati in 1925, attended Cornell University 1927-1928, and received his Docteur es Lettres (with honorable mention) from the University of Grenoble in July 1937. He was a Field Geologist in Mexico and Venezuela for the El Aguila and Atlantic Refining Companies from 1926-1931. From 1936-1942 he was an Instructor and Associate at the University of Illinois. He was an Associate Professor of Geography and Chief of the Department of Economic Geography from 1942-1947 and the University of Puerto Rico. From 1947-1951 he was a Professor Geography at the University of Maryland and from 1951 until his retirement he was a Research Professor at the University of Florida. During his teaching years he continued to conduct extensive field research in Venezuela, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Haiti, the Dominican Republic, Brazil, Mexico, Bolivia, and Puerto Rico. He wrote books and articles about his field work.
1891-1943. Writings, speeches, correspondence, subject files, reports and photographs of Peter Henry Rolfs, former Dean of the UF College of Agriculture (1915-1920), Director of the Florida Agricultural Experiment Station (1906-1920), and Director of the Escola Superior de Agricultura e Veterinaria, in Viscosa, Minas Gerais State, Brazil.
1938-1965. Manuscript lecture and research notes of social anthropologist, mostly relating to Brazil.Donald Pierson was Professor "Catedratico" of Sociology and Social Anthropology at the Escola de Sociologia e Política in São Paulo, Brazil, 1939-1959. He organized and directed the Dept. of Sociology and Anthropology there in the 1940s and also organized and served as Dean of the Graduate Division from 1943 to 1957. From 1945 to 1952, he directed, in collaboration with the Escola, the Brazilian section of the Institute of Social Anthropology of the Smithsonian. Through book donations from the American Library Association, the American Council of Learned Societies, and other institutions, Pierson helped arrange reading materials at the Escola that could support training in the social sciences until texts could be written or translated into Portuguese. At the request of the Director of the Escola, Helen Pierson taught English to the Escola's students for the first six years so that the library could be better utilized.
1952-1976. Manuscripts for three unpublished books on the social ecology of Latin America. Also of interest is a memorandum on agrarian reform in Brazil written in 1952 when Smith served as an advisor to the Brazilian government.
South American Digital Collections
Within the University of Florida Digital Collections, you can find the South American Collections. You can see some examples below.
This collection contains field notes, maps, drawings, correspondence, publications, and photographs of three research projects undertaken by Dr. Charles Wagley between 1937 and 1965. The Gurupa research project field notes are available in 16mm microfilm. Please see the case file for the guide created for these materials. The earliest research project documented in the collection took place in Guatemala in 1938. Very little is known about this project and the field notes are not sorted.
The gift of Ralph della Cava to the University of Florida Libraries consists of varied holdings on the social, religious and political history of the Brazilian Northeast. Among its more prized components and dimensions are hundreds of late 19th-century and early 20th-century archival and printed sources, many rare and unique, that deal with the life and times of Padre Cícero Romão Batista (1844-1934) and the popular religious movement he inspired. Among its more prized components and dimensions are hundreds of late 19th-century and early 20th-century archival and printed sources, many rare and unique, that deal with the life and times of Padre Cícero Romão Batista (1844-1934) and the popular religious movement he inspired.
The collection contains Rolfs' publications and unpublished papers, some written in collaboration with Clarissa Rolfs. Also included are photographs taken by the Rolfs, correspondence with Professor Rolfs and Clarissa Rolfs, and administrative reports written by Rolfs during his years in Brazil.