Skip to main content

African Studies: African film studies

A guide to UF Libraries' research and teaching resources in African Studies. Feel free to let us know what would be useful to have included.

Bibliography: African films and filmmaking

The adventure of the real: Jean Rouch and the craft of ethnographic cinema. Henley, Paul. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2009. LIBRARY WEST General Collection PN1998.3.R674 H46 2009

Africa shoots back: alternative perspectives in Sub-Saharan Francophone African film. Thackway, Melissa. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2003. LIBRARY WEST General Collection PN1993.5.A35 T48 2003.

African cinema: politics & culture. Diawara, Manthia. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, c1992. LIBRARY WEST General Collection PN1993.5.A35 D5 1992

African film and literature: adapting violence to the screen. Dovey, Lindiwe. New York: Columbia University Press, c2009. LIBRARY WEST General Collection PN1993.5.A35 D68 2009

African film and video: pleasure, politics, performance. Special issue of Journal of African Cultural Studies 22 (1) 2010. Available online: http://www.informaworld.com/openurl?genre=issue&issn=1369-6815&volume=22&issue=1

African film: new forms of aesthetics and politics. Diawara, Manthia. New York: Prestel, c2010. LIBRARY WEST [Jan. 2011: New Books Area (2nd Floor)] PN1993.5.A35 D53 2010

African film: re-imagining a continent. Gugler, Josef. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2003. LIBRARY WEST General Collection PN1993.5.A35 G77 2003

"African Films in the Classroom." Gugler, Josef. African Studies Review 53(3), December 2010. Available online: http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/african_studies_review/v053/53.3.gugler.html or PDF (140k) http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/african_studies_review/v053/53.3.gugler.pdf

Black African Cinema. Ukadike, Nwachukwu Frank. Berkeley University of California Press, 1994. LIBRARY WEST General Collection PN1993.5.A35U4 1994

The devil you dance with: film culture in the new South Africa. McCluskey, Audrey Thomas (ed). Urbana: University of Illinois Press, c2009. LIBRARY WEST General Collection PN1993.5.S6 D48 2009

Dictionary of African filmmakers. Armes, Roy. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, c2008. LIBRARY WEST: Reference (3rd Floor) PN1998.2 .A758 2008

The empire writes back: theory and practice in post-colonial literatures. Ashcroft, Bill, Gareth Griffiths, and Helen Tiffin. New York: Routledge, c2002. LIBRARY WEST General Collection PR9080.A85 2002

Focus on African films. Pfaff, Françoise (ed.). Bloomington: Indiana University Press, c2004. LIBRARY WEST General Collection PN1993.5.A35 F63 2004

Francophone African cinema: history, culture, politics and theory. Frindéthié, Martial K. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, c2009. LIBRARY WEST [Jan. 2011: New Books Area (2nd Floor)] PN1993.5.A35 F75 2009

Ghanavision: hand-painted film posters from Ghana. [Thibaut De Ruyter, ... et al.]. [Berlin]: Bongout, 2009. LIBRARY WEST General Collection PN1995.9 G43 2009

L'image de l'enfant dans le cinéma post-colonial en Afrique de l'ouest francophone. Yaro, Abdou Salam. Ph.D. dissertation. University of Florida, 2009. Available online: http://purl.fcla.edu/fcla/etd/UFE0024646

Noir urbanisms: dystopic images of the modern city. Prakash, Gyan (ed). Princeton, N.J.: Princeton University Press, c2010. ARCHITECTURE/FINE ARTS LIBRARY General Collection PN1995.9.F54 N68 2010

Postcolonial Discourse on African Cinema: Religion, Gender and African Identity. Ebong, Thomas S. Ph.D. dissertation. Wayne State University, 2002. Available online: http://proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?did=765048421&sid=4&Fmt=2&clientId=20179&RQT=309&VName=PQD

Subaltern migrancy and transnational locality: the undocumented african immigrant in international cinema. Hoffmann, Claudia. Ph.D. dissertation. University of Florida, 2010. Available online: http://purl.fcla.edu/fcla/etd/UFE0041989

Viewing African cinema in the twenty-first century: art films and the Nollywood video revolution. Șaul, Mahir and Ralph A. Austen (eds.). Athens : Ohio University Press, 2010. Library West [ON ORDER Jan. 2011].

Visions of the past: the challenge of film to our idea of history. Rosenstone, Robert A. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 1995. LIBRARY WEST General Collection PN1995.2 .R67 1995

World cinemas, transnational perspectives. Ďurovičová, Nataša and Kathleen Newman (eds). New York : Routledge, 2010. LIBRARY WEST General Collection PN1995.9.T6855 W67 2010

African Studies Librarian

Dan Reboussin's picture
Dan Reboussin
Contact:
200A Smathers Library

(352) 273-2642
Website / Blog Page

Searching for African videos

Use the Library Catalog to search for your topic, then narrow results using format in the left column "facets" to "Video (all formats)." Simplest method is to search "Africa" or "Africa" with a country name, director, or subject term. Our collection of 500-1,000 videos include feature films, documentaries, performances, interviews, television exposés, ethnographic works (see also Ethnographic Video Online), and art pieces.

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.