Skip to main content

Classical Studies: Reference Materials

This will feature an array of research tools in Classics to support primarily the research of students and faculty at the University of Florida.

Research Guides

These are located in the Reference Area of Library West, unless indicated otherwise.

A bibliographical guide to classical studies.; Graham Whitaker. Hildesheim : New York : Olms-Weidmann, 1997- 4 vols.
PA74 .W441 1997

Classical scholarship: an annotated bibliography. Thomas P. Halton and Stella O'Leary. White Plains, NY: Kraus International, 1986.
DE59 .H34 1986

 

Classical studies: a guide to the reference literature. 2nd ed. Jenkins, Fred W. Englewood, Colo. : Libraries Unlimited, 2006.
PA91 .J461 2006

 

Letterature greca antica, bizantina e neoellenica. 1a ed. a cura di Marco Fantuzzi. Milano: Garvanti, 1989.
PA3059 L471 1989

Introduction to classical scholarship: a syllabus and bibliographical guide. Washington, D.C.: Catholic Universityof America Press, 1958, c1955.  Martin R. P. McGuire
PA51.M25 1958
   

Latin Language

Gildersleeve's Latin grammar. Wauconda, Ill. : Bolchazy-Carducci Publishers, c1997.
PA2087 .G5 1997. Library West 

 

Glossarium mediae et infimae latinitatis. Du Cange, Charles Du Fresne, et Sieur. Paris, Librairie des sciences et des arts, 1937-38
PA2889 .D8 1937

 

Oxford Latin dictionary. Oxford, London, Clarendon P., 1968-<1982>. v.
PA2365 .E5 O9

 

Stolz-Schmalz Lateinsche Grammatik; Laut- und Formenlehre, Syntax und Stylistik in 5. Aufl. vollig neu bearb. von Manu Leumann ... und Joh. Bapt. Hofmann ...
913.38 H236 ser .2 v.2 1928 Library West

 

Thesaurus linguae Latinae. Lipsiae, In aedibus B.G. Teubneri, 1900-
PA2361 .T4 Oversize
     TLL open-access PDF version

 

 

Greek Language

A Greek-English lexicon. Liddell, Henry George. A new ed. rev. and augm. throughout by Sir Henry Stuart Jones with the assistance of Roderick McKenzie and with the co-operation of many scholars. Oxford, At the Clarendon press <1925-40>
PA445.E5 L6 1925

Greek lexicon of the Roman and Byzantine periods. Sophocles, E. A. 3. unverand. Nachdr. Aufl. Hildesheim ; New York: George Olms, 1992, c1914
PA1125 .S661 1983

Dictionaries

Dictionary of ancient history. Cambridge, Mass., USA : Blackwell Reference, 1994.
DE5 .D53 1994

Dictionary of bibliographic abbreviations found in the scholarship of classical studies and related disciplines. Westport, Conn: Praeger, 2004.
PA99 .W44 2004

Dictionary of classical mythology, symbols, attributes, & associations. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio, c1982.
BL715 .B44 19

A dictionary of Greek and Roman biography and mythology by various writers ; edited by William Smith.. London ; New York : I.B. Tauris, 2007. 3 vols.
DE5 .D53 2007

Dictionary of Roman religion Lesley Adkins & Roy A. Adkins.
Published: New York : Facts on File, c1996.
BL798 .A35 1996

Lemprière's Classical dictionary of proper names mentioned in ancient authors writ large: with a chronological table. John Lemprière. Boston: Routledge & K. Paul, 1984.
DE5 .L564 1984

A Lexicon of Greek personal names. Oxford Clarendon Press ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1987-
CS2349 .L48 1987 Oversize

The names in Roman verse; a lexicon and reverse index of all proper names of history, mythology, and geography found in the classical Roman poets. Donald C. Swanson. Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1967.
PA2379 .S9

Oxford classical dictionary. Simon Hornblower and Antony Spawforth, eds. 3rd. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1996.
DE5 .09 1970

The Oxford Dictionary of Classical Myth and Religion, edited by Simon Price and Emily Kearn. New York: Oxford University Press, c2003. 
BL715 .O845 2003

Who was who in the Greek world, 776 BC-30 BC. Oxford : Phaidon, 1982.
DF208 .W48 1982b

Who's who in the Roman world; John Hazel.
London ; New York: Routledge, 2001.
DG203 .H39 2001

Who was who in the Roman world, 753 BC-AD 476. Ithaca, N.Y. : Cornell University Press, 1980
DG203 .W46

Encyclopedias

Enciclopedia dell'Arte Antica Classica e Orientale.  Roma: Istituto della Enciclopedia italiana, 1958-1966.
UF Architecture, Fine Arts Libr Reference N31 .E48
 

