Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FLARE POLICIES AND PROCEDURES: FLARE Special Collections

FLARE Special Collections

Items that are preserved in the FLARE Special Collections are rare, unique, fragile, or otherwise distinctive. All loaned special collections materials must be used in a borrowing library with a secure reading room monitored by special collections staff. As such, loan requests must be submitted via ILL by one of the libraries on the list of approved institutions with secure reading rooms. Items are not requestable via UBorrow. Libraries interested in being added to the list of approved institutions should contact SPECIAL@uflib.ufl.edu. For all other questions, please contact FLARE@uflib.ufl.edu.

Approved Institutions List

  • Florida A&M University        
  • Florida Atlantic University   
  • Florida Gulf Coast University              
  • Florida International University        
  • Florida State University        
  • University of Central Florida               
  • University of Florida              
  • University of Miami
  • University of North Florida 
  • University of South Florida 
  • University of West Florida

Handling Best Practices

Special collections require special handling and security precautions to ensure their preservation. The University of Florida Department of Special & Area Studies Collections requires these best practices for using and handling special collections:

  • Drinks (including water), food, gum, tobacco and e-cigarettes, etc., are not permitted at the table with special collections materials
  • Pens, highlighters, sticky notes, and similar items are not permitted at the table with special collection materials
  • Handle items gently and carefully, in a manner that avoids damage and excessive wear and tear
  • Wash hands before handling materials.Open books slowly to protect bindings
  • Do not bend back the covers or pages of books
  • Do not write on materials
  • Do not place materials on scanners or photocopiers without permission from the loaning institution
  • Do not remove items from the special collections materials (e.g., loose pages)

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.