Transfers are usually a very large number of items that require a mover. Transfers usually include a signed MOU and payment. The below procedures are used for transfers. FLVC is still working on an Alma workflow for non-UF SUS libraries. These procedures are not for Last Copies or Gap Fills. Please contact Tabatha Pursley if you are interested in a transfer, then use these procedures to prepare collections that you want to send to FLARE. See the procedures for your specific institution type below.
FLorida Academic REpository (FLARE) Transfer Procedures
UF Libraries
Updated: 8/4/2022
Please review the information below. If you would like to transfer material to the Florida Academic Repository (FLARE), please contact Tabatha Pursley, Shared Collections Coordinator.
1. Please make sure you are familiar with the FLARE Policies prior to preparing your transfer.
2. FLARE is a single copy repository. Libraries preparing materials for transfer must check in FLARE prior to packing to ensure that duplicates are not introduced into the repository. Please check the Library Catalog before deciding to ship materials to FLARE.
i. NOTE: At FLARE, we have items that are damaged in the repository and we are actively seeking replacements for them. You can contact Tabatha Pursley for a list of damaged items, or they can be identified in Alma by doing the following search:
3. Bibliographic records created for use in the Shared Collection must conform to the Cataloging Guidelines. Please review bibliographic records for compliance with these guidelines.
i. Each item sent to FLARE must have a barcode assigned to it by the originating library. It can be on the inside or outside of the volume or loose issue. FLARE staff prefers that a barcode be placed on the back cover in the top right corner. The barcode must link to an active item record in the online public access catalog of the originating library which contains correct volume and chronology data for the volume or loose issue. That item record must be associated with holdings and bibliographic records for the title.
ii. Every item sent to the facility must have an OCLC number in the MARC 035 field of the Bibliographic record.
iii. NOTE: If you have "send-to-FLARE" items that need to be cataloged, please send them to the appropriate cataloging unit first and they will send them to FLARE once cataloged.
4. Alma workflow:
i. In the item record in Alma, change the Permanent location field to to the 'FLARE-Processing (FLR)' Location listed under your Library [e.g. UF HEALTH SCIENCE CENTER LIBR: FLARE-Processing (FLR)].
a) This makes it so that the item does not show up in Primo until it is trayed at FLARE.
b) Once trayed, the Permanent location changes to FLARE in Alma and the item is made available in Primo. This is done via an API between our inventory control software (CaiaSoft) and Alma.
c) The API also adds a note to an internal note field in the item record indicating the originating library [eg. "from Library UFSCI from Location FLR CAIASOFT Accession on 2021-08-04"].
d) If you're only sending part of a journal run, please be sure to edit your holdings for what you are keeping.
Note: Small transfers will go directly into the queue to get trayed and shelved, but large transfers will not. The processing timeline for large transfers depends on several factors. Please let Tabatha Pursley know if you think your material needs to be prioritized for processing. We will do our best to accommodate these requests.
5. Send a list of what you are sending to FLARE including OCLC number and title to the Catalog Problems mailbox catproblems@ufl.edu so that they can remove the UF LHRs from OCLC WorldCat.
6. Preparing your transfer for shipment.
Box or mail bin transfer:
i. If you are sending under 25 bins or boxes, your transfer can be sent out to FLARE via Libraries Facilities without scheduling in advance.
a. Please label all bins/boxes with the following information:
To: ALF/FLARE STR - Team Tray | From: Your library/branch
ii. If you have one or more pallets to transfer, please schedule with Tabatha Pursley.
iii. Please limit each box or bin to a maximum weight of 65 lbs.
iv. If a freight company will be used to transfer a large amount of material, please palletize your boxes on 48” by 42”W pallets stacked 4 layers high. A guide to palletizing by Viceroy Marketing can be found here.
v. The pallet and boxes need to be wrapped in pallet wrap. This YouTube video shows the proper way to wrap a pallet. Pallet wrap and wrap dispensers are available where you purchase boxes. If further information is needed regarding proper palletization techniques, please feel free to contact Tabatha Pursley.
Shelf-to-shelf transfer (for large transfers):
i. Depending on shelving space, FLARE may be able to accommodate a shelf-to-shelf transfer. This must be approved in advance.
FLorida Academic REpository (FLARE) Transfer Procedures
Updated: 8/1/2022
NOTE: If you are sending Gap Fills or items as part of the Last Copy program, please got to the appropriate tab. These Transfer Procedures DO NOT pertain to Last Copy items or Gap Fills.
Please review the information below. If you would like to transfer material to the Florida Academic Repository (FLARE), please contact Tabatha Pursley, Shared Collections Coordinator.
