Guides @ UF: African Studies: Key resources

Selected reference titles

African studies companion: a guide to information sources by Zell, Hans M.
Call Number: LIBRARY WEST: Reference (3rd Floor) -- DT19.8.Z45 2006
ISBN: 0954102924
The 4th edition of the African Studies Companion: A Guide to Information Sources is located in Reference and available online.
"A compact, time saving guide to print and electronic information sources, databases, and repositories providing easy access to a wide range of information in the African studies field."
Africa South of the Sahara by Europa Publications, Ltd.
Call Number: LIBRARY WEST: Reference (3rd Floor) -- DT351.A37
ISBN: 1857431839
Available oneline in the most recent edition, the premiere general resource for current, detailed information on African countries. One of the best starting points for regional and country-specific topics in college level research. Updated annually, includes current contact information for government agencies, NGOs, press outlets, religious organizations, etc. Articles signed by authors.
Countries and their cultures by Melvin Ember and Carol R. Ember
Call Number: Library West Ref. GN307 .C68 2001
ISBN: 0028658965
Countries and their cultures. Melvin Ember and Carol R. Ember, editors. New York : Macmillan Reference USA, c2001.
Reference guide to Africa a bibliography of sources by Alfred Kagan and Yvette Scheven
Call Number: LIBRARY WEST: Reference (3rd Floor) -- Z3501.K15 1998
ISBN: 0810835851

Columbia University's African Studies WWW-Virtual Library
For more than 22 years, Yuusuf S. Caruso, African Studies Librarian at Columbia University has curated and edited the African Studies WWW-Virtual Library, a 270-page, comprehensive guide to African Studies Internet Resources.

Frequently used resources

Africa South of the Sahara: Selected Internet Resources
Prepared by Karen Fung for the Information and Communication Technology Group (ICTG), African Studies Association, USA.
Africa Water Atlas
2010. United Nations Environment Programme
Hardcover: 314 pages; ISBN: 9789280731101
This Atlas is a visual account of Africa's endowment and use of water resources, revealed through 224 maps and 104 satellite images as well as some 500 graphics and hundreds of compelling photos.
more...less...
However the Atlas is more than a collection of static maps and images accompanied by informative facts and figures: its visual elements vividly illustrate a succinct narrative describing and analyzing Africa's water issues and exemplifying them through the judicious use of case studies. It gathers information about water in Africa and its role in the economy and development, health, food security, transboundary cooperation, capacity building and environmental change into one comprehensive and accessible volume. UNEP undertook the production of this Atlas at the request of the African Ministers' Council on Water (AMCOW) and in cooperation with the African Union, European Union, US Department of State, United States Geological Survey and other collaborators.
BBC News | Africa
International news stories relating to Africa from the BBC.
Center for African Studies
The University of Florida Center for African Area Studies.
Cooperative Africana Materials Project (CAMP)
Founded in 1963, CAMP is a joint effort by research libraries to promote the preservation of publications and archives of Africa.
more...less...
CAMP acquires expensive microform (and digital data) sets and authorizes original filming of unique research materials in North America, Africa, and Europe. CAMP collects microform copies of such material as:

* selected newspapers, including titles received on current subscriptions
* journals
* government publications
* personal and corporate archives
* personal papers of historians, journalists, anthropologists, geographers, and government leaders
* writings in English, French, Portuguese, Spanish, German, and other European languages as well as works in Swahili, Xhosa, Zulu, and other African languages.

Cultural heritage and the Law: Protecting immovable heritage in English-speaking countries of sub-Saharan Africa. Ndoro, Webber, Albert Mumma, and George Abungu (eds.). 2008. ICCROM Conservation Studies, 8. Rome: International Centre for the Study of the Preservation and Restoration of Cultural Property (ICCROM).

Electronic Newspapers of Africa
Compiled by Columbia University Libraries, this list of online newspapers (available without subscription) is part of a larger, on-going effort -- AFRINUL--"a union list" of African newspapers held by research libraries in North America.

