Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Human Rights in Latin America: Non-Digitized documents

Description

Non-Digitzed Documents available on the 2nd floor of Smathers Libraries

Cuba

Spessard L. Holland Papers

Personal and official political papers, dated 1913-1972, of former U.S. Senator and Florida Governor, Spessard Lindsey Holland. Ms 55. 

Senatorial Papers - 87th Congress 1st Session.

The first number is the box and the rest of the information is the folder name. 

145 State Department - Cuban Situation. January-February 1961​

145 State Department - Cuban Situation. May 1961​

145 State Department - Cuban Situation. June 1961​

145  State Department - Cuban Situation. July 1961​

145 State Department - Cuban Situation. September-October 1961​

Senatorial Papers - 87th Congress 2nd Session.

The first number is the box and the rest of the information is the folder name. 

152 State Department - Cuban Situation. January-February 1962​

152 State Department - Cuban Situation. April 1962​

152 State Department - Cuban Situation. May 1962​

152 State Department - Cuban Situation. June-August 1962​

152 State Department - Cuban Situation. September-October 1962​

152 State Department - Cuban Situation - Richard Drake. 1962

Senatorial Papers - 88th Congress 1st Session.​

The first number is the box and the rest of the information is the folder name. 

158 State Department - Cuban Situation. January-February 1963​

158 State Department - Cuban Situation. March-April 1963​

158 State Department - Cuban Situation. May 1963​

158 State Department - Cuban Situation. July 1963​

158 State Department - Cuban Situation. October-December 1963​

Senatorial Papers - 88th Congress 2nd Session.

The first number is the box and the rest of the information is the folder name. 

168 State Department - Cuban Situation. January-March 1964​

168 State Department - Cuban Situation. April-December 1964​

Senatorial Papers - 89th Congress 1st Session.​

The first number is the box and the rest of the information is the folder name. 

179 State Department - Cuban Refugees. 1965​

179 State Department - Cuban Situation. 1965​​

Senatorial Papers - 89th Congress 2nd Session.​

The first number is the box and the rest of the information is the folder name. 

183 State Department - Cuban Refugees. 1966​

183 State Department - Cuban Refugees. 1966​

183 State Department - Cuban Situation. 1966​

183 State Department - Cuban Situation. 1966​​

Senatorial Papers - 90th Congress 1st Session.​

The first number is the box and the rest of the information is the folder name. 

188 State Department - Cuban Situation. 1967​

George A. Smathers Papers

The papers of George A. Smathers (Democrat - Florida) documenting his service in the U.S. Senate. Ms 91.

Latin America and Cuba Materials 1936-1962.

The first number is the box and the rest of the information is the folder name. 

326 Communism in Latin America. 1959-1961​

326 Cuba - Castro - Communism. 1959-1961​

326 Cuba - Interpretations (Letters by Cuban exiles). 1961​

326 Guantanamo Bay. 1959-1961​

326 Latin American and US reactions to Cuban prisoners. 1962​

326 Trujillo - Roosevelt Letters. 1936-1960

Charles E. Bennett Papers

Congressional papers of U.S. Representative Charles E. Bennett from Florida. Ms 5.

Legislation Files 1944-1997.

The first number is the box and the rest of the information is the folder name. 

52 Foreign Affairs - Cuba.​

52 Foreign Affairs - Cuba. 1989​

52 Foreign Affairs - Cuba. 1992​

52 Foreign Affairs - Cuba (H.J. Res. 539, 86th Congress).​

52 Foreign Affairs - Cuba Resolution (H. Con. Res. 5. 87th Congress).​

52 Foreign Affairs - Guantanamo, Cuba. 1964​

D. Robert "Bob" Graham Political Papers

Records from the political career of D. Robert "Bob" Graham documenting his tenure as a Florida legislator, 1966-1978, and a United States Senator, 1987-2005. The collection also contains Graham's private papers and records from several commissions that Graham served on and also chronicles Graham's Workday experiences. Among the many record types, the collection contains correspondence, memoranda, press releases, speeches, articles, schedules and calendars, trip files, campaign materials, photographs and audiovisual materials. Major topics include education, environmental conservation, Florida economics, the savings and loan crisis, Everglades restoration, Hurricane Andrew, foreign affairs, and health care. Ms 148.

