Skip to main content

African Studies: News, current events, historical newspapers

A guide to UF Libraries' research and teaching resources in African Studies. Feel free to let us know what would be useful to have included.

African newspapers and news coverage

UF users have access to several excellent current and back file newspaper databases by subscription, in addition to all current African newspapers available free to the public on the open web (see boxes below). For more specialized journalism resources, see the Journalism Guide and that guide's tab for Foreign Newspaper Collections and Ethnic Newspaper Collections. The Journalism Guide includes links to professional journalism organizations, some of which promote press rights, free speech rights, human rights and the interests of jailed or persecuted journalists around the world (David Shedden at the Poynter Institute provides a more complete listing on his Resource Center page). These may be important sources of research information.

LexisNexis Academic

  • Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications
  • Limit searches by news category, source, and date, and search within specific title

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

  • Full-page-images and article images from the New York Times(1851-2001), Wall Street Journal(1889-1987), Washington Post (1877-1988), Christian Science Monitor (1908-1991), and The Chicago Defender (1905-1975)

ProQuest National Newspapers

  • Coverage of 5 major U.S. newspapers, including The New York Times (1999 to date), Wall Street Journal (1982 to date), Washington Post (1987 to date), Los Angeles Times (1985 to date) and the Christian Science Monitor (1988 to date)

Access World News

  • Over 2,200 full-text newspapers and other news sources including many Florida newspapers (including the Miami Herald), the (12/12/79-Current), (1/1/85-Current), (1995-Current), and the (1/1/77-Current). Boston Globe Chicago TribuneNew York Times Washington Post

African Newspaper Collection

  • African Newspapers from the World Newspaper Archive in partnership with Readex and the Center for Research Libraries (most issues from before 1923). More than 40 nineteenth- and twentieth-century African newspapers. Featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

British newspaper archive

  • "The British Newspaper Archive is a partnership between the British Library and brightsolid online publishing to digitise up to 40 million newspaper pages from the British Library's vast collection over the next 10 years. "

Several individual African newspapers are available in microfilm format only: Daily Nation (Nairobi), Taifa Leo (Nairobi), Sunday Nation (Nairobi), Taifa Jumapili (Nairobi), Kenya Times (Nairobi), The Herald (Harare; Sunday issues only), South Africa Times UK (weekly), The East African (Dar es Salaam; also available via LexisNexis), Sunday News (Dar es Salaam), The Standard (Nairobi), The Monitor (Kampala), The New Vision (Kampala). Check the library catalog for details. A more complete index of African newspapers available on microfilm in US academic libraries is maintained by the Cooperative Africana Materials Project at the Center for Research Libraries (AFRINUL).

News digests and current awareness titles

For regions and publications without indexes to local and regional or national newspapers, especially where events are not covered by international sources, specialist news digests can assist research by providing access to specific dates, places and actors relating to the events of interest.

  • Africa Confidential Periodicals DT1.A2125 (1998-2006 available online via Blackwell-Synergy). Current issue online subscription pending Sept. 2011.
  • Africa Today Periodicals DT1 .A22 (1999-present available online via Project Muse).
  • African business Periodicals HC800 .A1 A35 ( 01/01/1994 to present in Academic OneFile).
  • The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) produces objective and timely analysis and forecasts of the political, economic and business environment in more than 180 countries. Access to individual Country Profile and Country Report print issues is available via catalog search (use the country name as title; Economist Intelligence Unit as author).
  • Jeune Afrique Periodicals AP27.J4 Print publication ceased 2006; archive available online.
  • Marchés tropicaux et Mediterranéens. Periodicals HC10 M3. Print publication ceased 2008; current web site available online.
  • Africa Research Bulletin: Political Series (1997-present available online via Blackwell-Synergy) Exeter, U.K.: Africa Research Ltd. 1985- Monthly Reference DT1 .A2283 
  • Africa Research Bulletin: Economic Series (1997-present available online via Blackwell-Synergy) Exeter, U.K.: Africa Research Ltd.1985- Monthly
    Reference HC 501 .A534

African Studies Librarian

Dan Reboussin's picture
Dan Reboussin
Contact:
200A Smathers Library

(352) 273-2642
Website / Blog Page

African current events web sites

Commercial & government news organizations

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.