1. Please make sure you are familiar with the FLARE Policies prior to preparing your transfer.
2. FLARE is a single copy repository. Libraries preparing materials for transfer must check in FLARE prior to packing to ensure that duplicates are not introduced into the repository. Please check the Primo online catalog before deciding to ship materials to FLARE.
3. Bibliographic records created for use in the Shared Collection must conform to the Cataloging Guidelines. Please review bibliographic records for compliance with these guidelines.
i. Each item sent to FLARE must have a barcode assigned to it by the originating library. It can be on the inside or outside of the volume or loose issue. FLARE staff prefers that a barcode be placed on the back cover in the top right corner. The barcode must link to an active item record in the online public access catalog of the originating library which contains correct volume and chronology data for the volume or loose issue. That item record must be associated with holdings and bibliographic records for the title.
ii. Every item sent to the facility must have an OCLC number in the MARC 035 field of the Bibliographic record. The originating library must remove its local symbol from OCLC for titles being shipped prior to transfer of the materials to the facility. Upon complete processing of the volumes into FLARE, the FLARE OCLC symbol will be added to the titles in OCLC via an automated process.
4. Preparing your transfer for shipment.
Shelf-to-shelf transfer:
i. Depending on shelving space, FLARE may be able to accommodate a shelf-to-shelf transfer. Please check with Tabatha Pursley prior to preparing your materials to see whether or not this is an option for you.
Box transfer:
i. Pack volumes spine down in sturdy cardboard boxes. Please try to use boxes meeting the following standards:
a. Dimensions of 16” X 12” by 12” (1.33 cubic foot) or 18 by 12” by 12” (1.5 cubic foot).
b. Burst strength recommendations are 175 to 200 lbs or an Edge Crush Test (ECT) rating of 29 or 32.
http://www.cardboardboxes.ca/boxfaqs.php
ii. Please limit each box to a maximum weight of 65 lbs.
iii. Please note that boxes will not be returned.
iv. If a freight company will be used to transfer a large amount of materials, please palletize your boxes on 48” by 42”W pallets stacked 4 layers high. A guide to palletizing by Viceroy Marketing can be found here.
v. The pallet and boxes need to be wrapped in pallet wrap. This YouTube video shows the proper way to wrap a pallet. Pallet wrap and wrap dispensers are available where you purchase boxes. If further information is needed regarding proper palletization techniques, please feel free to contact Tabatha Pursley.
5. NEW: FLVC Alma procedures for transferring to FLARE
Please send material to:
Interim Library Facility
c/o FLARE
4040 NE 49th Ave
Gainesville, FL 32609
FLorida Academic REpository (FLARE) Transfer Procedures
Updated: 8/5/2021
NOTE: If you are sending Gap Fills or items as part of the Last Copy program, please got to the appropriate tab. These Transfer Procedures DO NOT pertain to Last Copy items or Gap Fills.
Please review the information below. If you would like to transfer material to the Florida Academic Repository (FLARE), please contact Tabatha Pursley, Shared Collections Coordinator.
1. Please make sure you are familiar with the FLARE Policies prior to preparing your transfer.
2. FLARE is a single copy repository. Libraries preparing materials for transfer must check in FLARE prior to packing to ensure that duplicates are not introduced into the repository. Please check the UF online catalog before deciding to ship materials to FLARE.
3. Preparing your transfer for shipment.
Shelf-to-shelf transfer:
i. Depending on shelving space, FLARE may be able to accommodate a shelf-to-shelf transfer. Please check with Tabatha Pursley prior to preparing your materials to see whether or not this is an option for you.
Box transfer:
i. Pack volumes spine down in sturdy cardboard boxes. Please try to use boxes meeting the following standards:
a. Dimensions of 16” X 12” by 12” (1.33 cubic foot) or 18 by 12” by 12” (1.5 cubic foot).
b. Burst strength recommendations are 175 to 200 lbs or an Edge Crush Test (ECT) rating of 29 or 32.
http://www.cardboardboxes.ca/boxfaqs.php
ii. Please limit each box to a maximum weight of 65 lbs.
iii. Please note that boxes will not be returned.
iv. If a freight company will be used to transfer a large amount of materials, please palletize your boxes on 48” by 42”W pallets stacked 4 layers high. A guide to palletizing by Viceroy Marketing can be found here.
v. The pallet and boxes need to be wrapped in pallet wrap. This YouTube video shows the proper way to wrap a pallet. Pallet wrap and wrap dispensers are available where you purchase boxes. If further information is needed regarding proper palletization techniques, please feel free to contact Tabatha Pursley.
Please send material to:
Interim Library Facility
c/o FLARE
4040 NE 49th Ave
Gainesville, FL 32609
|