Anthropology Resource Library This link opens in a new window
A visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture, online in streaming video. A comprehensive online resource for the visual study of human culture and behavior and the largest, most affordable streaming video collection of its kind, Ethnographic Video Online will contain more than 750 hours of classic and contemporary documentaries produced by leading video producers in the discipline; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. Wherever possible, videos include accompanying field notes, liner notes, filmmaker biographies, related articles, study guides, and other context-enhancing, full-text materials. Publishing partners include the leading video content providers in the discipline, including Documentary Educational Resources (DER).

H-Africa website and topical discussion list
H-Africa encourages discussion of Africa's history, culture, and African studies generally. Africanists of all disciplines are encouraged to subscribe.
International Mission Photography Archive
Offers historical images from Protestant and Catholic missionary collections in Britain, Norway, Germany, and the United States. The photographs, which range in time from the middle of the nineteenth to the middle of the twentieth century, offer a visual record of missionary activities and experiences in Africa, China, Madagascar, India, Papua-New Guinea, and the Caribbean.
more...less...
The photographs reveal the physical influence of missions, visible in mission compounds, churches, and school buildings, as well as the cultural impact of mission teaching, religious practices, and Western technology and fashions. Indigenous peoples' responses to missions and the emergence of indigenous churches are represented, as are views of landscapes, cities, and towns before and in the early stages of modern development.
WorldCat
WorldCat database of academic library catalogs

Newly acquired (2023):

Africa Commons: Black South African Magazines with over 50,000 pages of historically significant magazines, written and targeted specifically for Black African audiences. Developed in partnership with South African based Sabinet, the materials were sourced from African libraries.
Africa Commons: Southern African Films and Documentaries : includes newsreels from South Africa’s Information Service and African Mirror, the world’s longest running commercial newsreel; exclusive interviews from 1980s feature writers, journalists, and activists discussing firsthand accounts of censorship and apartheid; and feature films and documentaries including Zonk! (1950) , In Darkest Hollywood (1993) and Side by Side: Women Against AIDS in Zimbabwe (1997).
Africa Commons: History and Culture Indexed access to cultural artifacts from hundreds of collections and organizations for teaching and scholarship. Access to more than 400,000 digital cultural artifacts from more than 4,000 collections around the world. Search and find books, magazines, comics, photographs, maps, letters, diaries, and other content in seconds.
Policy Commons: Global Think Tanks indexes and links to more than 3.4 million reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a curated directory of more than 24,000 think tanks, including IGOs, NGOs, and research centers.

African Blue Books, 1821-1953 This link opens in a new window
Blue Books are annual reports of the British colonies in Africa. Colonial regulations issued in 1843 state: The Annual Blue Book containing accounts of the Civil Establishment, of the Colonial Revenue and Expenditure and of various statistical particulars, etc. ... must be filled up with the greatest possible accuracy and the Statistical Tables must be full and complete.
Colonial Law in Africa, 1808-1919 This link opens in a new window
Colonial Law in Africa, 1920-1945 This link opens in a new window
Colonial Law in Africa, 1946-1966 This link opens in a new window

Journals, indexes & full-text resources

See also: Humanities Resources for African Studies (many of which aren't specific to Africa).

African Blue Books, 1821-1953 This link opens in a new window
Blue Books are annual reports of the British colonies in Africa. Colonial regulations issued in 1843 state: The Annual Blue Book containing accounts of the Civil Establishment, of the Colonial Revenue and Expenditure and of various statistical particulars, etc. ... must be filled up with the greatest possible accuracy and the Statistical Tables must be full and complete.
Anthropology Resource Library This link opens in a new window
Provides the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior – more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more. This first release includes 404 videos totaling roughly 270 hours.

