Human Rights in Latin America: Digital Archives

La presente colección documental es fruto del trabajo de coordinación y cooperación académica realizado entre la Biblioteca de la Universidad de Princeton y la Biblioteca Central de la Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos. El archivo fue recopilado por el Sr. Gustavo Gorriti Ellenbogen en sus años de periodista de investigación del período de violencia política y comprende una vasta colección documental que abarca desde folletería política, volantes, recortes periodísticos, informes de organizaciones políticas, publicaciones periódicas, notas y documentación personal, libros y literatura de la época de finales del siglo XX.

El Repositorio de Documentación sobre Desapariciones en México, o RDDM, es una iniciativa de colaboración para reunirasegurar la documentación de derechos humanos relacionada con las desapariciones en México a partir de la Guerra contra el narcotráfico (2006 hasta el presente).

The Digital Archive of the Archivo Histórico de la Policía Nacional de Guatemala (Guatemalan National Police Historical Archive, or AHPN) aims to facilitate scholarly and legal research into a vast cache of historical documentation about Guatemalan history. This site currently includes around 20 million scanned images of documents from the AHPN, of an estimated 80 million total. This digital archive mirrors the structure and the arrangement of the physical archive that remains preserved in Guatemala as an important historical patrimony of the Guatemalan people. We hope this resource will serve to promote a better understanding of the social and political history of Guatemala and will facilitate the search for truth and respect for human rights in the region.

The GAM historical archive is an effort to rescue millions of documents which contain testimonies from the victims of humans rights violations during the Guatemalan Internal Armed Conflict. This archive looks to give virtual access to a collection of documents which narrate the events lived by the victims during this period. Our objective is to permit that the histories of the events are known from the testimonies of the families and that they contribute to the dignity and memory of the loved ones.

Humanizing Deportation is a community based digital storytelling project that documents the human consequences of contemporary regimes of migration and border control in the United States and Mexico. Since early 2017, with funding from various grants, and institutional sponsorships from both UC Davis and five Mexican partner institutions, our teams in six Mexican cities, California and Ecuador have offered a platform for migrants to share personal experiences regarding borders, migration and repatriation on our bilingual open access website. Community storytellers work with our academic teams to produce digital stories (testimonial audiovisual shorts) focusing on the issues they think need to be made known regarding contemporary experiences with border and migration control mechanisms. The archive demonstrates great breadth, bringing together stories of a range of profiles of migrants, as well as the great diversity of often devastating consequences of forced displacement. Our archive presently houses over 500 digital stories by over 400 different community storytellers. It is the world’s most robust public qualitative archive of its kind.

This web site features selections from his archives and from videotaped interviews with friends and colleagues conducted in 2006. It was developed by The Bernard and Audre Rapoport Center for Human Rights and Justice at The University of Texas School of Law. We have identified eight areas or themes that are illuminated by these papers——from George Lister's diplomatic style to his human rights legacy.
Lister's complete papers are housed at the Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection at The University of Texas at Austin. We are extremely grateful to the many people and institutions who supported this project.

This collection contains documents that were released by federal various agencies of the United States federal government to the University of Washington Center for Human Rights (UWCHR) as a result of Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) or Mandatory Declassification Review (MDR) requests submitted by UWCHR faculty, staff, and student researchers.

Es un programa del Memorial para la Concordia que trabaja con instituciones guatemaltecas que tratan temas de memoria histórica y derechos humanos, reunidas en Memoria Virtual Guatemala para dar a conocer el trabajo que hemos realizado sobre el Conflicto Armado Interno promoviendo el diálogo para el esclarecimiento histórico.

The countries of Central America's Northern Triangle (El Salvador, Guatemala, and Honduras) have seen a significant number of their citizens migrate to the United States. Immigrants from the Caribbean represent half of all Black immigrants in the United States. As such, the ties between these countries and their diasporas have taken on new importance, as has the integration of these immigrants in their country of settlement. Research here explores the demographics, migration flows, human-capital development, interconnected policy realities, and outcomes for immigrants from Central America and the Caribbean.

El COPINH es una organización social y política, de carácter indígena, sin fines de lucro, pluralista, amplia, solidaria y unitaria de la zona sur-occidental de Honduras con incidencia nacional. Es una instancia que facilita la reivindicación y reconocimiento de los derechos políticos, sociales, culturales y económicos, impulsando el mejoramiento de las condiciones de vida de los pueblos y comunidades indígenas Lencas y de Honduras. Es además, un espacio generador de debate y análisis constante de la coyuntura regional y nacional, que impulsa acciones y propuestas de manera permanente.