web
stats
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Native Struggle for Justice in the Spanish Empire: Journal Articles and Databases

This guide includes primary and secondary resources for the class "The Native Struggle for Justice in the Spanish Empire" (LAH4930).

LANIC: Web-based Resource Guides

LANIC Web-based Resource Guides are great subject area-specific lists of web-based resources on Latin America.  A great start for web-based resouces on the Economy, Education, Geography and Environment, Government, Humanities, Internet and Computing, Libraries and Reference, Media and Communication, Recreation, Science, Social Sciences, and Society and Culture. 

Early Journal & Open Access Content: Free Content on JSTOR

JSTOR has made journal content published before 1923 in the United States (and prior to 1870 elsewhere) available for free online. This “Early Journal Content” includes more than 500,000 public domain articles from more than 200 journals on the JSTOR platform.

Clase Periodica

ClasePeriodica is a searchable Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities. 

SciELO

Oxford Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies in Latin American Studies are annotated peer-reviewed bibliographies across many regional, temporal, and topical subject areas related to Latin America. They're a great resource for finding a research topic and finding recommended resources. 

Latin Americanist Research Resources Project LARRP

HAPI

hapi logo

The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) is your source for approximately 300,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.

HAPI currently provides over 100,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.

ProQuest

ProQuest LLC is an Ann Arbor, Michigan-based electronic publisher and microfilm publisher. It provides archives of sources such as newspapers, periodicals, dissertations, and aggregated databases of many types. Its content is estimated at 125 billion digital pages. Content is accessed most commonly through library internet gateways. Proquest includes different types of collections. The collections below, might be of use to you:

This database offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. For most titles, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. The database is an ongoing project and newspapers covered are subject to change.

Indexes information produced by or pertaining to the United States Congress from 1789 to the present. Provides full text for many titles, generally from the early 1990's to the present. Includes bills, laws, legislative histories, committee prints, House and Senate documents and reports, the Congressional Record, Code of Federal Regulations, and Federal Register. Includes full text of Congressional Research Service reports, 1916-present; full text of Congressional hearings, 1824-2003; full text of Committee Prints, 1830-2003; and full text of the Serial Set Collection with Maps, 1789-1969. For a complete description of contents, coverage, and update frequency, consult the online Help section.

"American Periodicals Series Online (APS Online) includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.

Where available, provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses. More than 750,000 dissertations are available as full-text.

"Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through the ProQuest database. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format"--About page.

A fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more. It combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, and the Black Literature Index.

An archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Particular subject strengths include: psychology, political science, literature, religion, business and economics, history, and sociology. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship beginning with volume one of a journal title. Formerly known as PCI Full Text, this database has minimal overlap with USF's JSTOR collections. Coverage is from 1665-1995.

Contains the most comprehensive collection of primary documents available. The database includes more than 43,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions.

Other Journals

Hispanic American Historical Review

Ethnohistory
Colonial Latin American Review
Latin American Indian Literatures Journal
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Periodicals -- PM;151;.L372 v.1(1985) - v.25(2009)

Dissertations & Theses

JSTOR: Latin American Studies

 JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources, providing access to a number of materials related to Latin American Studies.  

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.