Africa Bibliography
An authoritative guide to works in African studies published under the auspices of the International African Institute annually since 1984. This the online consolidated version brings together every record collected since the bibliography's foundation, producing a rich and interactive resource for all scholars interested in the study of Africa.
Africa Confidential
News digest with current reporting focused on political and economic events.
Africana Conference Paper Index
The Africana Conference Paper Index is an index to the individual papers -- in western European languages -- of the conference proceedings held by Northwestern's Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies. The file is updated daily.
African Conflict and Peacebuilding Review
2011 (Vol. 1) -
ACPR is a joint publication of the Africa Peace and Conflict Network, the West African Research Association, and Indiana University Press. E-ISSN: 21567263
more...less...
African Conflict and Peacebuilding Review (ACPR) is an interdisciplinary forum for creative and rigorous studies of conflict and peace in Africa and for discussions between scholars, practitioners, and public intellectuals in Africa, the United States, and other parts of the world. It includes a wide range of theoretical, methodological, and empirical perspectives on the causes of conflicts and peace processes including, among others, cultural practices relating to conflict resolution and peacebuilding, legal and political conflict preventative measures, and the intersection of international, regional, and local interests and conceptions of conflict and peace. ACPR is a joint publication of the Africa Peace and Conflict Network, the West African Research Association, and Indiana University Press.
African eJournals Project
The African e-Journals Project makes journals published in Africa and about Africa more available to scholars worldwide.
African Journal Archive
A [South African based] retrospective digitisation project of full-text journal articles published in Africa, in the Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities, providing access to a multi-disciplinary, multi-country digital archive of Africa’s research and cultural heritage contained in its journal literature.
more...less...
The African Journal Archive is a project of Sabinet Gateway, a non-profit organisation promoting and supporting library and information services in Africa. The project is funded by the Carnegie Corporation of New York.
African Journals Online
AJOL is a database of journals published in Africa, covering the full range of academic disciplines. The objective of AJOL is to give greater visibility to the participating journals, and to the research they convey.
African language materials archive
The African Language Materials Archive, or ALMA, is a multi-partner project focusing on the promotion and documentation of literature and literacy in the languages of Africa. It further serves to assist African language authors and publishers in publicizing and distributing their work.
African Newspaper Collection
African Newspapers from the World Newspaper Archive in partnership with Readex and the Center for Research Libraries (most issues from before 1923). More than 40 nineteenth- and twentieth-century African newspapers. Featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.
more...less...
A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. This uniquely comprehensive online resource was created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries - one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories.
Africa bibliography research and documentation
Published by SCOLMA, the UK Libraries and Archives Group on Africa: "SCOLMA’s journal on libraries, archives and information science relating to Africa and African studies. We publish articles, book reviews, bibliographies and reports from conferences."
African Studies Abstracts
*Discontinued* Quarterly index of journal articles and edited works on Africa in the social sciences and humanities was available in the African Studies Centre library (Leiden). Incorporated the US Library of Congress Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature (1991-2011).
more...less...
Before discontinuance, the ASA Online succeeded the print abstracts of the African Studies Centre Leiden, published since 1968, first as Documentatieblad, then as African Studies Abstracts (1994-2002). In addition, it incorporates the Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature materials available at the US Library of Congress and at subscribing libraries (via Interlibrary Loan through institutional consortia).
African Studies Quarterly
African Studies Quarterly is the first (est. 1997) diamond standard open access journal in the field of African Studies. ASQ publishes original manuscripts on a full range of topics related to Africa in all areas. Submissions must meet the scholarship standards within the appropriate discipline as well as be of interest and accessible to an interdisciplinary readership.
Afrique Contemporaine
Issues 2003-current available online.
AnthroSource
AnthroSource is the premier online portal serving the needs of educators, students, researchers, and practitioners. An online service of AAA, AnthroSource offers access to more than 100 years of anthropological knowledge.
more...less...
In July 2010, Wiley-Blackwell will launch their new online platform called Wiley-Online Library. AAA's online content will be transitioned to the new platform.

