Guides @ UF: Drug Information Resources: General Library Information

Quick Links

Health Science Center Library - Homepage
Go here to see all of the Library's services and resources available to you

UF Health Science Center Library Databases This link opens in a new window

Library Catalog
Finding Full Text Journal Articles
14 minutes long
Ask a Reference Question
Online form for reference questions to be answered by a librarian at the HSC Library. If Pharmacy Librarian is not available another librarian at the HSCL will answer it.
eServices & eRequests
Links to forms to request interlibrary loans, activate your Gator1 Card, ask a Reference Question, make a comment or suggestion
Distance Learning Portal
Links to Pharmacy resources page and other help for HSC distance learners
HSC Library Catalog

Off-Campus Access Info

For off-campus access to library-licensed e-Journals, databases and e-resources, you must log-in using either :

UF VPN - or - Off-Campus Login Page

Remote Access Tutorial (requires Flash)

UF Login

GatorLink Account

If you don't have a Gatorlink account, use your library card number.

14-digit Library Number
(Located under the barcode on your Gator-1 card.)

Citation Bibliography Management

Resources to help you manage your citations.

Refworks
Accessable via our Database page. Must create a login and password. UF faculty, staff and students only. Must be on VPN or proxy to access from off campus. Guide and tutorial links on help/tutorials page
Endnote - web version via Web of Knowledge (Science)
UF Students, Faculty and Staff only. If accessing from off campus- must be logged into either VPN or proxy. You must create a login and password to use this feature. Endnote is also a software package that has to purchased by an individual.
My NCBI
Create collections of saved citations from PubMed. Can share collection. Also can set permanent filters and create alerts by saving strategies.
Connotea
free online site allowing you to manage your citations
Zotero
FireFox extention for managing your citations

Announcements

E- Books - Check in the online catalog. If there isn't an icon with a big red e in the record or a hyperlink to full text then we don't have it electronically.

If you can access a database through the Library that is not a free website then it will be listed on the HSC Library's database page.

Reprorisk, Drugdex, Poisdex, DiseaseDex are part of Micromedex. If they are not listed in our version of Micromedex then we don't have them.

LexiComp access is not available via the Library. Access it via My.COP.ufl.edu. Lexicomp is Handbook of drug information + more.

Drug Facts & Comparisons is not available through the Library. It is available via the College. If you don't remember how to access it contact your instructor. If you are in Foundations check the E Learning page for Module B-2

AccessPharmacy: You must create a login & password to use the quizzes. Click on MyAccessPharmacy then click on Create Profile to get to the screen where you can create your login & password.

Alternatives to UpToDate:
Alternatives are: StatRef Database: ACP Pier with AHFS DI Essentials; AccessMedicine: Quick Answers tab; MDConsult Database: Ferri's Clinical Advisor; DiseaseDex (MicroMedex) and 5 Minute Consults in Facts & Comparisons.

Getting full text

When you see in your search results, click for access to digital full-text material.

In PubMed, if you have accessed it through the Library’s website, and you are in either the Abstract, AbstractPlus or Citation view and you see then you should be able to get to the full text article electronically by clicking on this button. If these links don't work or if you can't get to the full text at the source then double check through the E-Journals list.

If there isn't a link in PubMed or a Find it @ UF button double check the journal title in the E-Journals List.

For more complete instructions go see E - Journals tutorial or look at the Connecting With Full Text E-Journals PDF on the Help page of this LibGuide.

Citation Formats

The following resources contain the citation formats you need to use when citing references for assignments. These is the formats used when creating reference lists for articles in pharmacy journals.

International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts
Short list of citations for commonly used types of materials such as journal articles, books, book chapters and electronic books and journals.
QUICK REFERENCE CITATION FORMAT : AMA Style Manual 2007
Most frequently used formats for citing print and electronic resources including journal articles, books, parts of books, databases or Internet sites. Taken from the AMA Style Manual.
Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers.
NLM's style manual for writing references or citations for print and electronic resources. This is the style based on the AMA Style and is used by pharmacy journals and the College
Citing Clinical Pharmacology
Citation format suggested by Clinical Pharmacology for their resources. Has formats for both CD and Internet versions.
Micromedex citation format
Make sure you use AMA format for Internet version.
AMA Manual of Style
Includes reference styles. Must be logged into either the EzProxy or VPN to access it from off campus.

Subject Guide

Lauren Adkins

Email Me

Contact:

Health Science Center Libraries
PO Box 100206
Gainesville, FL
32610

352-273-8444

Subjects: Medicine, Pharmacy

If I am not on Meebo

If I am not on Meebo then send me an email at rjesano@ufl.edu .

VPN for iPhones-iTouch

Link to the UF Libraries' Homepage for Mobile Devices:

http://www.uflib.ufl.edu/mobile2/

This is only for iPhones/iTouch devices at this point in time.

This includes a link to the University's Computer Network Services' instructions for downloading the VPN on an iPhone. xxx is not the secret code. To get the real code go to https://net-services.ufl.edu/cgi-bin/vpn/vpn-ext-passwd.cgi. You will have to log in with your Gatorlink login and password.

If you need help contact 352-392-help or helpdesk@ufl.edu. All I can do is read through their instructions, just like you.