Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Celebrating Cuba! Collaborative Digital Collections of Cuban Patrimony: Current Projects

Current Projects - UF

University of Florida

UF is coordinating collaborative digitization of Cuban serials:
  • Vida Habanera (Havaner Lebn) Collaboration with El Patronato, La Casa de la Comunidad Hebrea de Cuba
  • Carteles Collaboration with University of Miami, Florida International University, Institut Ibero-Amerikanisch

Current Projects - UCLA

University of California, Los Angeles

The Cuban Ephemera collection contains materials from partner organizations Instituto de Historia de Cuba and Cinemateca de Cuba as well as collections about Cuba held by UCLA Library. Materials include historical newspapers, Cuban designed movie posters, and tourism related ephemera. Part of the International Digitizing Ephemera Project (IDEP).
 
Collections include:
 
Cuban Partners:
  • Cinemateca de Cuba
  • Instituto de Historia de Cuba
  • Biblioteca Nacional de Cuba José Martí
  • Oficina del Historiador de la Ciudad de La Habana

BNJM Catalog Records in OCLC

Catalog Records of the Biblioteca Nacional de Cuba José Martí (BNJM) Now Accessible in OCLC

BNCJM logo


Over 135,450 catalog records from BNJM are now in OCLC WorldCat to enable global discovery, to facilitate the creation of a comprehensive bibliography of Cuban resources, and to assist efforts to identify unique BNJM holdings to prioritize for digitization.
Over 97,000 of the records contributed to date show BNJM as the source of the cataloging record. UF contributed the records to OCLC and established the new “BNCJM” holding library code as a sublibrary of UF. At some future time, when BNJM is able to become an OCLC member, these records will be transferred to and managed by the BNJM, but currently the records include the holding location, “University of Florida BNCJM.”
Interlibrary Loan is not available for these items, but the digital surrogates will become available for public access through these initiatives.
Discover BNJM holdings in WorldCat.org by searching BNCJM as the cataloging source: "cs=bncjm". 
Discover BNJM holdings in FirstSearch by searching BNCJM as the library "li:bncjm" or the cataloging source, as above. (Must have institutional log-in.)

What's New

Harvard University

Harvard University has received local funding to begin the digitization of the José Augusto Escoto Cuban history and literature collection and will be seeking additional funding to continue.
They are beginning with the Cuban history section, identified by Dr. Eduardo Torres Cuevas [Director, Biblioteca Nacional de Cuba José Martí] as the most important Cuban archive held outside of Cuba."

View digitized items

The Cuban American Dream

The Cuban American Dream

The Cuban American Dream explored the reasons behind the immigration of Cubans to Florida from the 16th to the 21st century, the pressure that such immigration brought to local and state governments, the reactions of Floridian communities to Cuban immigrants, the ways in which Cuban immigrants adapted to their new reality, and the contribution of Cuban immigration to Florida.

Curated by Margarita Vargas-Betancourt with assistance from Alexis Baldacci
Read the interpretive labels in English or Spanish
Further Resources

Upcoming Projects

Cuban-Jewish Ephemera

  • Jewish ephemera from the University of Miami, Cuban Heritage Collection
  • The Harvard Library Judaica Division is in the process of digitizing a large amount of Jewish ephemera which includes about 240 items from Cuba. Once the digitization is completed, they will be available in the Harvard Library images catalog HOLLIS Images.

University of Miami

University of Miami

The Cuban Heritage Collection collects, preserves, and provides access to primary and secondary sources of enduring historical, research, and artifactual value which relate to Cuba and the Cuban diaspora from colonial times to the present.  

Other projects

University of Minnesota, Rafael Tarrago

UofM is adding two Cuban titles to the Spanish American Political Texts (umedia.lib.umn.edu/taxonomy/term/818):

Manifiestase que el establecimiento y manejo de la Real Compania de la Habana (Havana, 1747) 

Informe de don Francisco de Arango al Sr. d. Rafael Gomez Roubaud (Havana, 1812).

There is already another Cuban imprint in that digital library: Rafael Montoro's Principios de moral e instruccion civica (Havana, 1902)

 

University of Illinois, Antonio Sotomayor

"As part of my Digital Library of Latin American and Caribbean Sports (DLLACS) http://guides.library.illinois.edu/sports/specialcollections, I would like to digitize a run of El Deporte, a Cuban sports magazine published by INDER between 1969 and 1992. I would digitize in-house and place the files on an in-house site in open access." Antonio is looking into copyright issues for this title.

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.