Skip to main content

African Studies: Indexes and bibliographies

A guide to UF Libraries' research and teaching resources in African Studies. Feel free to let us know what would be useful to have included.

Indexes and bibliographies

Africa Bibliography. Manchester, England: Manchester University Press. 1985- . LW Ref: Z 3501 .A37
Emphasis on British publications, includes periodicals, monographs of collected essays, books. Articles selected from sub-Saharan Africa journals, the U.S. and European continent. Comprehensive database from 1985-present can be searched online since 2011.

Africa south of the Sahara, index to periodical literature, 1900-1970 and supplements through 1976. Library of Congress. African Section. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1971. LW Ref (Oversize): Z 3503.U47
75 years of published articles on Sub-Saharan Africa, an important and massive "database" yet to be computerized. Geographical arrangement with classified subject entries. Excellent ethnic linguistic resource.

African Index Medicus. Brazzaville, Republic of the Congo: WHO Regional Office, Africa; Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa, 1993-2000. LW Ref: R652 .A37

African Journals OnLine (AJOL). International Network for the Availability of Scientific Publications.
"AJOL aims to provide access to all scholarly journals published in Africa. Titles from South Africa and Francophone Africa are being added, as well as many more from the rest of Africa." Article titles and abstracts are searchable online, with a full text document delivery service available (free to scholars in certain countries).

African Research & Documentation. Birmingham: African Studies Association of the UK. 1973 - . LW Ref: DT 19.8 .A35
Excellent subject bibliographies and bibliographic essays on African topics. Includes reviews of archives/manuscript collections worldwide specializing in Africana. Online access from 2006-current.

African Studies Abstracts: the abstracts of the African Studies Centre, Leiden. London: Hans Zell, 1994- . LW Ref: DT 1 L37
Abstracts to leading journals in African studies with some 230 in number with one-half in English. Includes edited works, 1,800 titles annually. Recent issues available online.

Anthropology Plus. Dublin, Ohio: OCLC.
Combines two important indexes, Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute, UK via the FirstSearch interface. Both of these print indexes are available in LW Reference. An excellent search guide, tip sheets and source for detailed information is available: Harvard Tozzer Library's guide to Anthropological Literature.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Major online-only resource provides full text resources for international affairs. Includes working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, maps/country data and economic indicators--a valuable resource for current U.S. policy toward Africa.

Current Bibliography on African Affairs. Farmingdale, N.Y.: Baywood Publishing Co. Published for the African Bibliographic Center. 1968- . London: International African Institute. 1971- LW Ref: Z3501.C87
Excellent index including journal article listings with relevant subject headings. Monographic section has collected essay resources that are indexed individually. Strength is British and European sources. Online from 2016 via SAGE Journals.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is not an index, but it does link to over 1,100 full-text online journals for browsing and searching. All titles have not yet been added to the library catalog, but are listed in the Journal Locator).

Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest). "PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image."

EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit)
Global economic and political developments. Includes daily updates with full text analyses in ViewsWire. Online Country Reports provide monthly or quarterly analysis of politics & economics.

Historical Abstracts Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-Clio, 1955-2002 print volumes LW Ref: D299 .H5
Largest online index to articles dealing with African history been published since the 1950s. Online only from 2002- . Worldwide coverage with evaluative abstracts. Good source for African history and politics. For Diaspora and African-American published articles, see the companion database: America: History and Life.

Index Islamicus. Leiden, The Netherlands: Brill Academic Publishers. LW Ref: Z7835.M6L612 [Available online via EBSCOhost]
An international bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. It covers their history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literature. The file contains indexing for over 3,400 titles with coverage dating back to 1906.

International Development Abstracts. Norwich: Geo Abstracts. 1982-2002. LW Ref: HC 59.69 .I57
Was the best academic source for identifying resources on African development studies during this time period. Excellent, detailed abstracts selected from worldwide database. Includes agriculture and rural development, environment and development, finance, demography, regional planning, migration, refugees, food supply, and health.

International Political Science Abstracts. International Political Science Association. Oxford: Basil Blackwell. 1951 - . LW Ref. JA 36 .I5
Excellent source with worldwide published coverage of articles for African politics and democracy, state formation. Regional coverage and relations between African states. 900 journals indexed.

Maps of Africa to 1900: a checklist of maps in atlases and geographical journals in the collections of the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. Bassett, Thomas J. Urbana: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Graduate School of Library and Information Science, 2000. LW Ref. GA1341.B37 2000 (see also LW & Maps)

PAIS International. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-Clio, Public Affairs Information Service. 1915- LW Ref.: Z7163.P922
Over 449,00 entries online since 1972 (print under previous titles covers from 1915, with African coverage only later in this range of years). Access to selected books, articles, government documents, chapter essays, and statistical sources broadly relating to public affairs. Many citations include abstracts. Best database for African politics and applied economics.

Periodicals Index Online Ann Arbor, Mich.: ProQuest
A massive online-only electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences from their first issues to present. Includes over 10 million articles in over 3,100 journals. Important for Africana finding items in lesser known and older journals. Important for history, anthropology, and linguistics.

PolicyFile. Alexandria, VA: Chadwyck-Healey
Full text online-only database, updated weekly with public policy resource documents including Africa. Includes research from more than 330 research organizations and advocacy groups. Over half of PolicyFile abstracts include links to full text policy research reports and studies.

Quarterly Index to Periodical Literature, Eastern and Southern Africa. 1991- . Library of Congress Office, Nairobi, Kenya.  LW Ref: Z3508 Q38
The only continuing index for journal articles published in Africa from African sources. UF Libraries has a good complement of resources indexed providing a balance of comment to U.S., British, and West European continental index sources.

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.