100th Congress (1987-1988).​

The first number is the box and the rest of the information is the folder name. 

150 Cuba - General.​

101st Congress (1989-1990).

The first number is the box and the rest of the information is the folder name. 

181 Cuba - Cuba and the United Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR).​

105th Congress (1997-1998).

The first number is the box and the rest of the information is the folder name. 

232 Cuba. (4 folders) ​​

Lawton Chiles Senate Collection

Lawton Chiles, Jr. (1930-1999) was a Democratic politician who served in the Florida state legislature and the U.S. Senate. He served three terms in the Senate before retiring. He later ran for and won the Florida Governor's seat where he served until his death. Chiles is most known for his work on government reform (Government in the Sunshine Act) and environmental concerns (Big Cypress National Preserve, phosphate mining in Osceola National Forest), as well as being a strong advocate for youth and the elderly. The Lawton Chiles Senate Collection documents his election to the U.S. Senate in 1970 and his subsequent 18 years in Congress. Records of his state legislative work and any positions after his retirement from the Senate are largely absent from this collection. MSS 0328.

Series 1: Numeric Subject Files. 1971-1988

The first number is the box and the rest of the information is the folder name. 

9     2: Cuba, Golden Shores File. 1974​

9     2: Cuban Situation. 1971​

9     2: Cuba-U.S. Special Interests Section. 1979​

10    2-39: Cuba, Committee on Human Rights. 1978​

10    2-43: Cuba, Political Prisoners. 1978-1980​

10    2-43: Cuba, Political Prisoners. 1982​

10    2-43: Cuba, Political Prisoners (3 folders). 1982-1987​

11     2-43: Cuba, Political Prisoners (general inquiry no specific names). 1983-1986​

11     2-58: Cuba, U.S. Prisoners in Cuba (2 folders). 1979-1981​

11     2-73: Cuba, Crises. 198

Other LA countries

Spessard L. Holland Papers

Personal and official political papers, dated 1913-1972, of former U.S. Senator and Florida Governor, Spessard Lindsey Holland. Ms 55. 

Senatorial Papers - 88th Congress 1st Session.​

The first number is the box and the rest of the information is the folder name. 

159 Justice Department - Gen. Marcos Perez Jimenez. 1962-1963

Senatorial Papers - 88th Congress 2nd Session.

The first number is the box and the rest of the information is the folder name. 

168 State Department - Cuban Situation. January-March 1964​

168 State Department - Cuban Situation. April-December 1964​

168 State Department - Haitian Situation. 1963-1964​

168 State Department - Panama Situation. January 1964​

168 State Department - Panama Situation. February 1964​

168 State Department - Panama Situation. March 1964

Senatorial Papers - 90th Congress 1st Session.​

The first number is the box and the rest of the information is the folder name. 

192 Legislation - Panama Canal. 1967​

192 Legislation - Panama Canal. 1967​

192 Legislation - Panama Canal - Form Letters. 1967​

George A. Smathers Papers

The papers of George A. Smathers (Democrat - Florida) documenting his service in the U.S. Senate. Ms 91.

Latin America and Cuba Materials 1936-1962.

The first number is the box and the rest of the information is the folder name. 

326 Communism in Latin America. 1959-1961​

326 Trujillo - Roosevelt Letters. 1936-1960

Charles E. Bennett Papers

Congressional papers of U.S. Representative Charles E. Bennett from Florida. Ms 5.

Legislation Files 1944-1997.

The first number is the box and the rest of the information is the folder name. 