AnthroSource User Guides are now available! Both guides contain step-by-step instructions and visual aides. The first user guide details the basics of using AnthroSource. It gives vital information on logging-in, browsing/searching content and accessing full-text articles. The second user guide details how you can take advantage of advanced AnthroSource features and how they can help save you time. With this guide learn about setting up E-TOC alerts, exporting citations, reference linking and more!
Arabic Sources
Richard Saltzburg's guide to Arabic resources available for UF users.
ASA News online
Newsletter of the African Studies Association.
Azania
Journal of the British Institute in Eastern Africa.
more...less...
A journal of the British Institute in Eastern Africa, Azania: Archaeological Research in Africa has, since its foundation in 1966, built up a strong track record in publishing papers on the archaeology and precolonial history of Eastern Africa. Now expanded in scope, since 2009 it has covered all aspects of African archaeology, regardless of temporal or spatial boundaries, and welcomes contributions in both English and French.

Azania: Archaeological Research in Africa seeks to become the premier outlet for publishing archaeological work on Africa's past. It publishes peer-reviewed papers and briefer research reports, as well as book and conference reviews, on all aspects of archaeological research in Africa, without restriction as to period or area.
Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more. It combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), historical black newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.
more...less...
Black Studies Center brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases.
CAMP collection highlights guide
This page describes selected highlights of the Cooperative Africana Materials Project collection at the Center for Research Libraries. It does not represent the complete holdings of CAMP, but rather a representative description of some of the items in the collection. For access to all of CAMP's holdings, please search the CRL Catalog (see link below to http://catalog.crl.edu/search~S5/).
Center for Research Libraries e-resources search
Over 1,500 African-related monographs are available to CRL member institutions.
more...less...
Items are available as Adobe Acrobat "pdf" files, broken into manageable parts rather than as virtual books. Original items can be requested via Interlibrary Loan.
Critical African Studies
Critical African Studies seeks to return Africanist scholarship to the heart of theoretical innovation within each of its constituent disciplines. We invite directional papers that provoke critical debate, and take a fresh approach to key and emergent social, political and economic issues affecting Africa. In particular, we encourage pieces of critical inquiry that question or subvert long-held or widely-assumed truths, especially concerning disciplinary boundaries.
Doing Business in Africa
A wealth of resources on African economies, industrial sectors, resources, infrastructure, and other information relating to African markets and, broadly, the business environment.
Dissertations
With more than 2.7 million entries, the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database is the most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses in the world. UMI offers over 2 million titles for purchase in microfilm or paper formats. More than 930,000 are available in PDF format for immediate free download, and an average of 2,000 new PDFs are added to the database each week. See "Finding Dissertations" tab for a broader guide to finding obscure and international dissertation.
Economist Intelligence Unit at EIU.com
Includes: ViewsWire (daily updates highlight up to 250 key economic, political and market developments around the world); and Country Reports (monthly updates on nearly 200 countries). Country Profiles (annual updates on these same countries) were discontinued in 2009 but remain available for earlier years.
more...less...
Every day the ViewsWire highlights up to 250 key economic, political and market developments around the world and provides concise analytical briefings on the implications for business.

Country Reports cover nearly 200 countries and help you keep pace with how national, regional and global events will affect your business in the short-to medium term. Each report examines and explains in depth the issues shaping the countries in which you operate: the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, and foreign trade and payments. Detailed two-year forecasts complement the analysis and pinpoint political and economic developments and trends.

The Country Profile product was discontinued in 2009, at which time the data it contained was incorporated into the Country Report product.
eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
more...less...
Search Browse Help

