Food, drink, and the like are the number one source for pests in a library environment as well as one of the top sources for book damage that cannot be remediated. It is important to understand that even the smallest amount of food can lead to a large pest infestation and/or permanent collection damage. It is up to the employee to maintain a strict code of conduct for themselves and educate student employees and patrons about what they can and cannot have in these more sensitive buildings. Make sure that all acceptable food items are properly disposed of.
Employees and student employees should not eat, smoke, and/or vape around books or paper. This includes eating candy and chewing gum. Employees and students are not allowed to eat, smoke, and/or vape in the Smathers Library building, ALF, ILF, ILF2 or any special area collection of the circulation libraries.
Foods should only be kept and consumed in break rooms away from collection items. Bagged, fully sealed items can be stored in offices, but not opened and/or consumed. Employees in the Smathers Library building, ALF, ILF, and ILF2 cannot eat at their desks, but only in break rooms, Room 100 and the conference room in the Smathers Building. No food or drink is allowed in the Grand Reading Room. The only exception for food in the Grand Reading Room is for specific events with administration (dean) approval. Remember that hands should always be washed after handling and eating food and before touching collection items.
Anyone bringing in snacks, like baked goods, for their teams should not leave these foods out in their work areas. Again, these communal snacks should be placed in break rooms for people to snack on as desired. Again, preservation can help sort out issues if a break room is not accessible for a team.
Water bottles can be used around library materials, but they should be kept on the floor or away from the materials as much as possible. Water bottles are not allowed on the desks of the Grand Reading Room. These need to be kept by the entrance and not utilized during their time in the room. All bottles should have a secure cap that avoids spilling and be fully closed most of the time. Bottles and cups with straws on the top can spill and should only be kept away from special collection items at all times. Avoid any containers that cause condensation on the outside of its surface.
Only make drinks in break rooms--keep all drink making machinery (including any sort of coffee maker or tea kettle) in break rooms. Drink making machines cause spikes in humidity that can affect nearby items. It is important that we keep this machinery in break rooms that are far from collection items.
Dispose of food-related waste promptly and properly.
Garbage containers in areas where students are studying should be changed out regularly. Encourage students to throw away their food waste before entering the buildings/areas.
Employees should discard food packaging and/or waste in break room garbage cans only. Avoid throwing food-related packaging and waste anywhere else in employee areas, including in or near restrooms. This includes any drink containers.
Conference rooms should have their waste bins cleaned out immediately after a library event involving food. Vacuuming should also occur after a food-related event in any of these areas as well as Room 100 in the Smathers Building.
Sinks and counters in break rooms should not be filled with food waste or left messy. Please clean up after yourself and regularly dispose of food waste from the sink into garbage containers after use.
Items stored or left in refrigerators can attract pests as they do not fully seal off certain smells. Refrigerators should be emptied of most food items every weekend. Condiments and other highly preserved and bottled containers can stay longer, but refrigerators should be regularly cleaned out of these as well every couple of months.
|
