Transferring items to the UF Secure Storage Collection (UF Only)
Cataloging work needs to be done prior to sending to Storage. This can be done in house, or the items can be sent to RDS. RDS has instructions on how to process UF Only items.
- Add the item to an existing UFSTO holding, if present, and change the location code to UFO; or create a UFSTO UFO holding
- Use Item Policy 90 In-Library Use
- Add the following 852 z note: Available for use in Special Collections Grand Reading Room only.
- Add any 852 x or z notes to the HOL to identify the collection or let RDS know what notes you would like here
- This is the only way to indicate where the items came from/what collection they are from.
- This is a searchable field in Alma so you can run reports on your collections.
- Example: Judaica, MSL, LACC, Rare Books, Name of donor, other unique identifier.
- More than one x or z note can be added if more levels of distinction are needed (e.g. $x LACC, $x El Colombiano. The main thing is to be consistent with the wording so that Alma brings back everything in a search. For example, if you use LACC in some records and Latin American Collection in others, those will not come up in the same search.
- Send Special Collections items with standard Special Collections processing (e.g., barcode and call number on strip); other items should be sent fully processed (call number label, tattletape, UF stamp)
- Place item(s) in a mail bin and label as follows:
To: ALF |Team Tray
UFO Collection
From: Name of library branch
These items can only be used in the Grand Reading Room. When a patron locates a UF Only item in Primo, the only pick up location available is the Grand Reading Room. The patron will be notified once the item has been checked in at the Grand Reading Room.