Encyclopedia of classical philosophy edited by Donald J. Zeyl ; associate editors, Daniel T. Devereux and Phillip K. Mitsis. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1997.
B163 .E53 1997

Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World. New York : Facts on File, c1995.
DF16 .S23 1995

An encyclopedia of the history of classical archaeology edited by Nancy Thomson de Grummond. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, c1996.
DE5 .E5 1996

Encyclopedia of the Roman Empire. New York : Facts on File, c1994.
DG270 .B86 1994

Enciclopedia virgiliana. Istituto della Enciclopedia italiana. Roma: Istituto della Enciclopedia italiana,c1984-c1985
PA6825 .A3 1984

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome. Michael Gagarin, editor in chief; Elaine Fantham, associate editor in chief.  New York: Oxford University Press, 2010
DE5. 095 2010

Brill's New Pauly : Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World. English .Boston: Brill, 2002-. 
DE5.N4813 2002
 
Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae (LIMC).  Zurich: Artemis, c1981-
UF Architecture/Fine Arts Libr Reference N7760 .L49 1981
 

Paulys Real-encyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft. Stuttgart: J.B. Metzler, 1894-
DE5 .P33

Thesaurus antiquitatum romanarum. Johannes Graevius. SMATHERS, Special Collections Rare Books (Non-Circulating) -- DE3.G7a;Oversize.  12 vols.  Index:  http://www.uflib.ufl.edu/spec/rarebook/graevius/graeviushome.htm  

 


 

History of Latin Literature

A history of Roman literature : from Livius Andronicus to Boethius : with special regard to its influence on world literature. Michael von Albrecht. New York : E.J. Brill, 1996.
PA6007 .A5513 1996 Library West

Latin literature. E. J. Kenney. The Cambridge history of classical literature, 2. Cambridge New York: Cambridge University Press, 1982.
PA6003 .L3. Library West

Latin literature : a history. Conte, Gian Biagio. Baltimore ; London : Johns Hopkins University Press, c1994.
PA6008 .C6613 1994 Library West

Roman History

Augustus to Nero : a sourcebook on Roman history, 31 BC-AD 68.
David C. Braund. London : Croom Helm, c1985.
DG277.5 .B73 1985b

From the Gracchi to Nero: a history of Rome from 133 B.C. to A.D. 68
5th ed. H.H. Scullard. London: New York: Methuen, 1982.
DG254 .S35 1982 Library West

A history of the Roman world : 753-146 BC. Scullard, H. H. 4th ed. New York:Methuen, 1980.
DG231 .S35 1980 Library West

History of the later Roman Empire from the death of Theodosius to the death ofJustinian. Bury, J. B. New York, Dover Publications <1958>.
Ebook (from ACLS Humanities E-Book)

Textual Criticism

Kenney, E. J. The classical text : aspects of editing in the age of the printed book . Berkeley: University of California Press, c1974.
880.8 C153s, v.44 Library West

Luck, Georg, "Textual criticism today." American Journal of Philology CII (1981): 164-194.

Reynolds, L. D. Scribes and scholars : a guide to the transmission of Greek and Latin literature. 3rd ed.Oxford :Clarendon Press ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1991.
PA47 .R4 1991 Library West

Texts and transmission : a survey of the Latin classics edited by L.D. Reynolds . Oxford : Clarendon Press, 1983.
PA6004 .T49 1983 Library West

Gazeteers

A guide to the ancient world : a dictionary of classical place names. Michael Grant. H.W. Wilson, 1986.
DE25 .G72 1986

Lexicon topographicum urbis Romae a cura di Eva Margareta Steinby. Roma : Quasar, c1993-
ARCH. and FINE ARTS ,Reference DG63 .L49 1993 

The New Century handbook of classical geography. New York: Appleton-Century-Crofts, <1972>.
DE25 .N48

A new topographical dictionary of ancient Rome. Richardson, Lawrence Baltimore : Johns Hopkins University Press, c1992. DG68 .R5 1992

Maps

Atlas of the Greek and Roman world in antiquity. N. G. L. Hammond. Park Ridge, N.J: Noyes Press, 1981.
G1033 .A84 1981. Marston Science, Map Library

Atlas of classical archaeology. New York : McGraw-Hill, c1977.
G1046.E15 A8 1977. Marston Science, Map Library

Barrington atlas of the Greek and Roman world edited by Richard J.A. Talbert, in collaboration with Roger S. Bagnall ... ; map editors, Mary E. Downs, M. Joann McDaniel ; and cartographic managers Janet E. Kelly,Jeannine M. Schonta, David F. Stong.Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, 2000.
Library West Reference Atlas Stand: G1033 .B3 2000  (CD is in Library West Reference Reserve); MAP LIBRARY, Atlases.

The Penguin historical atlas of Ancient Rome. London : Penguin, 1995
DG209 .S321 1995

CD ROMS

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.