Guides @ UF: Microfilm: Microfilm at LACC

Overview of LACC Microfilm

This guide will help researchers locate and utilize microform related to Latin America and the Caribbean in the Latin American and Caribbean Collection (LACC) at the University of Florida. The LACC holds over 50,000 items in microform, most of which are in microfilm format. Holdings include an extensive collection of newspapers, U.S. State Department Records, North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) archives, and topical pamphlets and records from a number of sources. Researchers may use our microfilm and microfiche readers located in our reading room on the 3rd floor of Smathers Library (Library East).

For more help with locating and utilizing our holdings of Latin American and Caribbean microfilm, please contact LACC staff at (352) 273-2745 or at lacref@uflib.ufl.edu

Collections available on the microfilm:

Newspapers on Microfilm

LACC microfilm newspapers by country
The document below is a guide to newspapers on microfilm held by the Latin American and Caribbean Collection (LACC) at the University of Florida. Organized by country, the document includes dates covered for each title and call numbers for locating these items.
Cuban Exile Newspapers
List of Cuban Exile Papers microfilmed by the University of Florida and University of Miami.
As part of the U.S. Newspapers Project, the University of Florida Libraries, in cooperation with the University of Miami Libraries, microfilmed some 125 newspaper titles published from the 1960's through the 1990's, dealing with Cuban and Cuban American issues.
Jornais Diversos
Brazilian Newspapers, AKN 3074.
Jornais Operários
List of microfilm holdings on Brazilian labor history.
These rare titles are of great value to students of Brazilian labor history.

Caribbean Newspaper Imaging Project (CNIP)
Funded by the Mellon Foundation, the Caribbean Newspaper Imaging Project Database is a searchable index of Diario de la Marina, Le Nouvelliste, and the Trinidad Guardian.

NACLA Archives

The NACLA Archive of Latin Americana is composed of ephemera and serials relating to socioeconomic and political conditions in Latin America from the 1960s through the 1980s.

The collection consists of 339 rolls of microfilm and is arranged by country and by subject, then chronologically internally. Subjects covered in politics, government, socioeconomic conditions, agriculture, solidarity groups, human & civil rights, and church and religion, though not all countries will have materials for each of these topics. Researchers will find a complete list of the country's content at the beginning of the first roll pertaining to each country. Thereafter, each box will carry a listing of contents and in all cases each file has an introductory frame indicating the contents.

To view NACLA Archives, ask for assistance at the LACC service desk on the 3rd floor of Smathers Library.

Country	# of rolls
Argentina	10
Bolivia	5
Brazil	6
Caribbean	5
Central America	16
Chile	50
Colombia	11
Costa Rica	5
Cuba	24
Dominican Republic	18
Ecuador	5
El Salvador	30
Grenada	2
Guatemala	21
Guayana	2
Haiti	2
Honduras	4
Jamaica	2
Latin America	47
Mexico	16
Nicaragua	20
Panama	4
Paraguay	2
Peru	7
Puerto Rico	8
Trinidad & Tobago	2
Uruguay	6
Venezuela	3

NACLA Archives Guide

Other microfilm resources

Bahamas Government Records
Finding aid for Bahamas Government Records on microfilm held by the LACC.
Bahamas Government Records on microfilm cover the period between 1700-1850 and include records of deeds, marriage registrations, wills, bills of sale, and other legal documents.

Chadwyck-Healy National Security Archive
- This link opens in a new window
Chadwyck-Healy National Security Archive Collections including the Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962; El Salvador: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977-1984; and Nicaragua: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1978-1990. Available through ProQuest.

Cuban-Haitian Task Force Records
This finding aid provides information on the microfilm from this task force which addresses immigration, crisis management, public policy, political science, Latin America and the Caribbean, and U.S. political history, Immigration during the Carter Administration: Records of the Cuban-Haitian Task Force provides documentation on an overlooked but interesting episode in American immigration and political history.
Institute of Commonwealth Studies
Institute of Commonwealth Studies - Political Party, Trade Union and Pressure Group Materials
Pamphlets from the Panama Canal Zone Library
Pamphlets from the Panama Canal Zone Library, microfilmed by the Library of Congress
US Department of State Records
The U.S. State Department Records document U.S.-Latin American relations, mainly during the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Most records fall into one of four categories: Consular Despatches, Decimal Files, Diplomatic Despatches, and Notes from Foreign Legations. Within each of these categories, organization is by country (or by city in the case of Consular Despatches).

To get more detailed information about each reel (summary of holdings, indexed items, subject headings, etc.):

1. Go to https://eservices.archives.gov/orderonline/

2. Input the microfilm number (accessible from our document here).

3. You will then be taken to a summary page where you will find a PDF option with the title "View Important Publication Details" in the top-right portion of the page under the heading "Publication Details."