eHRAF is produced by the Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) at Yale University. The mission of HRAF, a non-profit consortium of universities and colleges, is to encourage and facilitate worldwide and other comparative studies of human behavior, society, and culture.
Frontline Diplomacy
The Foreign Affairs Oral History Collection of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training.
more...less...
Transcripts of interviews with U.S. diplomatic personnel capture their experiences, motivations, critiques, personal analyses, and private thoughts. These elements are crucial to understanding the full story of how a structure of stable relationships that maintained world peace and protected U.S. interests and values was built.
General History resources
America: History and Life, and Historical Abstracts are the two history journal index databases likely to be of most use for African Studies.
Humanities E-Book
The American Council of Learned Societies’ Humanities E-Book (former History E-Book Project) provides access to more than 4,000 full-text scholarly books, selected for quality and relevance, including many African Studies titles.
more...less...
"ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of approximately 4,300 books of high quality in the humanities, accessible through institutional and individual subscription. HEB is available to entire campus communities. Using any web browser, faculty, students, staff and library patrons of subscribing institutions can view and search the HEB collection from campus offices, libraries, dorms and remotely when off-campus. An institutional subscription to HEB includes unlimited, simultaneous multi-user access from any Internet-connected location."
ilissAfrica
Cross search of "internet library sub-saharan Africa" (ilissafrica) catalog (European libraries). Focus is on contemporary Africa, literature, and the social sciences.
more...less...
Combined catalog includes records of the African Studies Centre Leiden, GIGA Hamburg, UL Frankfurt, Swets Online Contents, World Affairs Online, and the Nordic Africa Institute library in Uppsala, Sweden. Also included are records of the Library of the Department of Anthropology and African Studies (Institut für Ethnologie und Afrikastudien, IFEAS) at Mainz University and their "Jahn Library for African Literatures" as one of the most comprehensive research facilities for African literatures in Europe.
Images and Visual Research
Ann Lindell's guide includes tabs for Architecture, Art, Historical images, etc. ARTStor includes Christopher Roy images from Burkina Faso. The Smithsonian's own site is also a useful resource for African art history research.

Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Produced by Brill Academic Publishers, Index Islamicus is an international bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. Coverage for African countries is quite good.

JSTOR African Studies browse
An important archive of non-current journals in many fields. Current issues can most often be accessed via links in the Library Catalog. No current journal issues are included.
more...less...
JSTOR's advanced search feature allows full-text searching of many journals, but remember: current issues aren't included! Search the library catalog and/or the e-journal locator for more options.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
CSA Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (1973-Current).
National Archives of the UK
The National Archives is the UK government's official archive, containing over 1,000 years of history. We give detailed guidance to government departments and the public sector on information management and advise others about the care of historical archives.
more...less...
The National Archives' collection of over 11 million historical government and public records is one of the largest in the world. From Domesday Book to modern government papers and digital files, our collection includes paper and parchment, electronic records and websites, photographs, posters, maps, drawings and paintings.

As a general rule, government records that have been selected for permanent preservation are sent to The National Archives when they are 30 years old, but many are transferred to us earlier under the Freedom of Information Act.
Native administration in the British African territories / Lord Hailey. 5 vols. HMSO, 1950-1953.
- This link opens in a new window
Available via HeinOnline institutional subscription. Vol. 6, a 29-page index issued in 1954, is not included in this release, but is available as a limited-view only resource in HathiTrust.
more...less...
The scope of the present Report..."is confined to matters relating directly to the agencies employed for administrative purposes in local rule." (Preface p. iii)
Oxford Bibliographies: African Studies
Reliable, online, annotated bibliographies on a wide array of African Studies topics.
more...less...
Since the literature on African Studies is diverse, fast moving, controversial, and scattered among unfamiliar sources, we have asked leading scholars to identify the most significant themes and areas of study in their fields, recommend the best sources for exploring them, and discuss these works conceptual and empirical significance to provide a series of guided studies through the diverse approaches to a wide array of complex subjects. A great deal of this work has moved online with the most recent scholarship, research, and statistics appearing in online databases. With advances in online searching and database technologies, researchers and practitioners can easily access library catalogs, bibliographic indexes, and other lists that show thousands of resources that might also be useful to them. In this situation what is most needed is expert guidance. Researchers and practitioners at all levels need tools that help them filter through the proliferation of information sources to material that is reliable and directly relevant to their inquiries. Oxford Bibliographies in African Studies offers a trustworthy pathway through the thicket of information overload.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Atlantic History This link opens in a new window
"The series was launched in 2009 and now has over 100 entries available for use with many more in development. Articles are written by a range of scholars from numerous countries and summarise the best in scholarship now available." "Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects."

