All academic libraries in Florida are granted the right to deposit last copies of monographs, serials, and government documents being withdrawn from their collections into FLARE for preservation. The individual policies, procedures, and donation letters are available below.
Once you have identified material as last/scare copies, you can go ahead and send them with the appropriate Last Copy Donation Letter. You do not need to check with us first.
Please be sure to identify whether a given title is a government document, a monograph, or a serial and ensure that the appropriate letters are filled out and sent either electronically or along with the shipment.
General Policy and Procedures for Libraries Transferring a Last Monograph Copy For Inclusion in FLARE Collection
Approved by CSUL on March 7, 2013
Last Monograph Copy Policy:
1. This policy acknowledges the value of retaining at least one copy of each unique monograph in the state as part of a preservation program.
2. This policy supports the preservation of unique monographs held in Florida academic libraries.
3. All academic libraries in Florida are granted the right to deposit last copies of monographs being withdrawn from their collections in FLARE for preservation.
Under the Last Monograph Copy policy, the following general procedures apply:
4. In the normal course of withdrawing monographic material, libraries are encouraged to make a determination if the copy to be withdrawn is the last copy held by an academic library in Florida by checking WorldCat. If the title is the last copy, these materials should be sent to FLARE.
5. Each shipment should be accompanied by completion of the Last Monograph Copy Donation Letter, located at the bottom of this page, acknowledging transfer of ownership to FLARE, which is operated by the University of Florida on behalf of academic libraries in Florida.
6. It is the responsibility of the library transferring the material to FLARE to update its own ILS and OCLC holdings.
7. Titles donated to FLARE may still count as volumes in your general volume count. Determination of the best method for capturing that information is the responsibility of the donating library.
8. Please send the volume to:
Interim Library Facility
c/o FLARE Last Copy Program
4040 NE 49th Ave Gainesville, FL 32609
General Policy and Procedures for Libraries Transferring a Last Serial Copy for Inclusion in the FLARE Collection
Approved by CSUL on December 7, 2015
Last Serial Copy Policy:
1. This policy acknowledges the value of retaining at least one copy of each unique serial in the state as part of a preservation program.
2. This policy supports the preservation of unique serials held in Florida academic libraries.
3. All academic libraries in Florida are granted the right to deposit last copies of serials being withdrawn from their collections in FLARE for preservation.
Under the Last Serial Copy policy, the following general procedures apply:
4. In the normal course of withdrawing serial material, libraries are encouraged to make a determination if the copy to be withdrawn is the last copy held by an academic library in Florida by checking WorldCat. If the title is the last copy, these materials should be sent to FLARE.
5. Each shipment should be accompanied by completion of the Last Serial Copy Donation Letter, located at the bottom of this page, acknowledging transfer of ownership to FLARE, which is operated by the University of Florida on behalf of academic libraries in Florida.
6. It is the responsibility of the library transferring the material to FLARE to update its own ILS and OCLC holdings.
7. Titles donated to FLARE may still count as volumes in your general volume count. Determination of the best method for capturing that information is the responsibility of the donating library.
8. Please send the volume(s) to:
Interim Library Facility
c/o FLARE Last Copy Program
4040 NE 49th Ave Gainesville, FL 32609
General Policy and Procedures for Libraries Transferring a Last Government Document for Inclusion in the FLARE Collection
Approved by CSUL, June 6, 2014
Last Gov. Doc. Copy Policy:
1. FLARE (FLorida Academic REpository) is a statewide shared collection hosted by University of Florida (UF) on behalf of academic libraries in Florida.
2. This policy supports the preservation of unique government documents held in Florida academic libraries and selective depositories (including Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands).
3. This policy acknowledges the value of retaining at least one copy of each unique government document in the state as part of a preservation program. Therefore, all academic libraries and selective depositories in Florida (including Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands) are granted the right to deposit last copies of government documents being withdrawn from their collections in FLARE for preservation.
Under the Last Gov. Doc. Copy policy, the following general procedures apply:
4. In the normal course of withdrawing material, libraries are encouraged to make a determination if the copy to be withdrawn is the last copy held by an academic library in Florida by checking WorldCat. If the title is the last copy, these materials should be sent to FLARE.
5. Each shipment should be accompanied by completion of the Last Gov. Doc. Copy Donation Letter, located at the bottom of this page, acknowledging transfer of ownership to FLARE, which is operated by the University of Florida on behalf of academic libraries in Florida.
6. It is the responsibility of the library transferring the material to FLARE to update its own ILS and OCLC holdings.
7. Titles donated to FLARE may still count as volumes in your general volume count. Determination of the best method for capturing that information is the responsibility of the donating library.
8. Please send items to:
Auxiliary Library Facility
c/o FLARE Last Gov. Doc. Copy Program
2715 NE 39th Ave Gainesville, FL 32609
|