52 Foreign Affairs - El Salvador.​

53 Foreign Affairs - Haiti. 1992​

54 Foreign Affairs - Nicaragua. 1989​

54 Foreign Affairs - Nicaragua. 1990

D. Robert "Bob" Graham Political Papers

Records from the political career of D. Robert "Bob" Graham documenting his tenure as a Florida legislator, 1966-1978, and a United States Senator, 1987-2005. The collection also contains Graham's private papers and records from several commissions that Graham served on and also chronicles Graham's Workday experiences. Among the many record types, the collection contains correspondence, memoranda, press releases, speeches, articles, schedules and calendars, trip files, campaign materials, photographs and audiovisual materials. Major topics include education, environmental conservation, Florida economics, the savings and loan crisis, Everglades restoration, Hurricane Andrew, foreign affairs, and health care. Ms 148.

100th Congress (1987-1988).​

The first number is the box and the rest of the information is the folder name. 

150 Haiti.​

150 Nicaragua.​

101st Congress (1989-1990).

The first number is the box and the rest of the information is the folder name. 

181 El Salvador - Military Assistance - General. (2 folders)​

181 El Salvador - Military Assistance - Amendment - McNeil Lehrer Newshour Appearance.​

181 El Salvador - Military Assistance - Amendment - Talking Points.​

182 El Salvador - Military Assistance - Congressional Record Inserts.​

182 El Salvador - Military Assistance - Dodd-Leahy Summary and Dear Colleague Letter.​

182 El Salvador - Military Assistance - El Salvador/ Frente Farabundo Marti de Liberacion Nacional (FMLN) Agreement.​

182 El Salvador - Military Assistance - Graham-McCain Dear Colleague Letter.​

182 El Salvador - Military Assistance - H.R. 5114, Foreign Operations Appropriations.​

182 El Salvador - Military Assistance - Interparty Electoral Agreement.​

182 El Salvador - Military Assistance - Negotiation Synapsis.​

182 Haiti Military Assistance.​

182 Nicaragua - General.​

182 Nicaragua - Economic Package.​

182 Nicaragua - Freedom House Meetings.​

182 Nicaragua - Human Rights Violations.​

182 Nicaragua - National Endowment for Democracy.​

182 Panama - General.​

182 Panama - 1989 Elections.​

182 Panama - Noriega Case.​

105th Congress (1997-1998).

The first number is the box and the rest of the information is the folder name. 

232 Argentina.

Lawton Chiles Senate Collection

Lawton Chiles, Jr. (1930-1999) was a Democratic politician who served in the Florida state legislature and the U.S. Senate. He served three terms in the Senate before retiring. He later ran for and won the Florida Governor's seat where he served until his death. Chiles is most known for his work on government reform (Government in the Sunshine Act) and environmental concerns (Big Cypress National Preserve, phosphate mining in Osceola National Forest), as well as being a strong advocate for youth and the elderly. The Lawton Chiles Senate Collection documents his election to the U.S. Senate in 1970 and his subsequent 18 years in Congress. Records of his state legislative work and any positions after his retirement from the Senate are largely absent from this collection. MSS 0328.

Series 1: Numeric Subject Files. 1971-1988

The first number is the box and the rest of the information is the folder name. 

9     2: Haitian Refugees. 1974​

10    2-40: Argentina, Political Prisoners. 1978-1979​

10     2-41: Bahamas, Poaching Arrests. 1978​

11     2-69: Uruguay, Human Rights. 1980​
Series 3: Staff files. 1971-1988.

The first number is the box and the rest of the information is the folder name. 

261 Argentina. 1971​

261 Bolivia. 1978​

261 Brazil. 1971​

261 Brazil Trip. 1971​

261 Chile Conference. 1974​

261 Chile. 1974​

262 Venezuela and Chiles. 1975​

262 Venezuela. 1975​

311 Foreign Relations, Chiles's Position Statements. 1973-1976​

311 Foreign Relations, Chiles's Remarks, Aide Memoire on Latin America, May 15. 1974
Series 6: Miscellaneous files. 1971-1988

The first number is the box and the rest of the information is the folder name. 

356 Travel, Latin American trip (Argentina). 1972​

357 Travel, Latin American trip (Brazil and Peru). 1971​

357 Travel, Latin American trip (Chile). 1972​

357 Travel, Latin American trip (Chile and Argentina), follow-up. 1973​

357 Travel, Latin American trip Travel, Latin American trip (Chile and Argentina), speeches, information, et cetera. 1972​

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.