PAIS Index
PAIS International (1972-Current). Public affairs, public and social policies, international relations.
Periodicals Index Online
A database of millions of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years. It enables researchers to quickly locate articles relevant to their particular field of study, and reduces what could involve years of study to a matter of minutes.
Portuguese Institute of International Relations and Security (IPRIS)
The Portuguese Institute of International Relations and Security (IPRIS) is a non-profit and independent NGO, based in Lisbon. IPRIS is dedicated to research on issues of International Relations, with particular interest regarding Portuguese foreign and defense policies.
more...less...
Publications include the Portuguese Journal of Int’l Affairs; IPRIS Policy Brief; IPRIS Viewpoints; IPRIS Occasional Papers; IPRIS Lusophone Countries Bulletin; IPRIS Maghreb Bulletin. Many African related items are included.

Practical Action Publishing This link opens in a new window
Applied and project based eBooks in international development including food, sanitation, public health, gender issues, and more.
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Reference Universe contains of 35 million data elements to over 45,000 specialized reference works. The elements are matched to your library's electronic or print holdings, offering you a customized view. Searching your library’s specialized subject encyclopedia collection helps refine your search; save time, and get to the book or journal you need more quickly and accurately.

SALDRU
Access the Working Papers and other publications from the Southern Africa Labour & Development Research Unit (SALDRU), School of Economics, University of Cape Town, Rondebosch, South Africa.
more...less...
The Southern Africa Labour and Development Research Unit (SALDRU) carries out research in applied empirical microeconomics with an emphasis on labour markets, human capital, poverty, inequality and social policy. We strive for academic excellence and policy relevance. SALDRU has implemented a range of innovative surveys in South Africa since it was founded in 1975, and is based in the School of Economics in the University of Cape Town. We have three permanent research staff, and twenty two Research Associates who share common research interests, and are drawn from the UCT School of Economics, as well as other South African and international universities.
Subject Specialists & Subject Guides for UF
Find library assistance with specific subjects, contact information, library research guides, etc.
Ufahamu: A Journal of African Studies
An interdisciplinary journal of African Studies. Named after the Swahili word for comprehension, understanding or being, Ufahamu: A Journal of African Studies is committed views about social issues, addressing both the general reader and the scholar.
more...less...
Since its establishment in 1970, Ufahamu: A Journal of African Studies continues to challenge and correct misconceptions about Africa, thereby creating relevant criteria for African Studies. It publishes material supportive of the African revolution and socially significant works of African history, politics, economics, sociology, anthropology, law, planning and development, literature and other topics about the continent and the African Diaspora.
UNECA institutional repository
Welcome to the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa institutional repository!
more...less...
In its 50 years of existence, UNECA has created and holds a vast quantity of information and Knowledge in a variety of formats, including printed and electronic. These represent the corporate memory, providing historical evidence of its actions and decisions. The information resources include published materials such as flagship publications, journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, mission reports, annual reports, working papers, speeches and other grey literature, all which outline important research or decisions that have been made on the economic and social developmental aspects in Africa.

The Institutional Repository of the Economic Commission for Africa offers unique knowledge and information not available elsewhere pertaining to regional programmes, decisions and resolutions promoting social and economic development in Africa.
Web of Science (index 1899-present)
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
more...less...
* Navigate with cited reference searching and Author Finder
* Use the Analyze Tool to identify trends and patterns
* Backfiles available to 1900
* Access enhanced coverage of books and meeting abstracts

Your edition(s):
* Science Citation Index Expanded (1899-present)
* Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present)
* Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)

Struggles for Freedom SOUTHERN AFRICA (via JSTOR/Aluka).

African Studies Collections Curator

Dan Reboussin

he, him, his

Email Me

Contact:

200C Smathers Library

Center for African Studies

The African Studies Collection at the University of Florida Libraries has a collaborative partnership with the UF Center for African Studies, which contributes generous funding for library materials and services through its U.S. Department of Education Title VI grant as a National Resource Center.

Library tools & services

How to find articles
How to find books
How to find databases
How to find e-books
How to find journals
Interlibrary Loan
Fast Document delivery services
If you are non-UF affiliated and/or willing to pay yourself.
Finding Aids to Manuscript and Archival Collections
Library tools
Download a few simple tools to help you with your research, including browser plug-ins and mobile apps.

African Studies: Key resources

Access to resources listed on this Guide